We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Windsor Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Windsor Nice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Strange place, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights - meant to be 4 but i really wanted to move to enjoy our last night in the south of France.
Hotel has a lovely garden - although the pool absolutely freezing beyond toe sticking in levels! And all shaded by the trees.
Room was quiet from outside noise, however walls paper thin and after 5 minutes of being in our room already had a call asking us to keep the noise down - which i was disgusted at as we were listening to music and chatting at a very normal 2pm level!!!!
The room was bright green and very old fashioned and very basic.
Whilst being quirky this just looked like it was more for students and not a hotel of £159 a night.
Staff were mixed but most helpful.
Around the pool waiter service was terrible.
The main good thing about the hotel really was the location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    334
    88
    24
    16
See reviews for
70
370
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel has a good location a few streets back from the sea front prominade.

Room was well appointed with a small balcony overlooking the tropical garden.

Breakfast was good and we are in the restaurant one night and it was very nice.

Nice is a lovely place to visit lots of nice shops and parks to sit and watch the world go by. Also lots of seats on the sea front

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Windsor hotel in the third week of June for 3 nights. This is an exceptionally charming hotel located a few streets away from the sea and from the old city center. Head staff at the desk speaks a number of languages fluently (e.g., English, Dutch and Russian). Our room was small, but nicely decorated, clean, and well-equipped with a small fridge, a flat screen, decently working wi-fi, and air conditioning. Our room had a balcony overlooking a beautiful garden with tropical birds, big trees, and a small swimming pool. The room let hardly any sounds in, and the bed was comfortable, offering a good night’s sleep. Breakfast was a real treat, served in the garden, and was abundant in every sense of the word. Staff was very polite and extremely helpful whenever you wanted something done. We enjoyed our stay here and fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, qc
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is well situated, being only a few blocks from the beach, the old city and many restaurants and shops. The indoor court with its garden and pool is a very nice feature and adds a lot to the hotel. Most of the staff were very friendly, except for one fellow at the front desk who gave the impression you were bothering him each time you asked him something. The room was clean and relatively spacious by local standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Windsor has this quirky style to it. Decor is a mishmash of different styles and cultures. The room we had was clean and comfortable, however, the bathroom is rather small. I found the garden that is repeatedly mentioned in the reviews, rather small, and not that special. It was nice to have breakfast in the garden, however, I wouldn't choose the hotel just for that. Location is very central; close to the beach and the train station. You can pretty much walk to everywhere. I would recommend this hotel for those on a budget as this is a moderate property and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Garden view is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I visited Nice in mid-May and had an enjoyable experience at Hotel Windsor during our 3-night stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Although we didn't use the garden because we were busy sightseeing, it was serene – and fun to hear the bird sounds. The front desk staff was very helpful and had good tips. And the lobby is spacious and elegant. I'd recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Shame our stay was spoilt by a dirty bathroom when we arrived. The concierge has been nicely furnished and decorated. Such attention should also be offered to the rooms, which look worn out. Reception staff are magnificent and location is ideal. If you are driving, street parking is a nightmare. Make sure you book a hotel space in advance.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

I'm confused if the bathroom was not clean enough and I will see how to improve this point to avoid it.

Best regards;

Odile Payen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 30 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Windsor Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.