We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Suisse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Suisse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 quai Rauba Capeu | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France (Old Town / Vieux Nice)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 212 hotels in Nice
Nice
1 review
“Stay in Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel on the beach and close to shops and restaurants. We did not eat the breakfast, so I have no comment on that. The only negative on this hotel is that there were no outlets in the bathroom to plug in an iron to do my hair, I had to go out to the television area and then back to the bathroom. The balcony was small but the view was incredible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    238
    65
    17
    16
See reviews for
57
337
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 days in late May. The view of of the beach and Quai des Anglais from our room was excellent, and the location very near Vieux Nice and the Cours Saleya was very convenient. The staff was pleasant and responsive, and the included breakfasts were a great way to start the day. My wife and I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had a room with a view that soothed the soul. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, with a small but adequate balcony. The receptionist was a bit cold and snooty on arrival, but everyone else was friendly. Breakfast in my room was basic and disappointing, although i did not starve. For a hotel that is not that cheap, I would have thought that they could stretch to a cooked breakfast to order in your room. Rooms are not soundproofed but that wasn't a big problem for me. Easy access to the old town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night the most magnificent views of old Nice and along the beach the view makes it worth the stay.
Rooms are clean modern and very comfortable
Best location in Nice . Excellent value for location . However parking is at cost at nearby quay

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Greatly located on the Rauba Capeu point,this hotel offers a fabulous view on the famous Promenade des Anglais and the whole bay of Nice.This is the true highlight of this hotel,and regrettably the only one: interiors are clean but too old and worn out and the breakfast is overpriced (€17,00=) Highly positive remarks about the staff's kindeness though.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms only! Mandatory condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

4 nights in the Hotel Suisse - a perfect base from which to explore the town and area, especially good for the old town. Smallish room recently refurbished, stylish, clean with comfortable bed, efficient air conditioning, which we needed at night because it would be too noisy to open the french windows. Sound proofing is actually very good, so traffic noise wasn't an issue though I had feared it might be. Gazing at the magnificent sweep of the Baie des Anges is a real tonic. I loved relaxing in the bath looking out at that view. Breakfast quite expensive but so good we looked forward to it each morning - the breads and pastries superb. We didn't get a breakfast included deal, it would be worth trying to do so. Friendly & helpful staff.

Room Tip: if your budget can stretch to a room with a balcony, it would be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can only second the notion expressed by fellow reviewers regarding the excellent location of Hotel Suisse. If you think of the coastline as a gently curving fish hook then the hotel is located at the bend, almost at the barb and offers incredible views of the Baie des Anges (Bay of Angels), the Promenade des Anglais in the distance, and the sweep of buildings facing the seafront. The hotel is backed up against a rocky headland, Castle Hill, so rooms on this side of the hotel would not have any views. It is a small hotel (boutique hotel comes to mind) but, in the phrasing of its website, "most of our 38 rooms and suite afford breathtaking views over the Baie des Anges" Nevertheless, when booking be sure to make a notation on your online reservation to emphasize that you want a room with a view of the bay, If you are willing to pay more ask for a room with a balcony and the highest possible floor to make the most of the beautiful scenery that staying here offers you.

The facade has a traditional appearance, with bas-relief square columns, a row of arched-top windows, wrought-iron railings and balconies. The interior contrasts markedly with the exterior but in a good way: a clean-lined, contemporary, restrained design mostly in white with pink and purple details. The lobby is small and acts as the breakfast area in the morning. The day staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. The night staff spoke English a little less confidently. They were all very helpful and ready with advice. The bell hop was quick to bring our luggage to our room. The elevator was tiny, but not a surprise. Two people but not their luggage would fit in there.

We booked a superior room. The room was small but did not feel too cramped. There was a full bath immediately to the right of the entrance. There was a minibar, safe, and desk. The highlight is the balcony with its amazing view. The hotel faces west and we were always out of the hotel at sunset but, on a clear day, consider sitting out on the balcony sipping wine and watching the sun set; I have seen pictures of spectacular sunsets over the Baie des Anges online. You could also have breakfast delivered to your room and eat on the balcony.

Remember that small rooms and elevators (if you even have them) basically the norm in European hotels that are not of recent (20th century?) construction. So pack light.

The breakfast was a buffet service in the lobby. There was a choice of cheese, cold cuts, bread, pastries, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, freshly-squeezed fruit juice and coffee, of course. Your table also had a selection of honey, jam, Nutella, butter, more small pastries. It was not included as part of our stay but it was certainly very convenient when time is of the essence. There are so many dining options nearby that it might be more interesting to take a stroll and have breakfast in the neighbouring Old Town.

Hotel Suisse is not well-located solely because of the view. As mentioned earlier the hotel is at the base of Castle Rock and it is thus a perfect base for exploring that excellent overview of the bay as well as an overview of the city harbour. The Old Town (Vieille Ville) is literally down the road. The dining options in the area are thus almost endless. Cours Saleya with its rows of side-by-side restaurants and bars is two minutes walk away and the warren of streets Vielle Ville are also chock-a-block with bars, cafes, bistros, and restaurants. Of course the beach and the Mediterranean are just out the front door and across the Quai des Etats-Unis (the eastern end of the boulevard that starts as Promenade des Anglais). It was too cold for to enjoy the waters but not to talk a walk on the beach or on the Promenade. And strolling along the seashore is one of the must-do experiences in Nice.

One reviewer mentioned that it was not the place for people watching but I do not think that that is all bad; while the hotel may not be at a downtown plaza or major thoroughfare, there were lots of people strolling along the promenade in front also taking in the views of the city. It was never too crowded or too noisy; the traffic during the day could get quite busy though. To offer an example of another well-located hotel with people-watching opportunities, we had visited Barcelona and stayed right on La Rambla, the famous tree-lined pedestrian boulevard; while we had great access we also had party-goers singing loudly at 5AM as they headed home. People-watching is readily available in Old Town and Hotel Suisse is nearby for a quiet night's sleep.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view. If you are willing to spend more reserve a room with a balcony and on the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: 15 quai Rauba Capeu | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#18 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Suisse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Suisse is ideally situated between sea and sky. Constructed along Italian-style architectural lines, it enjoys a unique location. For a stay in Nice on the French Riviera, enjoy the comfort of the various rooms and their stunning panorama. With their clean, stylish lines, the suite and the rooms ensure comfort and well-being and offer a breathtaking view of the Baie des Anges. First thing in the morning, enjoy a full buffet breakfast in our lounge. In some rooms you will be able to enjoy it on the terrace. Then, you'll be able to head out to the beach, which is only a few metres' walk away (preferential conditions on the private beach of our partner). Just minutes from the city centre, the hotel allows you to easily explore the charms of the historic centre of Nice or the port. Upon your return, share a moment of conviviality in the bar as you sip the cocktail of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Nice
Hotel Suisse Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.