We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 star hotel with 5 star quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Windsor Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Windsor Nice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Jerusalem
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A 3 star hotel with 5 star quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The location is great, the rooms cheerful, beautifully decorated, well-equipped.The service is very attentive, no request was too much. The swimming pool and the exotic garden were a delight. We've been travelling to Nice several times and stayed in different hotels, but this one will be the place that we'll return too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    333
    88
    24
    16
See reviews for
69
370
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

A nice clean bright room facing the road calm and quiet ,air conditioning flat screen tv new towels and nice complimentary shampoos the staff are helpful and pleasant the hotel is not far from central promenade with nice local small restaurants and small quaint shops

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It was the reviews and location that persuaded me to book this hotel and I'm glad I did.

The front of house staff were excellent, really helpful with superb English which always helps language biffs like me. They gave great local information and were very knowledgable about local events, prices etc.

I was a little disappointed when we got to our room though, after reading about all the interesting arty features in the rooms, room 122 is pretty dull! (No offence intended to the artist, it's just a cold fact...). There was just a long, thin, colourful stretch of canvas across 2 walls, and it was pretty old and shabby! Still, the rest of the room was good, a few tired corners here and there with scuff marks and wood chips, but it's certainly not bad enough to let down its 3* status.

The bathroom was nice, big windows and everything in working order so no issues there.

Breakfast was great, all you can eat meat, cheese, pastries, fruits etc along with free flowing tea and coffee in their lovely little garden. The garden is a beautiful little oasis in the middle of Nice, I'm sure it's worth a penny or two in prime real estate in a good area of town! We didn't try the little pool, but it was cleaned and the surrounding area brushed daily.

So, a great little hotel, slightly high priced for what it is, but it's in Nice and everything is expensive. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently stayed for 1 night at Hotel Windsor. We were so glad that when we arrived a little early our room was ready and we were able to check in right away. We had reserved a parking spot (the hotel has a few) and this was great.

The location of the hotel is great. You are steps away from the Promenade des Anglais and about a 15 minute walk to old Nice.

Our room had everything we needed. There is a mini fridge in the room and a safe which was nice. The bathroom was quite small but the shower was great (rain shower) with good water pressure.

We did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment on this part. There is a little bakery right around the corner which is a good option for Breakfast if you want something quick and not expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days before we went onto Monaco for the Grand Prix. Our room faced the side + was quiet. no problem with noise from next door either. Our room and bathroom was small but was fine. Location was fine - 10 minutes to the train station and the same to the main shopping area and resturaunts. Only 5 minutes to the Promonade.

My only complaint was that the jacuzzi is no longer there, Apparently we had to pay for the gym which we thought was free. We didn't use it, after bringing my stuff over!!

But if staying in Nice, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Teresa,

We are glad that you appreciated our hotel and we will be very happy to see you again next time you come in Nice.

Concerning the Jacuzzi, we have a whrilpool bath on the 5th floor which is suggested on the treatments menu. We also have whirlpool bath in some Privilege rooms which is a good choice to get one. The steam bath and the sauna are available on request for 15€ the session for two (30 minutes minimum, depending on availability...). It's better to book in order to warm it previously.

The Gym area (Zen space) is totally free for our customers, available all day, no need to book at all.

Awaiting the pleasure to see you again,

Odile Payen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in this great boutique hotel. Room was clean, bright and funky in design. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous.

Pool was a bit chilly - sea was warmer! Great just to lounge and recharge out in the garden before heading out again in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is located in city centre, and in walking distance to most attractions. Promenade des Ingles is 4 mins away. Was upgraded for free, to a bigger room (no. 362). Corner room towards the street. Good service. The room had an entre with safe and mini-bar incl. closet. bedroom with connection to bathroom. French balcony. The hotel and rooms have art and design inspired features, really a treat. The rooms are old, but well taken care of and have air-condition. Small Tv and should have had more english speaking channels. Funky bath (red tiles).

The only negative part is that you may experience some noise from the other rooms. I guess The next door room had the bathroom wall in wall with my room, I heard the shower and some people talking.

A small retreat and gym area on the loft. The garden outside is an oasis with a lot of different vegitations. Breakfast and dinner is served here when the weather allows it. The swimming pool is small and there was a lot of dust and grains from the trees in it. If your looking to sun bah here, you wont get much sun cause of all the vegitations. Pop down to the beach.

By comparing the many hotels, prices and various amenties, this is absolutely something to consider when visiting Nice.
Well worth it - Will come back another time.

Hot tip! if you should visit the old town (your gonna do it eventually), you will encounter a market with differents stalls, do some great shopping therre. Anyways there are a lot of restaurants with bouncers offering free champagne or beer for you to choose their spot. However these have, based on own experience, poor food and service. Go further down the street and listen to the conversations of people. Go at the end, when you hear mostly french speaking restaurant guest.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 30 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Windsor Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.