We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Budget Hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Little Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Little Palace to your Saves list
Little Palace
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9 Avenue Baquis, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Inter-Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The worst Budget Hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

When we arrived at the Hotel, we immediately smelt the bleach as we were trying to sort out our room at reception. the room itself was extremely small, the lamps byt the bed didn't work,the toilet seat was misplaced and as a final touch,the lady at the reception,showed no friendliness at all when we asked if we could borrow 2 plates and 2 glasses.

Overall, being our last night to end our short break in the French Riviera, it was a really bad experience, and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    131
    55
    10
    11
See reviews for
56
113
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was good value for money. Convenient to the train station 5 minute walk, close to many places to eat and a 15 minute easy walk to the old town which is well worth a visit. Also about 5 minute walk to the beach. It was clean and quiet. We stayed in a room for 3 with a double bed and one single. It was very adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I still can hardly believe this is a 2* hotel, cos even in 3*s you can hardly expect such clean (!!!) and quite spacy rooms, really good service, and excellent placement - right in betwwen the sea and the station - 7 mins to any of them on foot. I didn't order breakfasts at the hotel cos there was no need in that - there's a supermarket next door, small but sufficient. I was alone placed in a triple room, i don't know how much it's frequent to happen, but it was a very comfortable room with a good bathroom, a small but nice balcony and an LCD TV. The room was cleaned every day and towels were changed too. There were even too many towels for me alone! The only "disadvantage" could be that some of the receptionists didn't speak English but can it be a disappointment really when you are in France? Even my very poor French was enough to feel comfortable speaking to the staff who were really friendly.

Now I'm working in a travel agency and it's really sad that i can't recommend this wonderful hotel to my tourists as it doesn't appear in booking systems we work with...maybe some day i'll book it directly despite the rules cos it is really worth it! I haven't ever seen 3* hotels at least a little bit like this one, especially in Nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania - Bucharest
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Little Palace it's a very good hotel in Nice. It's very well located if you're travelling by train or by plane, the central station it's right at the end of the street, 5 minutes walk and there also stops the bus coming from the airport. On the other direction, you'll reach the Promenade des Anglais also in 5 minutes. The building of the hotel it's an old one, but inside everything is new. The double room wasn't not so large, but enough space for two people, the bathroom it's very nice, it was also a little balcony. New furniture in the room and bathroom, LCD TV, good WIFI signal. Breakfast was good enough, especially when we're reminding we are in France. Helpfull staff, speaking a good English.
It was a good choice for me and i recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to make a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was definitely a good choice - the best combination of affordability + amenities + location that we could find in Nice. It's a little old but still nice and clean. We didn't try the breakfast since it seemed overpriced to us (8 or 9 euro for continental breakfast).
A nice surprise was that we found free parking overnight (paid 9am to 8pm) right in front of the hotel. There's also a parking garage nearby which costs around 25 euro daily.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Impressive reception but the room was a little bit of a let down and the receptionist wasnt impressively friendly either. I dont understand why people bother in customer service jobs when their customer service skills lack so much. The view from the room was a bit naff and the noise from the aircom was pretty loud. We both gagged in the bathroom a couple of times when trying to clear our own hairs out of the shower after the first use we didnt bother attempting that again and i dont think they should have a toilet brush there unless they plan on actually cleaning it, im gagging at the thought of it again! The showerhead wasnt connected to the wall either which was a bit annoying. I felt we paid a little bit more for what we actually got, especially when they add the tax on as you get there. Arriving in a new place and having to pay the full amount AND have tax added on to your bill, before you've even checked into your room doesnt exactly make you feel at ease at all. Its location saves it from a 2 starer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

A two starhotel with a very good lokation. A short walk to the beach and an even shorter one to the station. Good service and aircond in a cleen room.
Didn´t eat the breakfast. There is a supermarket 30 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Palace

Address: 9 Avenue Baquis, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Inter-Hotel)
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Little Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between the promenade des anglais and the train station little palace is a real delightful hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Little Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Palace Hotel Nice
Minotel Hotel Little Palace
Minotel Nice
Nice Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.