We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ma yucca ~Restaurant Franco-Japonais~

Ma yucca ~Restaurant Franco-Japonais~
26 Rue de la Buffa 06000 Nice, 06000 Nice, France
0493883984
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 1,430 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $52
Cuisines: French, Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went here based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and the fact that our flat was a few feet away; we were not disappointed. We made sure to get there as soon as the doors opened and it was good that we did because they did end up turning people away soon after. The service was good and very attentive and our server spoke English. The food was amazing. My partner got the duck and I got the sesame chicken with sweet potatoes- absolutely delicious. This was 10x better than the tourist trap restaurants in the centre of town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    73
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Something different in Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a super meal here, have tried to get in before but always booked! It's a small restaurant with only about 8 tables so you get a very personal service. The food was interesting and made a great change from the usual Nice menu, quality was excellent and I even got to demonstrate my chop stick skills!
Had a Japanese beer to start and then an excellent bottle of Chablis, the inclusive menu was great value and the teriyaki duck to die for!
Many thanks :-)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE FUSION LUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's the sort of place you can easily pass by - we did unknowingly for 3 years! Now we've found it, it's a firm lunchtime favourite. Fantastic value for two courses and the Japanese beer is superbly cold. The salad has an interesting mix of sesame oil; the salmon was delicious; as was the pork belly and the chicken.... we're regular customers there now and it's not expensive. Small place so advisable to book.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kisjulya
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect little place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate here twice in 5 days. Very nice place...wonderful food, perfect service. I loved the chopsticks so I bough 2 sets. Hope this restaurant does not get spoiled by all the good reviews.We will come back every time we are in Nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ma yucca has restored my faith in eating out in Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just spent a perfect evening at this tiny restaurant. What a gem. Fusion cooking done brilliantly. In simple, charming surroundings. Would highly recommend Ma yucca for any occasion. Definitely book in advance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma yucca ~Restaurant Franco-Japonais~ also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Ma yucca ~Restaurant Franco-Japonais~? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma yucca ~Restaurant Franco-Japonais~, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.