We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Rivoli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Rivoli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rivoli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Montreux, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it. The hotel is only a few steps away from the beach, and the receptionist was super helpful! The salon in the hotel is a very comfortable place to have breakfast, and it even has a piano! And I gotta mention that the wifi in the hotel is very fast. We truly had a good time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    192
    58
    20
    14
See reviews for
48
263
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Highly recommended by the lonely planet guide . I had a double traditional room on first floor - it was terrible - tiny , enough room to walk around the bed , minimal cupboard space - no door on the wardrobe in which a few clothes only could be hung side on , tiny shower and toilet space , paper thin walls , i could clearly hear loud occupants in other rooms . Lay in bed starting at the clothes in the ward robe . French windows and balcony was charming. Breakfast room was also charming

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
we carefully read your comment. The average size of a tradition room is around13 m2 and the superior room is between 16 and 18 m2. We always try to find a solution during the stay of the client and it's important to talk during the stay frankly to us, as we wish happy clients. Thank you for your compliments for the charming Salon and french Windows with the balcony. We noticed as well that you where happy with the quality of our Service, many thanks. Looking forward welcoming you again, and please do not hesitate to make a direct booking in contacting me personally, in order to choose together with you the room. Best regards Barbara Kimmig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked in January to stay here for two nights over the Grand Prix weekend in May, however we were called the day before our stay to say there had been a 'computer glitch' and we had only been booked in for one night, they had managed to find somewhere else for us to stay for the one night- in a guest house sharing a bathroom with several other rooms overlooking the motorway and railway tracks and with no parking-although it was not described as such over the phone but as an upgrade as it was on the fourth floor! We were not offered anything to compensate for the inconvenience of having to trawl around for parking, and having to pack up and relocate to this hotel early on the morning of the Grand Prix when we should have been relaxing and hassle free. This unfortunately overshadowed our stay here at Villa Rivoli- probably would have taken a complimentary bottle of wine only to take the sting out of the disappointment of ruining our weekend- its small things that count-but with big bucks flying around for rooms during Grand Prix I feel we were dumped in favour of somebody else and expected to just put up with it, what a real shame.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
First of all we were very sorry about the inconvenience. This is the reason why we offered you for the second night in our hotel an upgrade to a Tradition room (difference of 106 € offered by the Villa Rivoli). Your booking was economic lower ground floor: for the rate of 104 € and the price for the tradition room during the Grand Prix was: 210 €. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for any further information you may required. Best regards Barbara Kimmig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Barbara & her team were friendly,welcoming & helpful. We really felt at home. The salon is a lovely place for breakfast & relaxing in an evening. The garden is a great bonus, too. We all slept well in the comfy beds & we enjoyed having balconies to look out from.
The hotel is well placed for heading down to the wonderful prom,glorious beaches,train station & the old town. An ideal location,in our view, for a stay in Nice.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose this for its location (near Negresco Hotel) booked a semi basement room to make it affordable. We took bus 98 and got off near the negresco hotel (which can be easily spotted).walked two blocks off the promenade de anglais and easily found our hotel. Our room was small with two beds and not much room to spread out. Therefore we tried to keep our room tidy so it would be comfortable. The bad thing about the room is the shower. If your a plus size female or large man you may not fit it the shower. The wifi was free but poor in the room. The rooms were cleaned daily and minimal toiletries provided. The hotel has beach mats and umbrellas for your use. The girl at night was super wonderful. Always gave us great advice on places to eat. There are plently of restaurants on France street and if ur on a budget subway is close. A grocery store on rivoli. Bakeries and coffee shops close by. I would definitely stay here again but will try to be in shape for the shower ha ha ha!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is typically French. We booked into a superior room at 182 euros, although the rate on the door for our room was 177 euros, the hotel kindly honoured this. The room was pleasant but small. The superior rooms are quoted on the hotel's website as being. 'Spacious.'..this is not the case with room 7. We were however originally placed in room 9 which is even smaller. We did wonder whether we had been given a double room rather than a superior room but were assured by reception that both rooms were in fact superior. Although we enjoyed our stay and the staff were friendly, we would not be prepared to pay this rate again for such a small room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

In many ways, the perfect Nice hotel. Sweet, romantic, friendly, convenient. In a monthlong wander around Europe by train and bus, this was my favorite stop. OK, it's not on the water, but it's close enough -- like right down the street. As for the rest: 1890s France. You're treated as if you're the welcome guest of a rich Parisian aunt in her seasonal villa by the sea, given her favorite room, served a lovely breakfast, sped off to see the sights and greeted warmly upon your return by receptionists eager to hear what you've been up to. The train is a walkable distance if you're a decent walker and your luggage is light or wheeled. Everything, in fact, is walkable. Restaurants abound. But if it's the seaside that brought you here, you won't be at all disappointed. One caution: No lift -- but you'll get help. Just enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rivoli

Address: 10, rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Nice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#27 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rivoli 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Rivoli, located in a former unique Belle Epoque (1890) private house, is in the heart of the historical town center of Nice. It is 100 meters away from the beaches and the famous Promenade des Anglais with the Museum Massena. Only 3 min. walk away from the pedestrian shopping area and its numerous trendy bars and restaurants. The square Massena, leading to the old town of Nice with its flower market, quaint lanes and the opera is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Rivoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.