We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi

Save Saved
You added Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Montreal
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Loved this place again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

This is the second time I stayed in this hotel and I loved it again. I stayed with my husband, my infant daughter and my mother. It is a non smoking hotel, and when we were given a room where the previous occupants had smoked ( Not allowed), they changed us immediately to another room. Breakfast was very good and plenty, the hotel is very clean and the service was polite and efficient at all times.
Most of all the location is unbeatable and so is the price. ( 108 Euro per room with full breakfast included).

The rooms vary in size, from quite small to very spacious with Balcony.

I recommend this hotel very much and I will stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    245
    91
    27
    11
See reviews for
55
235
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WORCS
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

I think we must have had the smallest room in the hotel. We were on the 2nd floor - room 216. The walls were dirty, you could not walk past the end of the bed without bumping into the bed itself or the wall and there was a solitary wardrobe as storage space.

The air conditioning was only just good enough to cool the room down to make it OK to sleep, but it needed to be on 24 hours and full blast at night. Goodness knows why they put duvets on the beds - I can't imagine anyone getting cold enough to need one.

The good things are the location (two minutes from restaurants, five minutes from the front, but on a quiet road), the service (everyone on reception was very helpful) and the breakfast buffet.

The main train station is about ten minutes walk away, which means that you don't need a Taxi to get there if you are travelling by train (we did take a cab when we arrived, simply because we didn't know how far it was - it came to about 7 or 8 euros).

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

This hotel is not what you expect when you are used to have comfort or quality. Old style, you can hera the other room guests talking. Location is good and breakfast is normal for a 3 star.

I will not return

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall, west midlands,
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed for 8 nights in june.
The room was comfortable and clean and we always had plenty of hot water.

There was an excellent choice at breakfast and the quality of food was high.
The hotel is ideally positioned for the beach, shops, restaurants, train station, bus station and the tramway.
Slight gripes include: some noise at night; room adequate only for space and the bathroom floor was very slippery.

The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

we stayed for 3 nights from 31st march to 4th april and it proved to be an excellent choice. on arrival from the 0620 from dublin we went direct to the hotel and the very pleasant gentleman on the desk allowed us leave our bags in one of our rooms which was ready.. this was a nice touch so early in the morning and this gentleman proved to be an excellent advertisement for the hotel,he was helpful and informative. .the rooms 311 and 612 were clean,comfortable and not too noisy,except for the seagulls on the roof opposite but thats only a minor crib. the location is ideal only a minute or so from the pedestrian area,which was bustling. the breakfasts were plentiful with good variety again with very pleasant staff. we paid about €100 per room which included breakfast so that was good value. for dinner we found a gem in the old town la tapenade,6 rue ste reparate,which was packed with locals even on a monday and the staff were excellent and informally dressed,including the maitre di .this didnt detract from the excellent food..we travelled to cannes and monte carlo by local bus for only €1,amazing value and lunched in antibes on the way. one tip the taxi in cost €42 while return was only €29 so be careful . i would certainly recommend this hotel without question . .

  • Liked — the location and the excellent staff
  • Disliked — reception area uite small
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire (UK)
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

I am just back from a long Easter weekend break. I occupied room 525 on the 5th floor and was really happy with my recently renovated room. It didn't have a minibar but it was clean, well decorated, comfortable and quite spacious.

The hotel do explain that current renovations are taking place so you need to be prepared for the fact you may not be guaranteed a renovated room.

Staff were very warm, friendly and helpful.

Reception/communal area was light & airy and inviting.

Breakfast was continental and included in the rate.

I'd definately utilise this hotel again as it is in a perfect location for exploring the whole of Nice.

Sharon
West Yorkshire (UK)

  • Liked — Location & buy 2 nights get 3rd night free
  • Disliked — No gym
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We were just recently there over this past weekend (Easter weekend). I was very dissapointed. We were told all the rooms had balconies, however their idea of a balcony is a window that opens. The rooms are tiny and the carpet was stained and the walls needed to be repainted, marks all over. Actually the carpet looks like it is from the 1970's and hasn't been changed. The room had a musty/mildew smell and there was scaffolding outside of the window. We asked for a room that did not have the scaffolding, but were still given that type of room. The bathroom was ok, not very clean. The only good part was that the bed was comfortable and the sheets clean. Breakfast was good, can't complain. The lobby is nice. The good part is that the hotel is located in a good area of Nice, close to all the shopping, farmers market, the promenade etc. There is a rooftop deck where you can enjoy the sun, however the chairs and tables need to be updated or cleaned. If I go back to Nice, I would definitely stay at another hotel.

  • Liked — Location only
  • Disliked — The rooms, not very nice
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi

Address: 6 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This completely non smoking hotel offers 84 spacious rooms with airconditioning, cable TV and a refrigerator in the superior rooms. The Mercure Nice Grimaldi is located in the heart of town just 300 m from the famous Promenade des Anglais and close to the pedestrian area. Discover the refurbished superior rooms in this stylish establishment. Relax and enjoy the solarium on the 7th floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Grimaldi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.