We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of expected better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Mer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel de la Mer to your Saves list
Hotel de la Mer
4 place Massena, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sort of expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel. We stayed in one of the renovated rooms. I guess I expected it to be better since we had booked a renovated room. I was not impressed with the room. Musty smelling towels. Quite noisy when people are in the hallway. Location was excellent. Very close to restaurants and shops. Owner was helpful when he was around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I would like to start out by saying the people that work there are very nice! They held foot tickets (soccer tickets) for me that I had shipped to them from a swiss ticket company that would not ship to the states by the way thanks again for that! the hotel itself is probably a 3 star it's clean has a great location and is cheap, perfect for people on a budget and just want to walk around, right by la mer and charming old nice, also lots of shopping and restaurants all around it I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is everything about location. Ours was a room overlooking Massena Square which was so alive with Christmas activities and beautiful decorations. First floor room was simple and clean. Best shower we have had in France. Staff is very, very helpful and kind. I could not believe we had this kind of view for such a great price. The hotel is not staffed at night, they give you a code to unlock the doors. Do be mindful as one night we had a group of teenagers come up to us as we were keying in the code, expecting to follow us in. We stopped and invited them to key in the code for themselves. When they couldn't, they took off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is in an unbelievable location with the beach, the Flower Market and Old Nice within an 8 minute walk. The staff were super accommodating and very receptive to our request to change rooms when we found that the shower stall was just too small for my tall husband (Room #1). For the next 3 nights, we stayed in Room #7 which overlooked Place Massena and we are still astounded by how quiet it was when we closed the window. The price/value ratio is a winner when you shop around for hotels in a comparable location in Nice. We arrived in Nice at the main train station and chose to walk to the hotel -- approximately 20 minutes. Without hesitation, we will stay here again when we are back in Nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Place Massena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cipieres, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thierno and staff were mega helpful, very cheap, small but comfy. for e50 a night! Smack in the center of Nice. Does exactly what it says on the tin! I stayed in a room at the back of the hotel, although noisier i think i would prefder a room overlooking the square. Free wifi also a plus!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a reconditioned room which was small and simple but tastefully done and with a beautiful hot shower. Continental Breakfast was delicious and although similar price than many of the local cafes was probably better value as we could ask for more tea/coffee. Staff were very polite and helpful. Location is perfect with access to both New and Old Town in easy walking distance. Public transport is very handy in Place Massena and we took advantage of the €1 bus to Monte Carlo.
(As we left there was a workman in drilling and plastering in the old rooms so perhaps they are renovating them all now.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Half this hotel has well appointed and reconditioned rooms and half needs work doing on it. You need to ask for one of rooms 8-12 to get one of the better ones. Also, in spite of other comments saying get a room overlooking the wonderful Place Massena, I disagree. It is noisy, especially so at weekends up to the early hours of the morning when too many people have had too much to drink. See if you can get a room at the back. Not an attractive outlook, but quiet. Otherwise, make sure you take some earplugs in your hand luggage, otherwise you may well have sleepless nights. The hotel has an unattractive entrance but the welcome is good, the reconditioned rooms are excellent and the situation is very convenient for visiting old Nice. Try getting the bus to Eze village; 1 euro for a trip along a magnificent stretch of coastline is a steal.

Room Tip: Rooms 8-12 have been reconditioned. Ask for one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Mer

Address: 4 place Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.