We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, fantastic service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Suisse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Suisse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 quai Rauba Capeu | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France (Old Town / Vieux Nice)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 212 hotels in Nice
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, fantastic service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hotel Suisse is an older hotel which has been recently renovated. The staff at the hotel are great and always friendly and welcoming. The rooms are quite large and well appointed with comfortable bedding. The view from the room is amazing - looking out over the beach and down the Promenade.

The breakfast served is good value and while there is not as large a selection as offered at other hotels, there is still a good selection of pastries and fresh fruit. The location of the hotel is great; fantastic views, underneath Castle Hill and a short walk to Old Town. The lift is small (only able to accommodate 2 people) but it doesn't really take away from the overall quality of the hotel. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend booking a room with a view of the Promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    239
    65
    17
    16
See reviews for
58
339
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel Suisse is the perfect location with a view not to be missed. We had a beautiful room with double french doors with a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean and the Promenade. What a wonderful view to wake up to each morning and go to bed each evening. The staff was very accommodating. I found it quite unusual that this hotel charged for the breakfast buffet unlike most hotels in Europe. Nonetheless, it did not influence my opinion of his review. The hotel is nicely located a short walk to the Old Town and the Harbor. Will definitely stay here again during my next visit to Nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

What really distinguishes Hotel Suisse is the spectacular view of Nice, the beach, the sea, the Promenade des Anglais. Thanks to a terrific internet deal, I got a room with a balcony and a welcome drink, which I very much enjoyed drinking on that balcony, and it was worth every penny. The room itself was small, immaculate and while nicely appointed, not luxurious. Not sure it merits four stars, but then I did not see any other rooms in Nice. The front desk people were wonderful and helpful; I arrived a couple of hours early, and they were kind enough to put me in an equivalent room. The hotel is located at the far eastern end of the Promenade des Anglais, but is close enough to Cour Saleya and Vieille Nice to be very convenient. I agree with Sarah H that the only real negative was the elevator: no problem using it, but the paint is chipping off on the inside, and it doesn't provide the best impression for the hotel. I would definitely stay here again, as long as I could get another good deal on the price.

Room Tip: Visit the internet site for the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The view was stunning, and the beach so close I left the windows open so the sound of the surf could lull me to sleep. The bed and bath were comfy, the room small but attractive, and the breakfast buffet generous and nicely served. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and pleasant. La Colline du Chateau is steps away and makes for a nice, quick morning hike. The hotel is close to Old Town, but not in the thick of the crowds. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are best if you can use the stairs instead of the tiny lift. I'd spring for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My family and I have traveled pretty extensively throughout France and Europe so we've seen the range of staff from wonderful and well-trained to indifferent and worse. But I have to say that the front desk at Hotel Suisse in Nice, in particular, a young lady there named Nathalie, managed to set a new low. Her mood ranged from unfriendly at best to sneering and strangely hostile. It almost felt like we had accidentally waked into a comedy routine about a caricature of a hostile front desk clerk. She was so terrible it ould have been funny, except of course that we were paying guests.
We still love Nice and we'll be back but never ever again will we stay at Hotel Suisse as long as Nathalie is at the front desk.To turn a phrase, Nathalie works in Nice but she is definitely not nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuisseHotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,
We ave taken good not of your remark regarding the person on the front desk service, but we kindly advise you that therre is no Nathalie in our staff !
We would have prefer having your name just to check that you did not mix up with another hotel.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to have some more information.
Awaiting for your reply, we wish you a good day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from nice, and we stayed at this hotel, our view was beautiful, we had a double balcony room 55 on the 5th floor, the room was spotless , the bed very comfy and to open your curtains in the morning you had a fantastic view of the coastline !! The staff where polite and helpful x

We didn't eat at this hotel so cannot comment which is why we haven't given it an excellent 5 star and the only slight (minor )negative I can give this hotel is the lift!! It will only hold 2 people and we had to take the stairs on occasions as the staff ( cleaners) must of been using it and obviously they didn't want it in use , for ourselves this wasn't a problem to take the stairs but if u were a lot older u may struggle? Overall this hotel was lovely and we would defiantly return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Three years years ago, when my wife and I last visited Nice, we made up our minds to try stay at the Hotel Suisse for our next visit. I'm extremely glad we did.
After a very long traveling day, we arrived at the front desk and were warmly greeted by a friendly staff member who gave us a top floor room with a good sized balcony and a spectacular view overlooking the Mediterranean and the coast of Nice.
The room has a flat screen TV (not that we plan on staying in and watching it), a mini-bar and a remote that controls the heater/air conditioner. Bathroom amenities are better than most and the shower/tub is a standard configuration for a European hotel. In other words, if you are used to staying in hotels that cater to American tourists, you may need to learn how to hold the shower hose to keep from getting the floor wet. The queen size bed is very comfortable. While European hotels are not generally known for having large rooms, this room is a very good size and has two windows that both open to the balcony via French doors.
Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, per se, they have a breakfast sitting area where a standard European-style buffet breakfast is offered, i e., sausage, scrambled eggs, juices, coffee, fruit, pastries, rolls, cheeses and cold meats. More than adequate and familiar to anyone who has ever been on any kind of a tour in Europe. Although not included in the price of our room, breakfast at any of the nearby restaurants would not have been better or cheaper (17 euro per person).
My wife and I were happy enough with the hotel we stayed at three years ago. But we are so much happier here, that we would always try and book here first.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: 15 quai Rauba Capeu | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#18 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Suisse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Suisse is ideally situated between sea and sky. Constructed along Italian-style architectural lines, it enjoys a unique location. For a stay in Nice on the French Riviera, enjoy the comfort of the various rooms and their stunning panorama. With their clean, stylish lines, the suite and the rooms ensure comfort and well-being and offer a breathtaking view of the Baie des Anges. First thing in the morning, enjoy a full buffet breakfast in our lounge. In some rooms you will be able to enjoy it on the terrace. Then, you'll be able to head out to the beach, which is only a few metres' walk away (preferential conditions on the private beach of our partner). Just minutes from the city centre, the hotel allows you to easily explore the charms of the historic centre of Nice or the port. Upon your return, share a moment of conviviality in the bar as you sip the cocktail of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Nice
Hotel Suisse Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.