We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Mer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Mer to your Saves list
Hotel de la Mer
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 place Massena, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel has a fabulous location on the Place Massena next to the water fountain. Its about 5 minutes to the promenande & beach, 3 minutes to old Nice and 5-10 minutes to the train station via tram. The staff are friendly and helpful.
We would advise booking one of the recently renovated rooms (#8 & higher) if possible. The difference in cost (40 EUR) is worth it, in our opinion. These rooms are cleaner, more modern with nicer bathrooms and equipped with better windows which keep out the noise (the fountain is a popular area at all times). One of the staff mentioned they hope to renovate the remaining rooms in the next year or so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    47
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is very cute with an extremely sweet and personable staff. They were very helpful with anything we required. The location is perfect. You are a 1-2 minute walk from the beach, a 4 minute walk to old nice, a 10 minute walk to castle hill, a 5 minute walk to promenade des anglais.

The only downside to this hotel would be the bathroom. Very dated and very small. Which in of itself isnt that bad, but if you are over a size 6/8 you would not even be able to walk into the shower. The shower door is so small and the bathroom door offers no privacy as it is a sliding door that isnt quite secured.

We travelled here on our honeymoon and would book here again the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as we used nice as a home base for the riviera. Chose the room with a balcony overlooking the plaza. Fantastic room, great size for europe, lots of storage. Staff was great, provided outlet converter and beach mats upon request. Little stuff like that helps a ton.

Location is perfect. Right in the middle of the beautful plaza massena. not sure how they do it but there was absolutely no noise in our room, even though the plaza stays busy late into the night.

the hotel is also a 30 second walk to 2 different parking lots if you happen to bring your car with you.

Room Tip: room #8 has balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This was my 3rd visit to this hotel and as always very friendly had room 7 which has a great view and is right near checkpoint whi

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a treat this turned out to be! Rick Steve's rarely misses the mark on these moderately priced
hotels, and he was right on with this one! As others have said, the location cannot be beat. It sits on one of the beautiful squares near old town. We had a car, so needed to park a block away which was never a problem because there were always spaces in the garage. Agatha at the front desk was so sweet and accommodating. We opted for breakfast in the lobby and it was delicious.
Wonderful coffee and croissants . It is 7 euros, but we ate on the street nearby the first day and it was more expensive and not as good. Get a remodeled room! They are so clean and modern and the shower is the best I have had in a hotel of this price range. I am a light sleeper, and had blissful sleep due to the sound proof windows. This hotel has a lot to offer considering the price !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Overall, I would definitely recommend one of the renovated rooms (#8 and greater) in Hotel de la Mer. The location of the hotel is excellent, in a building behind the large fountain at the Place de Messina in between two of the main stops on the tram that runs from the train station to some of Nice’s suburbs. (The tram is SO easy to use and cheap as well; purchase tickets at the machine at any tram stop for 1 Euro apiece.) The hotel is in a perfect spot with ridiculously easy access to Old Town, the beach (including a free, public one at that) and Promenade, and the central commercial/shopping district. This hotel’s location cannot be beat, really.

Though the hotel does not have an elevator, Thiernot, the best staff member, helped us carry our bags up the stairs. Our room #11 was on the renovated side of the hotel and had a handsomely-tiled, HUGE en suite bathroom with stainless steel fixtures, a double sink, and a rain shower. The bathroom towels were replenished every day, and Thiernot gave us additional towels to use at the beach as well. The room was spacious, even for four adult Americans with much luggage on a two and a half week European trip. We had one double bed and two true single beds in our room, not glorified cots or rollaways, but true single beds, and all of the beds were comfortable. The A/C worked well and was easy to control with a remote.

What stands out the most is the service Thiernot provided. Whatever we needed, he helped us promptly attain and was unwaveringly polite but always genuine, the mark of what customer service should be everywhere and is at Hotel de la Mer. We had a million questions for him, and he never appeared to feel belabored by them. I can’t stress enough how great of a job he did.

Other necessary notes: WiFi is included in the room cost and works very well. No concerns there. Though the hotel is near a public landmark, it feels and is very secure, and while in Nice, the police presence is quite visible and, indeed, effective though never oppressive. One thing the hotel could do to improve is to put a safe in each of the rooms. Though we felt more than safe at Hotel de la Mer, in-room safes give travelers that extra sense of security. And on one last note, breakfast of different types of croissants with butter and jelly, coffee, and orange juice was 7 Euros per day, but it was worth it considering the individual cost of all of these products and how tasty they were.

All in all, my family and I very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel de la Mer, and we hope to return again.

Room Tip: For a group of four persons, hoose room #11. It faces the rear of the hotel and may be quieter than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in Nice and we would return. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, close to the beach, shopping and a short walk to the train station. The renovated rooms are very nice clean and tastefully decorated. The rooms have air-conditioning and sound proof windows which was a nice touch because Place Massena can get busy at night.

Room Tip: Stay in the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Mer

Address: 4 place Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.