We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apogia Nice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Apogia Nice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Apogia Nice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 rue Smolett, 06300 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 212 hotels in Nice
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Went under a tour to Italy last Oct (only today manage to write a review) anyways,
the room -is small, hardly can move at all. Plus when put your bug luggage even cramped and no space at all. Maybe its bcoz I got the standard room. The bed is a so so.What I hate the most is the small bathroom and separate shower from toilet as toilet in small 'cubicle' room,cannot access to the sink to wash etc.
Breakfast- I like the breakfast though, decent food and decent variety can't complaint much as Im a Muslim and cannot eat any meat, just the bread croissant etc. Fresh juices (orange & apple), there's ham sausages, scramble egg, yogurt..
Staff- not friendly just manage a smile.
I would prefer to go elsewhere even though for only 1-2 nite stay

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    32
    35
    27
    6
See reviews for
12
28
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

My visit to Nice was really a rest stop for Monaco. The hotel was nice, clean, and with comfortable beds. The breakfast was pretty adequate . Overall the hotel was not bad

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This hotel was chosen for its price and its proximity to the Conference Center in Nice.

The room itself has a double and a single bed. It was on first inspection clean and inviting, but that didn't last long. When we pulled the duvet back, there was a blood stain on the underside. One of the pillowcases had cigarette burns in it (on the underside, of course). There was an exercise bike in our room, but the seat was broken which rendered it unusable. There was no exercise bike in our friend's room.

The bathroom was awful. The shower was ancient, and the tub wouldn't drain. There was a fuzzy mould in spots on the ceiling. A bar of hotel soap was provided, but no shampoo or conditioner.

There were two elevators, but one was broken down. This made for long waits.

No internet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Very close to the harbor and the old town. A bit of dodgy neighborhood, but not too bad. Old hotel, but looks clean and taken care of. Big lobby is a bit unfriendly and unwelcoming and we didn't find anyone behind the bar, to offer us coffee.

Minibar - empty, although still requires a lock to open. Although room was far from the elevator and on the other side, we still had continuous noise from it, which was initially very puzzling.

Lady at the reception was very helpful and that kind of made my day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Had one night and two day stay here. Had no air con so the room was stuffy. During that time it was quite hot. However i opened the window but it is so noisy outside i could not sleep even though i was tired.

The reception was unfriendly when I asked for directions. Location was quite far away from the heart of Nice. Took about 30minutes walk to get to the sights which was inconvenient.

Near convenience store, about 10 min talk to shopping mall and ATM.

Nice is a place for enjoying seafood and the sun. But that's about it that you can do there.

I would look for another hotel

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We found out on arrival that we were in the older part of Nice...this is true, but we found it to be safe.

The location is quite good - it is a gorgeous and scenice 10 minute stroll to the amazing Nice esplanade and beach (as pictured in my display picture).

The rooms looked nicer on the website, as the balcony only overlooked the back of the hotel. However the decor was classic beachy blue and yellow, and comfortable - except for the distinct lack of airconditioning - it is controlled across the level, you only have a vent in your room that is out of your control, and the cool air doesn't distribute well at all. I don't mind the heat, but some people have less tolerance for the high 30 degrees...so keep this in mind!

Breakfast was fine, same as all other hotels on our tour through Italy, France, Spain. The big issue was that the dining room is too small and our tour group was reserved the same table as another, meaning that about 20 of us we standing with full trays that we had to dump and come back to. More staff organisation would have helped with this.

Nice is beautiful, Apogia is nice...although I'd go for a place with a beach view next time!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel definatley takes the cake! It is located in a poor neighbourhood (don't go walking the streets after dark) It was rundown, there were holes in the sheets and the blanket cover, our toilet was discusting so was the bathroom. The breakfast buffet (if you would call it that) was grose, all tinned fruit, warm milk for the cereal and stale croissonts. Was about a 10 min walk to the harbour, that was the only thing going for it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Apogia Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apogia Nice

Address: 26 rue Smolett, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 212 hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apogia Nice 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the colours of the French Riviera and only a few steps away from the Promenade des Anglais, the Place Garibaldi and Place Massena, the Hotel provides a unique opportunity to enjoy a superb vacation in one of the most luxurious and celebrated sea resorts in Europe.The Hotel is also close to the Acropolis Centre, to the railway station and the port that connects Nice to other French gems in the MediterraneanThe Hotel provides to its clients a full day reception service, a bar and a lounge for breakfast, a payment parking with restricted access, a free internet Wi-fi connection.The very best deals for a stay in a Nice hotel, where you will find up-to-date services and amenities, designed to ensure you enjoy the best of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelWorld, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Apogia Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apogia Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.