We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vingt4

Le Vingt4
24 rue Alphonse Karr, 06000 Nice, France
+33 4 93 88 45 49
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Vingt4 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,375 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Very nice Wine Bar / Restaurant - Come & Try a wine bar designed by a woman - Closed on Sunday all day and Monday evening Only - A brand new concept in NICE .
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

As all of the reviews have said this place is an absolute gem! The food was fantastic, we had the steak tartare (cut by hand), veal with sour cherry sauce, lamb and cod and all were fantastic. Above all the service was warm, friendly and attentive. We booked ahead, only a few hours before our booking, but this is advisable as all tables were either full or reserved when we arrived. However there is a small bar area with a few tables and chairs for walk ins. I would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Our best reward is to see our guests coming back for sure ! Our restaurant is small ( only 40 seats) and we took the option to make only one seating per service in order to give to everybody enough attention
Coming in our restaurant will always remain a parenthesis out of the running pressure we encounter in our daily life : smoking kills , aging kills , loving kills , drinking kills .... Enjoy life !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    187
    41
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice enough food in a friendly atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Le Vingt4 is a nice place with a wonderful staff. The owner and waiter were charismatic and very friendly. The food.. was good, but not "wow" - good simple, homely food. Not particularly memorable but also I can't fault it at all. Maybe 7-8 out of 10. I'm not sure if the other dishes on the menu perhaps have more of a wow factor though as we only tried 2 out of the whole menu so - this review is only representative of the two dishes we had which were the seabream fish with herbs, and the dish of the day which was a hamburger with goat cheese. The atmosphere is very pleasant and the prices are affordable too and the thing we enjoyed the most was the kindness and charisma of the lovely staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
For the first time since more than 2 years running le vingt4 , I do not know how to react to a such comment : reading your review carefully you found everything great but you gave a median note .... Unusual reaction for sure but the positive point is that you loved our restaurant at the end .
We hope to see you back to try to explain this mystery with you around a glass of wine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly hosts, great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Basically everything you have is great, the owner (staff) is friendly, the food is fresh, and the wine is good. Do make a reservation for dinner though as it's small and gets full quite quickly.
We had the lamb, sea bass, cod, and linguini with clams. All were perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
It was a great pleasure to share this moment with all your family coming from all over the world and joining in our restaurant !
For your information our lamb is coming from one of the best butcher in old town and is feed only with milk ... And this give him a particular flavor !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Superb find. Was taking friends back to airport and just happened across this little gem by accident. Superb service (owner truly enthusiastic about his food and wine). Home cooked everything including the bread and the biggest surprise of all, such amazing value. I truly hope this establishment is open for years to come, I will definitely search it out again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
... And you will be as welcome as for your first visit ! We are not in a very touristic area but we try to compensate by our friendly welcome and the best rate between quality / price in town :)
We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Affordable French meal at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor and had to check this gem out for ourselves. So glad we did. From the bread to the meal to the accompanying wine suggested by our hostess...a splendid meal. Fresh ingredients freshly prepared. No microwave in this fine eatery. No sticker shock either on the price. Go there again? You bet. The owners and waiters speak English very well and are oh so nice. You will not be disappointed with this new twist on classic French dining!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for leaving your review and you right : in our restaurant no deep freeze , no microwave , no vacuum machine ... Only fresh seasonable products coming directly from the best suppliers in town !
We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vingt4 also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Vingt4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vingt4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;