We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully helpful to guests!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Centre

Hotel du Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Centre to your Saves list
Hotel du Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 rue de Suisse, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Marion, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderfully helpful to guests!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed two nights at Hotel du Centre, Nice. We checked out on a Sat. morning, walked to the Hertz office (1 mile away) to pick up our rental car. The Opel only had 4000 km on it, but it smoked and died at our hotel. We do not travel with a cellphone or laptop, so the hotel called the Hertz office for us and explained our dilemma. When a truck hauled the car away, the hotel again called Hertz for us to get a cab. They let us park our luggage at the desk while we waited & got us a sandwich & drink (almost 4 hours total wait). They were extremely helpful, kind, courteous and knowledgable about where we were going (Aix-en-Provence,etc.). This is only a 2-star hotel but we had everything we wanted and needed, and we would definitely stay there again. It's also located very conveniently on the tramline, within an easy walk to shopping, restaurants & the beach.
Merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    19
    12
    23
See reviews for
13
23
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking to stay in Nice for a few nights, and this hotel, that was a bit of a gamble to book, paid off.
Other guests have complained about the noise from room to room, but all that I noticed was neighbours flushing the toilet or taking a shower ... it really wasn't that bad!

The room we were given had a view over the church opposite, and was clean. we were given 3 beds in our room so there was plenty of places to put our stuff. The air conditioning was a relief.

The location was ideal, situated just off the main street and a reasonable walk down to the promenade. Outisde traffic noise wasn't a problem, bearing in mind its central location.

The only small problems were that we didn't get clean towels one of the days and no bath mat. the breakfast we thought was too pricey for what they offered. city tax payment was sprung on us as we were rushing to the airport. wifi also stopped working.

would stay here again should i find myself in Nice again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Hotel standards aren't great on the French Riviera. This hotel was of a comparable standard to those that charge similar rates in the area. It's close to the train station, and 10-15 mins walk to old Nice and the sea. It's well served by bus and tram routes. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was of a reasonable size, and it and the ensuite bathroom were clean. The matress and bed however had seen better days - and were not very clean. The room overlooked a closed in square and the hum of fans from other buildings was noisy at night. The AC did not work. In general the hotel is a little shabby with no luxuries or extras. It is exactly the standard of accomodation that you get for this price in this location, but that isn't fantastic....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

A VERY well-located, but small, charming little hotel. Gay-owned and operated and LGBTQ-friendly. Inside rooms have a "Paris view" of courtyards and rooftops. Cheap.

Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-sea
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Freindly staff, air con in room, great location as in city center and near train station.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Stayed for one night. Staff were friendly. Room was fine..comfortable, clean, aircon.
Short walk from the square. Very friendly, helpful staff.

We were there for one night, to rest our heads and then head off down the coast. It was perfect for this purpose! Just what you would expect for the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel before in '07 and had no problem with it then, so we stayed again in May '09. I find the price and location appealing, a few minutes walk from the railway station & handy for the tram line, as well as shopping streets. The staff are pleasant and the food quality in the restaurant surpassed my expectations. The lift is small but it works, the shower is small also, but clean and serviced daily with fresh towels as well as the bed sheets changed daily. the top 2 floors seem to be the only ones refurbed. I requested a room to the front on booking, which I got. the front rooms would be a little noisy if not for the double glazing. The room was a bit small and would not suit if one wanted to stay in all day say reading or watching t.v. But if you are just there for sleeping it is fine. And in terms of food and drink services It would appear to offer more than similar priced accommodations in the immediate area.
Overall a pleasant place to stay and the area itself seems much improved since the cul de sacs associated with the tramline construction are now gone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Centre

Address: 2 rue de Suisse, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Centre Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.