This is a very difficult review for me, because this hotel was a very strange experience for me. I have only 1 con for the hotel & many pros. However the 1 con I have was extremely important (for me) and I can’t believe that no one in their previous reviews have mentioned this as explicitly. So that has led me to believe that only I am disturbed by this, I hope not.
1 & only problem with this hotel was their toilet: the toilet bowl was not in the bathroom as you would usually expect. It was behind another door, which I think should have been a closet. (Please see pictures) If you close the door to the toilet, (which you will have to if you are more than 1 person) you cannot accommodate in the ‘toilet closet’ comfortably. I am not a very tall person but this was an extremely difficult thing to deal with, there was no room between the door & my knees. Now I have no idea who in their right mind would design such a bathroom. It’s as if they are forcing their customers to pay for the higher room category by designing an awful bathroom. I suspect once people see the rooms they often come down to complain to the front desk which is why the manager (the one doing the night shift) was very defensive on the onset, was rude & had his answers prepared. Immediately offered us a superior room at an extra charge, which means I would be paying 20 Euros extra per night for maybe 2 cms of space between the ‘toilet closet’ door & my knees. It’s the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen. We had 3 rooms and all had the same design, I’m not sure if they have any rooms with the typically designed bathrooms.
• Recently renovated room, quiet beautifully done in bright colours and a travel theme. They had these beautiful tables that looked like luggage but there were no drawers to them (although there were handle on them, pretend handles - another design flaw) however it wasn’t so much of a problem for us.
• Located 2 mins walking from the train station (for Monte Carlo & Eze)
• 10 mins walking distance from the promenade, city center, eating joints and the pubs.
• Beds & linen were of good quality, everything in room was clean and well taken care off.
• Manager that handled the front desk during the day, she was very helpful & courteous, always had a smile to offer (unlike the night manager)
• Supermarkets at 5 minutes distance- they don’t provide water bottles in the room, I suppose tap water was fine to drink but I don’t prefer that. Again not a major issue.
It can be value for money, if you can get over the design flaws. But if I ever have to go back to Nice, I personally wouldn't stay here again. The pros don’t offset the comfort to use the toilet.
if you must stay here, please go for the higher room categories, the toilet area for the classic roo...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
We would like to thank you for the time taken to give us your feelings about the Nice Excelsior hotel.
We understand the problem you have encountered about the size of the toilet room and we are totally agree with you. We are in a historical building Belle Époque style (1898) and unfortunately we need to respect the age of the building and it was impossible for us the push the walls and make bigger toilet rooms. The size you have encountered was not made on purpose and it concerns only few rooms.
We are also sorry about the way you were received during the night and we will do all the necessary actions to improve it.
It is very important for us to give our guests the best stay in Nice and we hope you can change your mind and come another time to see the improvement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.