We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Rivoli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Rivoli to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Rivoli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely stay in Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a charming hotel with lovely welcoming staff.The location is great and we loved to have a garden to sit in even in the city.We had an upgrade to rooms on ground floor (we had booked basement rooms) and they were beautifully decorated. The rooms are small and our en suite was very tight but the atmosphere and welcome more than compensate for this.
You can decide each day whether you want breakfast. It was quite basic for 12 euros so we preferred a little cafe round the corner where you could get large coffee and croissant for 4 euros.
I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The twin room on 2nd floor was not as well decorated/ updated and simpler but had a much bigger bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Madam,
Many thanks for your compliments. Its important to have a good relation of price and quality! We are happy to learn that you liked as well the decoration of the Villa Rivoli and that you appreciated the cleanness and the service of our team. Indeed we are very motivated to give information and advises to our clients which can’t be found through guidebooks or internet and although: let client having a great experience in Nice and the Villa Rivoli. Thank you! Concerning the coffe: we serve filter coffee on the buffet breakfast. But we serve as well, on request: expresso or cappuccino ( by a expresso coffee machine). Sorry, that you obviously didn’t get the information from us. Our buffet breakfast consist of : fresh boiled eggs, selection of of charcuterie, cheese, fruit salad, selection of fruit, Orange juice, grapefruit juice, selection of cerials, pain au chocolat, croissants, baguette, selection of bread….
I will try to post some photos on tripadvisor of the buffet.
We always try to improve our offer and we are very sensible on your advise. Thank you. Looking very much forward welcoming you again at the Villa Rivoli, and please don’t hesitate to contact me personally. Best regards of Nice, Barbara Kimmig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    202
    60
    20
    15
See reviews for
51
275
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The location of this hotel is in a perfect, in the heart of Nice, 2 minutes from the beach. The hotel is very pretty, the rooms are clean and the service is perfect. No issues at all over my stay so would really recommend this hotel. The rooms are tiny but for the price and location I think its definitely worth it. Just ask for a room with a garden view if possible.
The only thing I would suggest is not having the breakfast as for 12 euros its not worth it...cheap products (and you can find a cafe outside which will give you much better value for money). I would recommend Villa Rivoli invest in some fresh orange juice and a coffee machine to make the experience perfect.

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, lovely looking small hotel, staff/management very friendly and helpful, and short walk to the front. Didn't have breakfast, as it was not included. This was my fiance's choice, as she had seen the pictures of the 'feature' rooms and was convinced that was what we had booked(£385 for 3 nights, i thought so too). So, it was quite saddening when we went to our room, as i had guessed it wasn't going to be what we had hoped for, as some rooms had nice shiny door numbers, ours was dull red/paint splattered. Very clean, bed properly comfortable, but you could touch the wall either side of the bed, whilst led on it and there was not much more space at the bottom. Shower room also tiny, but great monsoon shower-head. We loved our stay in Nice, but i like bigger rooms, so, beware this room is the second smallest i've ever stayed in, first being in Hong Kong. For the same price, or cheaper, we could have stayed at some of the hotels on the front.

Room Tip: Make sure you get to stay in a 'feature' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Davem
We would like to thank you for your review and we read it very carefully. Many thanks for your compliments concerning the quality of service of our team. We are very motivated to try to make the stay of our guests the most comfortable and to give the best addresses of what they are looking for. Indeed the seafront with the beaches as well as the pedestrian zone is very closed to the Villa Rivoli.

Concerning the door of your room, we are very sorry that it wasn’t painted yet. I am happy to inform you, that in meantime all the new doors are painted now. The average size of tradition rooms ( category which you booked) is in between 13 and 14.5 m2.

Thank you for your compliments concerning the quality of the bed ( it’s new) and your remarque that the room was very clean. Please, contact us next time directly in order to choose together with you the adequate category of room. For our guests who are booking directly we always try to give as well preferred conditions. Best regards of Nice and wishing you a nice summer in England. Barbara Kimmig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonbridge
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

A few steps away from the Negresco and the Promenade des Anglais make this a very affordable option. The breakfast in the garden is lovely and a gorgeous lounge to sit in the evening if you so choose.
The rooms are small ..we had the superior room ( 15) and were a tad disappointed at the lack of space especially in the shower room . We did however like the fact that the toilet is separate . It is pretty but there are just a few negatives . You have to be at least 5'6" to see into the mirror or use the exceptionally high sink ( very strange!) .Whilst tea and coffee provision in the room is good noone likes cream in their tea..please provide proper milk. Also remember to bring shampoo and conditioner as these are not provided .
Overall I would stay here again though so the positives ( friendly staff, great breakfast ,beautiful building ) definitely outweigh the negatives and I'm just pointing them out so you are aware of them when booking.
Overall

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapid
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Loved our stay here. The most helpful and friendly reception staff. Our room was a bit small but beautifully done and spotless. Location is fine, little bit far from the Old City but we enjoyed the walk there along the promenade. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Villa Ravioli was a great place to stay in Nice. There was a pleasant historical ambiance. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful (they also all spoke English). As is the tendency with historical locations,the room was quite small, so it's not a place to stay if you're looking to lounge in your room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Quaint hotel fairly close to everything if you don't mind a little walk.
Rooms are very small but that was fine as we did not plan on spending a lot of time in there. As three travellers, we had a nice interconnecting room arrangement which worked well for our teenage son.
We only met the owner as we were checking out but she seemed very friendly and obliging.
The room was very clean ( and I am really fussy).
One tip - ask for a room on the top floor as we were woken every morning by whoever was above us clomping around from 7am and, as we are not early risers, that was very annoying. Some guests are just not considerate to others. There was also a lot of door banging going on from very early on which disturbed us all.
We did not try breakfast as you can get cheaper elsewhere and we only eat light in the mornings.
There appeared to be a lady of the night on the corner of Rue de Rivoli and Rue de la Buffa which I found a bit off putting on first arrival but she did not bother us.
Nice is a great place to visit and I will visit the city again - although I may stay somewhere else now I know more about the city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rivoli

Address: 10, rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Nice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rivoli 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Rivoli, located in a former unique Belle Epoque (1890) private house, is in the heart of the historical town center of Nice. It is 100 meters away from the beaches and the famous Promenade des Anglais with the Museum Massena. Only 3 min. walk away from the pedestrian shopping area and its numerous trendy bars and restaurants. The square Massena, leading to the old town of Nice with its flower market, quaint lanes and the opera is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Rivoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.