We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Josephine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Josephine
Save
You added Chez Josephine to your Saves list
36 Boulevard Raimbaldi, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Chez Josephine is a great choice for a Nice stopover. It's very close to the railway station (an easy walk with bags) and not too far from the old city and beach promenade. You can walk or jump on the tram in the next street to get there. The apartment itself has character - as has the host Josephine and her wee dog! My room was lovely, large, had french doors onto a mini-balcony, and even had a jug for boiling water for coffee, which was much appreciated. If I go back to Nice, I'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    39
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
84
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our room was delightfully furnished and quite spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable and the towels and linen were excellent. The room was very clean. The breakfast was very good with delicious freshly baked croissants. Our host was suffering from a severe neck injury and this may have been the reason for some of the abruptness we received at times. We were a little apprehensive about using a shared bathroom but it was not a problem. What did surprise us was being asked to clean the tiles and glass shower screen after each use to prevent mould. The night noise was blocked out by shutting the French doors but that did make the room a little stuffy on one occasion. We looked for the airconditioner control but it was not in the room. When I asked for it, it was begrudgingly provided with the comment, "Noone has wanted that for months." Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay in Nice and appreciated some useful sightseeing tips, the good location of the B&B and its easy access to the TGV station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jomackenzie, Owner at Chez Josephine, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
While I am happy to hear you were comfortable & could find no fault with the level of cleanliness & the breakfast served, I cannot help but think it is unreasonable to expect to have air conditioning in late September in a B&B, particularly in a large airy room with huge windows.
It is quite normal to clean a shower after you have used it; it is a common courtesy when you are sharing that space. There is a scraper provided so it is a quick, easy swipe down.
Maybe you are unaware of the difference between a B&B & a hotel. In a B&B you are normally a guest in a someone's home, not a client in an anonymous hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a great time in Nice!! Josephine is a very nice host full of energy ;) She was very helpful giving us a lot of great advices. The place is very nice and is perfectly located. The room was spacious and very clean. You can walk anywhere or take the tram. The B&B is walking distance from the train station, and is centrally located close to everything. Breakfast was also delicious. I must tell you that this trip was our first experience with B&Bs and we loved all of them. Thank you Josephine for everything, say hi to Rocco ;) By the way, the cheeses made it home ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's very convenient to stay in this place. Just less than 5 minutes to walk from the train station and less 3 minutes from the tram stop. Actually it's just next to the rail road. Josephine provided all necessary information to ensure we can arrive easily and quickly. Breakfast is awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Chez Josephine for two nights, and found it the perfect start to our French holiday. It was extremely easy to find, less than 10 minutes walk from the train station, and in an ideal location to either walk (20 mins) or catch a tram (5 mins) to the centre of Nice.

The apartment itself was on the first floor, and immediately felt very homely. We arrived earlier than arranged but Josephine was extremely welcoming and helpful, directing us to the Old Town and a couple of her favourite restaurants. We stayed in the Blue Room, which was the smallest of the three but perfect for a short stay - clean and comfortable. There was a shared bathroom which was not a problem at all - with only three rooms we never had to wait for a shower or the bathroom.

Each morning we had Josephine's delicious homemade croissants for breakfast, as well as a great coffee and selection of jams and breads. Josephine was a great host - we had some nice chats and she was able to answer any queries we had, but at the same time was not over bearing which we found to be a perfect balance.

The apartment is not right in the city centre, but with a tram stop at the end of the road this shouldn't deter anyone from staying at Chez Josephine. The tram itself was really regular and very easy to figure out, even if French is not your forte! In terms of Nice itself, the narrow streets in the Old Town were the highlight, with lots of little cafes and shops to stumble across. We had some great cheese and charcuterie boards, and quickly discovered that wine is the way forward after a rather expensive bill for two glasses of beer!

Overall, we would thoroughly recommend Chez Josephine. It is especially suited for couples looking for a short city break - magnifique!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A spacious (by any standards), clean room, with a comfortable bed complemented with views of the quaint buildings of Nice, and all near the station- a bonus all round.
As a solo traveller I was met by a warm person who not only made you feel at home by introducing you to fellow guests (yet unobtrusively) but was a wealth of information in the best sites and eating places to visit- based on personal experience. Josephine's knowledge of 'good' wines and restaurants, which served a variety of delicious foods, was impeccable. There was many a night we, as in the guests AND Josephine, returned from a sated evening out.
Josephine's offsider, Rocco, the Wonder Dog, was a delight, also unobtrusive in his presence.
As other guests and Josephine will mention, traffic noise may be an issue; however ear plugs are on offer. Although I'm a light sleeper the comfortable bed and pillows enabled for a good night's rest.
Thank you Josephine for contributing to a memorable experience of Nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at this B and B in Nice. The place was extremely clean and the room was fantastic. We loved the French doors, especially opening them up in the morning! We could not fault the breakfast either. Location is good with just a short walk to old town and the beach. Josephine gave us tips which really helped us get the most out of our stay. Outside the room can noisy but Josephine tells you this and with ear plugs its fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Josephine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Josephine

Address: 36 Boulevard Raimbaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chez Josephine is a charming B&B in central Nice located in a typical Niçoise apartment on the 1st floor. It is a 5 min. walk from the train station, 10 min. walk to the new Promenade du Paillion,15 min. walk to the beach & the Promenade des Anglais, the beach & the Old Town. There are three double rooms available, two with balconies, one with huge windows. The rooms all have traditional oak floors and high ceilings and each room has a large comfortable double bed & AC/heating. All rooms have a kettle, with coffee, tea & sugar provided. The bathroom & separate toilet are shared.Freshly prepared continental breakfast is included in the price. Owner is much-travelled, English first language. There is a small friendly dog on the premises. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Josephine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.