We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Five star 3 star hotel ( location, location, location)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, rue de Belgique, 06 000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #83 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A Five star 3 star hotel ( location, location, location)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My booking was made before I saw previous TA reviews so it was with some trepidation that we arrived for 4 days. Things didn't bode well when the air-conditioning in our first room was working & we were moved & our second room had a window problem but I have to say that staff were wonderful and could not do enough for us our entire stay. The room was clean & spacious ( we were lucky enough to have a small balcony on the 4th floor which was great for a night cap). Have to say one of the most comfortable beds I've had in a hotel. Breakfast was a good continental fare, yes perhaps you could have got cheaper in a cafe but for convenience sakes it was most satisfactory. With taxis' renowned to be expensive in Nice this hotel was a superb location. 150m from the Gare du Ville railway station & less than 50m from the metro made everywhere cheap & accessible. I made this booking through necessity rather than choice but I am very glad i did. I usually am 4 or 5 star accommodation but
rarely do I encounter such helpful front desk staff & this is worth it's weight in gold ! Thank you Lina, Siamack & Fabian - great job,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - there is only 4. Upgrading to superior worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Bellefast,

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed staying with us and that you have appreciated the efforts we have made for your stay to be as nice as possible. Our staff is always happy to help and to do the best they can for the clients. We are more than happy to read that you compare us to a five star hotel. Thank you very much.

Kind regards,

The reception
Best Western Hotel de Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    128
    74
    25
    22
See reviews for
29
132
51
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Was in town for the Monaco Grand Prix and had an excellent time staying at this hotel. The rooms were a bit small, but all in all the beds were comfortable and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful to point out how best to get around Nice. It's only a few blocks away from the train station where you can take it to go to any of the other towns along the Riviera. At night, the streets come alive with locals and there's always a place to go to no matter what time of day or night. There is a laundromat across the st that's 24 hours, but the machines do not work well and are very pricey for American toursits. It took about 2 hours just to dry off a couple pairs of socks. I'd also recommend leaving the windows closed at night as some of the local mosquitoes might find there way in and they are relentless when it comes to feeding. All in all, I'd recommend this hotel as its nearby all transit and a block away from one of the main roads, Avenue Jean-Medicin, which you can take a tram car down to the promenade or a 15 min walk.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room that's along the corner of the building, have great views of the streets and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear JDy80,

It is a pleasure to read you and we thank you for this very nice comment. Your opinion is really important to us and for improving the service we provide. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Nice as well as in the hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Thélise Rocquin
Best Western Hotel de Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambery, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I did not sleep in that hotel, but I certainly will some next time. Actually, I went there initially only to check in to another hotel where I had made a reservation: they were servicing it after hours, and I needed to pay for my stay and get my room key. "Do they provide bedding and towels? -- Bedding yes, but no towel. But I can lend you one if you return it to us tomorrow morning". Wow, what a service! I was not even giving them a buck! "Please can you also give me a small individual piece of toilet soap? -- No, I cannot, because we do not have any: in order to minimize our impact on the environment, all our rooms have dispensers for soap and shampoo; we are a eco-responsible hotel" said he, showing me on the reception counter a sign exhibiting that orientation. I asked: "Is that a new policy of the Best Western chain? -- No, we are one of the first forty to make that decision" said he proudly. But in the meanwhile he poured some liquid soap from the dispenser into a coffee cup, which he handed to me, saying "Please return the cup to my colleague tomorrow morning, together with the towel!" Wow! What a service again! Incidentally, a single room costed 100 euros, but the hotel was full (understandably so!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear RuddyL,

Thank you very much for rating us and commenting on our hotel even though you did not sleep in there. Nowadays it is very important to care about Nature and in the Best Western Hotel Madrid we try to do it every day.

Looking forward to having you soon among us,

La réception
Best Western Hotel de Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

price is bit high but 3* hotel is correct
night personnel are very friendly and helpful,did try in last winter for 2night also,,its better now!
good WiFi,we did not have breakfast ,its more fun to have it by sea side cafe in summer.its difficult to find place in street for car ,but if you have not car, city tramway &buses are closed by3minut walk for 1½ € per trip or 4€ day enjoyably

Room Tip: backside rooms is better ,do not take street view !noise under night ,cars& ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear dija n,
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay among us. Your opinion is as important as your stay in the hotel. We would be happy to have you one more time as a guest.

Thank you,

Thélise
Réception desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester.uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

this is the third time we have stayed at this hotel,so it`s not as bad as some of the reviews make out.The reception staff are very friendly and courteous.The room we had was quite large and clean and the bathroom was lovely.the hotel is very close to the railway station,so is handy for getting to other places along the coast,cannes,monte carlo,menton and monaco etc.Breakfast at the hotel is adequate,but we did notice that food was not being replenished.All in all,adecent hotel in a good position.............the express bus from the airport to the train station,the price has increased from 4 to 6 euros.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear failworthjoe,

We would like to thank you for having posted a comment on our hotel. You may be pleased to know that some changes have been made with the breakfast as we have obtained the european ecolabel.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

The reception,
Best Western Hôtel de Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

the staff is not very friendly and not helpfull. better don't take breakfast in the hotel, it is not worse the money. as i stayed there, it was very noisy on the street the hole night. and one more reason not to stay there: the hotel is not safe in case of fire. there are no doors to protect the only way out from smoke.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear harder04,

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we did not noticed that there had been a problem between our staff and clients these last few months so that we could have solved it at the time you were staying. They are usually very helpful and friendly as this is part of their job and a pleasure for them to serve our clients.

It is a shame that you did not like the breakfast buffet as we try to make it as diverse as possible as well as providing organic products as we are European Ecolabelled. Moreover fire security is a huge responsibility for hotels and we would not take the risk to receive guests if we were not legally allowed and sure that security rules are respected. Besides we are currently working with companies to comply with the 24/07/06 decree.

It is true that the streets around the hotel can be noisy sometimes as we are located in the very centre of Nice and next to the main street and the train station, which is why every window is double-glazed.


Please do not hesitate to contact us at 00334.93.88.85.18 or at hotelmadrid@orange.fr if you have any further question or request.

Yours faithfully,

The reception crew
Best Western Hotel de Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here just for one night. The room was small, but renovated and clean. Bathroom is in the tiny side, but new. If you have a lot of luggage it would be a problem. Breakfast was good.
Location is good if you come from the airport. It is just by the city center and very close to the tram. There are lots of restaurants around. The street that goes to the train station is a little spooky, but where the hotel is located is fine.
My only complaint is about the internet connection. First, they just have one wifi connection by room, so if you are two and you have two computers you can´t connect at the same time. And, second, they have a kind of connection that doesn´t allow you to send emails from your outlook, so I ended working in the McDonald´s next door which is just silly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Dania15,

First we would like to thank you for your comment. We are pleased to read that you liked the decoration of the hotel, however we are sorry to learn that you found your room tiny as well as the bathroom. You may have known that our staff is working for making your stay as enjoyable as possible and they could have been able to move you into another room according to the vacancies. Moreover as we have had problems in the past with wifi, we had to restrain the access but we are able to provide as many codes as needed. Please if you ever have any further request, do not hesitate to contact us at hotelmadrid@orange.fr or at 00334.93.88.85.18

The reception crew
Best Western Hotel de Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid

Address: 3, rue de Belgique, 06 000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Madrid
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.