We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, mid-range accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Rivoli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Rivoli to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Rivoli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good, mid-range accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Rooms were quite nice in an old fashioned kind of way. Hotel service was excellent. Location was good - easy walk to the centre of town and to / from train station. We found the Hotel Villa Rivoli to be very good mid-range accommodation. The breakfast each morning was lovely and the free wireless internet was very handy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    202
    59
    20
    15
See reviews for
51
274
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This sweet little hotel with its old French decor made us feel like we were part of Nice. The staff was lovely and friendly but we had lots of privacy. The rooms are modest and clean, windows that swing open to a small balcony, complete with decorative cotton curtains. The whole thing is sweeter than anything you could find in a more expensive hotel. The beds are so comfortable!! We highly recommend the place as a wonderful quaint tuck-away perfectly situated in the heart of Nice and literally one minute from the beach.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony for the true South-of-France feel. Beautiful! Orange trees and birds on ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

i picked this hotel based on reviews from past guests.. however all i can manage to say is that the hotel was just ok..
I stayed in a renovated triple room on the top floor,, whilst this was nicely decorated with flowery wall paper and a chandaliar i felt the ugly,old brown carpet tiles let the room down tremendously . There was no room for anything only a small table which acted as a dressing table, and was incredibly useless for three ladies and our belongings.. the bathroom was ok ..tiny and the shower was soo small that it was impossible to turn around in unless you were a stick insect! The hotels public areas were just ok.. the lounge was pleasant enough but the garden was decked out with false grass ..yuk! certainly not cute or inviting as other people had mentioned.. Service was ok as well.. this is one area which i think the hotel really needs to smarten up on. I have worked in the travel industry for many years and service is everything ... however.. whilst we had lovely service from a young german girl and a young french man . the service i experienced from a very rude, abrupt lady at reception one early morning has soured my whole experience at this hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Guest,
We carefully read all the information and we thank you for taking the time being so precise. This makes our answer much easier. We are happy that you liked the wall fabric and the chandelier of your room. Indeed every room is decorated individually and we feel sorry, that you didn’t like the brown carpet, which was installed about 8 month before ( so it can’t be old). The size of the table is 60/80 cm, the shower has a French standard size. As we always try to have happy clients, we appreciate if guests informing us DURING their stay about things they might have changed. This gives us a chance to react and to propose alternative solutions to our guest. Thank you for your compliments for the decoration of our salon. When we renovated it, we tried to keep the French ambiance and our guests like very much the fireplace of 1890 . We are always looking at antique markets in order to find some special decoration items. Concerning our small garden, flowers generally blooms in between spring and autumn. December at the Cote d’Azur is to consider as winter time, so we ranged all the chairs etc. because normally our guests are not using the garden during this period of the year. Thank you for the compliments regarding the quality of service from the young German girl and the young French man. Concerning the “abrupt lady” difficult to answer, as most of us are female…so we don’t know who it was, but anyhow we take your information as a challenge to increase service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

we stayed at the villa rivoli for a few days in late november, 2011 and had a wonderful time...a 10-15 min walk from the train station and then 10-20 minute back towards center ville depending on how far east you go...good location, one block from bus routes in either direction...most importantly, the staff, and especially katja was friendly, assisted us in attempting to contact local tour operators since we did not have a cell with us...all in all, a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Guest,
many thanks for the compliments in the name of all of us and looking forward welcoming you again. Best regards of the sunny Nice ( for the moment 20° and yesterday I v' seen even people swimming in the sea... )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Hotel Villa Rivoli was a lovely introduction to the authentic French experience. The room was charming, with balconies overlooking the street. The bathroom was clean and well appointed, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff at the front desk were great - extremely helpful and informative, and all spoke fluent English. The location of the hotel was very good - close to the Promenade des Anglais, shopping and the old town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

We arrived in Nice by train and walked - not too far or too strenuous. Upon check-in we felt very welcome. We were offered a warm tea and also offered help to carry our bags up the stairs. Anytime we had any questions the staff were very helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a little balcony too, which was nice. The bathroom was a good size also.

The location is great. It is only 2 blocks away from the beach and within walking distance of the shopping area. There are also lots of amenities nearby - laundry, supermarket, bakery, etc.

We had a great time in Nice, even though it rained most of the time, so we would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Cher client,
Un grand merci pour votre message au nom de l'équipe. Nous sommes ravies que vous avez passé un agréable séjour à la Villa Rivoli( d’autant plus important, si mon mémoire est correct, qu'il s'agissait de votre premier séjour à Nice). ... Donc au plaisir de vous revoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We've been to France more than 100 times, always business mixed with pleasure. Sometimes for a month, sometimes for a day or two. Beryl and I haven't been to Nice for several years, so it was a nice suprise to find this hotel at a bargain price. Right...in November rooms don't cost very much on the Cote d'Azur. We were in a corner room, number 10, I believe it was. Took us a couple of minutes to figure out how to work the heat, but once we did the room became very toasty very quickly. A little road noise in the morning, but of no particular concern to us. There is NO place to park in Nice, but the hotel has a small parking lot next to the kitchen. Cost seemed a little high at 18 Euros a day, but we recommend you grit your teeth and pay it. There's nowhere else to park, anywhere in the neighborhood, for less. The hotel's got some personality, the room was clean and well appointed. Will we stay there again? Yes...we're planning on a return trip next summer. Beryl's already packed half her swimming suit. Gary and Beryl Ray, Wichita, Kansas, USA

Room Tip: Room number ten was our choice. We'll ask for it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rivoli

Address: 10, rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Nice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rivoli 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Rivoli, located in a former unique Belle Epoque (1890) private house, is in the heart of the historical town center of Nice. It is 100 meters away from the beaches and the famous Promenade des Anglais with the Museum Massena. Only 3 min. walk away from the pedestrian shopping area and its numerous trendy bars and restaurants. The square Massena, leading to the old town of Nice with its flower market, quaint lanes and the opera is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Rivoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.