We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATED NEAR TO NICE TRAIN STATION BUT STILL QUIET” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Durante to your Saves list
Hotel Durante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 av. Durante, 06000 Nice, France (Thiers / Train Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“LOCATED NEAR TO NICE TRAIN STATION BUT STILL QUIET”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel was in very handy for the train but still tucked away so not noisy. Free wifi that mostly worked in the bedroom. Breakfast good.
Was looking forward to using the HOT TUB in the lovely garden but it was filled with plants. Also, they have a cat that you can see and I am allergic to cat fur.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    66
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
13
69
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very convenient for the station yet in a quiet location away from the main road. It looks very attractive from the putside and the gardens are lovely. Our room was acceptable but rather outdated. There was a wardrobe but no drawers and no suitable coat hangers for hanging trousers. The wifi in the bedroom wasn't very good and we often had to go in the corridor to access it. We were disappointed that the hot tub advertised on Booking.com is no longer available.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is located very close to the train station, which was very convenient for us as we intended to rent a car at the station for our day trip to the gorge du Verdon and for our day trip by train to Monaco and Villefranche-sur-Mer for the beach. It is also not a bad walk to get to the Promenade des Anglais and the rest of the city.

The rooms are large enough, however, a little basic. Its furniture was functional but there wasn’t a shower partition in our room, which allowed the water to hit the floor. Additionally, there were some ants in our room upon arrival, but the staff was quick to remedy it by applying an ant killer to the places where they were coming into the room.

Overall, if you are looking for an affordable no frills place to stay then this is a good option, especially if you want mobility to get out of the city to other places in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the garden tend to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after travelling from Venice throught the Italian Riviera and back down into the French Riviera. Its very close to the main Train Station in nice and its only a short walk to the centre.
Our initial perception was positive as it looks nice from the outside and the reception is nice too.
The main problem is that the room we had was out onto a communal garden and people were noisy at night out there. We are the type of travellers that like an early rise and get out to see the sights so being in bed by 12 is a must.
The room itself was ok but a bit dated and small. The plug in the bath did't work so I just had showers, which was a pity cause it was a big tub and a soak in it after being out walking all day would have been relaxing.
Another problem occured with paying for the room. We booked with our bank card for every hotel we stayed in, and payed with our credit card that we had put the 'hotel money' on.
The hotel placed a 'money pending' notice on the bank card about a week before we got to the hotel. This limited the amount of spending money we had access to while travelling through Italy. I emailed the hotel to inform them that we would be paying with a different card when we arrived and that they have now caused us a problem with our spending money. They didn't care one tiny bit! We stayed in 12 hotels throughout our traveling and this hotel was the only one to do something like this. This had a knockon effect on direct debits that were going out of our bank account and also cost us more money as we had to then rely on a third credit card that was our emergency fund. I emailed the hotel a few times to plead with them to remove the 'money pending notice' but they just refused.
When we got to the hotel we paid with the credit card we assigned for accomodation and they removed the 'pending' notice, but it still took our bank another week to release our money.
Having access to our travel money wasn't something we needed to worry about so if you do decide to sat here, get a room on one of the upper floors, and watch for the money pending if your on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Saty away from the 'Garden Room's - Very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Personal looking and really comfortable hotel close to railway station. Good and friendly service, hotel even had a white cat as a part of the staff.
Nice garden area, where breakfast can be eaten whn weather is for it. Single room was spaceous, nothing extra, but everything worked well. Good price/value -relation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is near the center of the city, it's like 10 minutes walk from the quay. It has its own parking, so there is no problem to leave a car there, even after checkout, which was very convenient. All was great except the mosquitos, but I assume this as my own fault for leaving the window opened. THe staff speaks english and french.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We traveled to Nice by plane and were going on by train to Scilly so wanted to be near the station. Areas around all stations in big cities are somewhat run down and seedy and this was the case for the hotel. However the hotel itself was in a quiet cul-de-sac and away from any trouble. It was clean, largish room, friendly staff and close to town centre and promenade. It had a nice garden, parking (not used) and good breakfast. We stayed four days and lived it. Good value.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Durante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durante

Address: 16 av. Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Durante 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very Quiet hotel in the city center, close to all ameneties and also easy and stressless access to Monaco by train in 20mn. Free Wifi and Free parking places.According to our guests, you will particularly enjoy the garden planted with orange, lemon and olive trees.All of the rooms are unique, colored in different atmospheres. Looking forward to welcoming you in the next future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Durante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durante Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.