We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Windsor Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Windsor Nice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in this great boutique hotel. Room was clean, bright and funky in design. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous.

Pool was a bit chilly - sea was warmer! Great just to lounge and recharge out in the garden before heading out again in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    333
    88
    24
    16
See reviews for
69
370
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is located in city centre, and in walking distance to most attractions. Promenade des Ingles is 4 mins away. Was upgraded for free, to a bigger room (no. 362). Corner room towards the street. Good service. The room had an entre with safe and mini-bar incl. closet. bedroom with connection to bathroom. French balcony. The hotel and rooms have art and design inspired features, really a treat. The rooms are old, but well taken care of and have air-condition. Small Tv and should have had more english speaking channels. Funky bath (red tiles).

The only negative part is that you may experience some noise from the other rooms. I guess The next door room had the bathroom wall in wall with my room, I heard the shower and some people talking.

A small retreat and gym area on the loft. The garden outside is an oasis with a lot of different vegitations. Breakfast and dinner is served here when the weather allows it. The swimming pool is small and there was a lot of dust and grains from the trees in it. If your looking to sun bah here, you wont get much sun cause of all the vegitations. Pop down to the beach.

By comparing the many hotels, prices and various amenties, this is absolutely something to consider when visiting Nice.
Well worth it - Will come back another time.

Hot tip! if you should visit the old town (your gonna do it eventually), you will encounter a market with differents stalls, do some great shopping therre. Anyways there are a lot of restaurants with bouncers offering free champagne or beer for you to choose their spot. However these have, based on own experience, poor food and service. Go further down the street and listen to the conversations of people. Go at the end, when you hear mostly french speaking restaurant guest.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful for the price point. The elevator plays an audio track of a shuttle launch (i.e. 5, 4, 3, 2, 1...lift off!) while in operation. Each room is designed by a real artist. We were lucky to have the room by Ben. This room was spacious and comfortable. While there were scribbles of French poetry on every inch of the room about dreams, it added charm to our stay. The staff was very helpful and the location is not too far from the beach and the Promenade de Anglais. Would stay here again for next stay. Thanks for hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

During the weekend of both the Cannes Film Festival and the Monaco Grand Prix, I wanted to come to Nice but I did not want to spend the 1200 Euro that other hotels were charging. I looked for hours and hours to find a hotel that is near the beach, good rooms, interesting property, well located, for less than 200 Euro / night. This place was the only one that ticked all the boxes.

It's not cheap but honestly it's the best combination of all the above factors that I found while maintaining a good price. It's a short walk to the Promenade des Anglais and a nice stroll via the Rue de France to the Place Messina / Cours Saleya.

I was worried my room would be functionless-and overly-artistic. But I loved the room - the "art" was actually a cool installation that involved a photo shoot for a coffee advertisement in 1994: there's a collage of pictures taken the day of the shoot featuring the model, photographer, and stylists; then there's a big poster of the final print of the advertisement (the model holding a cup of "Geriko coffee"; and then in a little mirrored curio were all the props the model used during that photo shoot (the coffee cup, a coffee can, the CD they played, and the feather boa she wore). It was cool - not the least bit intrusive into the comfort of the room and not as overly-feminine as you would think. Furthermore, all the cabinetry and furniture was original to the building and looked quite old yet very well kept - very interesting.

Worth noting the bedding was excellent - white and constantly washed as opposed to the old disgusting bedspreads you see at other hotels. Finally, there were several English channels on the TV including the UK Channel 4. I don't know why but for some reason I want to watch TV at night, and this hotel had other English channels besides CNN and CNBC (who even wants to watch news while on vacation in Nice??).

The staff were really good. They arranged everything I wanted (car rental, beach club, etc.) They did not scoff at me for butchering the language every time I attempted to speak French.

I ate the breakfasts every day and they were good and the garden was great. Coffee, croissants, toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, and yogurt. I ate dinner there once and it was OK but it over-reached its grasp a bit.

During the stay some people in the next room were smoking and the smoke traveled - can't fault the hotel but that's pretty gross.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parainen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

+
Windsor is nice and comfy, and there is loads of funny details in the interior design. Art plays a big role in the hotel decoration.
The room was spacey and there was a jacuzzi, which was a nice surprice (I think we had been upgraded) The room was on the 4th floor, and there was no noise from outside. Facing the beautiful garden, the view was very nice.
The cafe au lait in the breakfast was very good, and everything was fresh and rather good quality, despite of the fact there was not too much of variety on the breakfast. The fruit salad was half canned, half fresh.
The location was good, not right innthe heart of the action, but not many minutes by walk away from it.

-
In a four star hotel they should change the use of the dusty blankets to duvet cases. It is disgusting to try to avoid the contact of the smelly all-worn-out brown blanket all night. I am fully aware of that they stilltend to use plain sheets with the blanket in the Mediterranean hotels, but I still think that 4 stars should give more than that.
One of the male reseptionist was quite rude making fun of my inquiry about getting to a certain restaurant in the old town. Not having been there yet. and not really knowing how narrow and tiny and mazy the streets really are, I asked wheather I could walk there, he said that I coudn't swim either.... Ha ha, how funny...
There was some noise from the other rooms. It did not bother me too much, but a friend staying in an other room said it was bothering.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the garden. There is also rooms with balcony, and I guess on the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your most positive comments on our hotel. Concerning blankets, we have some rooms with blankets and some with duvets as some customers are still willing blankets. It is quite difficult to satisfy everybody. Nevertheless, if it is important for you, you can ask at the booking. We will do our best to give you satisfaction.
Please,next time you come, don't hesitate to ask.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in late May. On first impressions we liked:

* the staff - very friendly and efficient;
* the location - not to far from the beach, the shops, the Gare, anywhere;
* the decor - very artistic but also functional and comfortable; and
* the oasis - the tropical garden is a bonus in downtown Nice with little green space and a wonderful location for breakfast.

However what we didn't like was all the cigarette smoke.

We could not enjoy breakfast in the garden as someone at nearly every table was smoking and there was nowhere to escape them. (We had breakfast inside the second day.) After breakfast we returned to our room on the third floor and corridor smelt of smoke. And later in the day the entire reception area smelt of cigarette smoke.

The level of smoking might be acceptable by some but for us it is not and made it so we could not enjoy our stay as much as we would have liked. The Hotel Windsor is a lovely 4 star hotel with a price tag to match therefore it was a great disappointment to have our stay ruined by the smokers. 

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for pointing a lot of good points about our hotel.
I'm really sorry that you were bothered by the smoke. I think you were not lucky at all as our hotel is entirely no smoking. The garden is the only place where guests are allowed to smoke. Nevertheless, we don't have more smoking customers than everywhere else... The garden is quite spacious for the city center and it is the first time customers are anoyed by smoke.
May be it was windy and that spread out the smoke...

I am very sorry for this inconvenience and hope you will come again anyway.

Best regards,

Odile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just back after my fifth stay at this wonderful Hotel in Nice. Had a lovely room on the second floor which was bright and spacious. Buffet breakfast each morning was great, with plenty of choices of breads, hot food, cold meats, juices and cereals. The hotel is ideally situated, close to the Promenade, close to the shopping street and close to the SNCF station. The hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful. The lift in the hotel is very quirky! The garden and pool area are a bonus, and it was lovely to be able to sit out on the terrace in the mornings to have breakfast and enjoy the sunshine. I will definitely be paying another visit to this Hotel in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: A room facing out over the garden is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 30 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Windsor Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.