We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Plage

Neptune Plage
Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
+33 (0) 493871660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #557 of 1,503 Restaurants in Nice
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Reasonable for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a light lunch with drinks. This restaurant had the best range of cheaper light meals on the main area of the beach between the old city up to the Negresco. This restaurant is on the beach in front of the Negresco. As the restaurant served lighter options and also wine was available by the pichet then you could have food and wine for 2 for approx €40, good value for the location. We would go again when next in Nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    46
    11
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had lunch at Neptune beach during our short stay at Le Negresco hotel. It is the " hotel's beach " as it is directly across the road. Forty Euros per day for two sun beds, parasol and small towels. Not too bad and the facilities were fine. The restaurant however was another matter entirely. We sat down for lunch at 1245pm and the place was only one third full. It took 15 minutes to order even a drink. We ordered two salads at shortly after 1pm and they eventually turned up after a 55 minute wait. My Cesar salad was pretty awful and I left half of it. My wife's Nicoise was just about ok. We couldn't be bothered to order dessert or coffee - we would probably still be there now. How they cope in high season is a mystery. They have a captive market and clearly don't give a damn!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,Berks, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“You pay for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

So - one of the things to do in Nice is to eat/drink in one of the private restaurants that are below the promenade and on the beach.

Many seem to offer full meals at inflated prices, whereas the Neptune has more "snacky" items on the menu that might be ideal for mid-day top-ups (eg Crogue Monsiour, Bagettes etc) - still not cheap!

It wasn't busy when we were there (weather wasn't great in May) and we enjoyed a leisurely snack and beer followed by a coffee, watching the planes land at the airport, without being hassled - might be different in the peak season!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our favourite beach restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have returned to this restaurant several times in the last few years and we always have a really lovely time. Obviously it's not the cheapest of places, but what can you expect for the beach in Nice. The last time we went was the first Sunday in April and it started with lovely blue skies, so it was a pleasure to watch the water sparkle whilst we enjoyed a cheeky glass of kir. We shared a plate of sardines to start, which were just fabulous. And then both had the spaghetti con vongole which was beautiful. The local rose flowed well.... Then the skies darkened and it started raining, but the lovely staff soon placed umbrellas everywhere to stop the guests getting wet. Despite being full and the weather having turned, we were having such a nice time that my husband ordered a banana split which was ridiculously large but he had no problem in finishing it.....After a complimentary limoncello, we staggered out of the restaurant replete, content and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After a long walk from one end of Promenade des Anglais to the other and back my partner and I were glad to find that this restaurant was open in the first Sunday in March. The day was glorious - crystal clear blue sky and a flat sea - so we decided to splash out. We ordered salads with the thought of having a dessert but the salads were so big that we didn't need anything else. Given the location we had expected higher prices, but even the pichot of wine was good value. Service was very relaxed, and it was obvious which tables were occpied by regulars, but that didn't detract from the occasion.

What could be better than having lunch on a beach on the cote d'azur in the first week of March when the British winter has been so wet and cold?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune Plage also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Neptune Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.