We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware there is an entrance fee!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Musee d'Art et d'Histoire Palais Massena

Musee d'Art et d'Histoire Palais Massena
65 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
04-93-88-11-34
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 107 Attractions in Nice
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beware there is an entrance fee!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to collect our ticket and was told that it would be €20 for 2, contrary to what has been written on trip advisor. The fee included other attractions but we were not allowed to see this villa unless we bought the whole ticket €10 each. Unfortunately we didnot have the time to see the other museums. We walked through the gardens which were lovely and missed out on seeing the villa.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    95
    23
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NW UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely house with interesting photos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It took us three visits before we found it was open (it was used as an event venue the first time and merely closed the second time) Although entry is free, you have to get a card from the office next to the main building. The photos of the house, its family and the development of Nice were very interesting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Rewarding Spot to Kill Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I were on our way to the cinema but had to kill more than an hour. Fortunately the Palais Massena and the movie house share the same neighborhood. Nice has more than a dozen museums that are free and this is one of them. Actually its a beautiful family residence very well restored so that you can get a glimpse of what it was like to be an aristocrat during the 19th Century. Period costumes and jewelry may be viewed behind glass and the paintings and portraits give life to these folks now long dead like their way of life. The gardens are beautifully maintained.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Free and OK for half an hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Big House that contains some interesting artefacts from Napoleon and Josephine plus a lot of local history on the Prom des Anglais.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent history of Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lovely grounds and excellent museum (free). All explanations are in French, but can be decifered with a little patience. Gives one a great history of Nice and its earlier inhabitants in the Belle Epoque.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee d'Art et d'Histoire Palais Massena also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Musee d'Art et d'Histoire Palais Massena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee d'Art et d'Histoire Palais Massena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.