We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible and felt very unsafe” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Choiseul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Choiseul to your Saves list
Hotel Choiseul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29, avenue Thiers, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible and felt very unsafe”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Horrible place, was put up there as the last stop after a cruise. The place was awful, when coming back to it from the old town you had to walk through the prostitutes to get to it. Felt very unsafe, very basic. Lift is ancient and breakfast was horrible.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    15
    26
    39
See reviews for
14
36
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Hotel has a charming oldy worldy exterior with small balconies. We stayed here for five nights. Our aim was to visit Cannes, Monaco and Antibes using the train. The Hotel is well placed for doing this. The Hotel is also near the bus stop for the number 99 bus to and from the Airport. The twin bedroom was a good size. An electronic safe was available. There was a small flatscreen TV which worked fine. We were not so keen on the open plan wardrobe. The bathroom was also a good size and bright and clean. We did not have breakfast at the Hotel, but this was available for an extra charge. The entrance lobby has comfortable seating and a TV. A strorage room is available for leaving your luggage. The staff helped us with information on numerous occasions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We felt very comfortable in this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but enough to go back to sleep and wash which is all you need.. we liked the hotel and Nice so much that we booked two extra night's

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, Responsable commercial at Hotel Choiseul, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Google Translation
Chers Clients,
Nous tenons à vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de juger nos prestations et espérons vous accueillir à nouveau parmi nous.
Bien cordialement,
Claudia Sauer
Directrice d'Exploitation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was the worst hotel we stayed during our whole trip. The only good thing about it is that is located close to the train station and thats the reason why we stayed here for one night, and one night only. The neighbourhood is not nice at all, would not recommend going for a walk at night.
During the days is some what acceptable and you have a close tram that takes you to the sea front and the best places to visit in Nice. But thats about it.
The room was really poor decorated, the bathroom was old and tiny. I would not chose this hotel to stay for longer than 2 days.

Room Tip: An ok place if you arrive late to train station and need a place to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were transferred to another hotel Hotel Medicis , as even though we had booked our rooms one month in advance , they were full due to the carnival !!

the room was small and dingy , the wifi signal was weak and the bathroom was smaller..

the staff were helpful though

would not recommend this one or the Medicis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, Responsable commercial at Hotel Choiseul, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Nous sommes désolés de votre mécontentement, mais nous n'étions pas complets à cause du carnaval; nous avons préferé vous loger dans l'autre hotel de notre groupe, le Médicis, situé à côté du Choiseul, et de catégorie supérieure, pour des disfonctionnements techniques.
Par contre, je ne comprends pas le titre: gâché le lait....Pourriez vous m'éclaircir?

Bien cordialement

Claudia Sauer
Directrice d'exploitation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel is clean, frontdesk is helpful. It's very close to Nice Ville train station, very convenient. It takes about 20 minutes by walk to the sea, quite ok for me. I don't have breakfast at hotel.
while the room is small, even a standard room. I think it's ok for that price. For those who just need a clean,convenient & safe stay, this hotel is quite ok. But it's not for a luxury vacation.
1 more thing, there're some traffic noise during night, I'm ok to fall in sleep. But for those who needs a quiet envrionment to fall in sleep, that might be an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Extremely handy. Right by train station And the nice airport bus (99) stops a couple of mins down the rd. vital for someone like me carrying a lot of luggage!
Always someone at desk which is good, lifts (been to some without!) room was basic everything needed. Air cond didn't seem to work.
Arrived on a Sunday and of course nothing was open to eat and the restaurant there was also closed.
Ordered a taxi for me, spoke English help was very easy.
Clean, walks were a bit thin. All over pretty good for a last min 40 euro single room right in the city :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Choiseul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Choiseul

Address: 29, avenue Thiers, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Choiseul 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Choiseul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choiseul Hotel Nice
Choiseul Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Choiseul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.