We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Westminster to your Saves list
Hotel Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27, Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #43 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location, recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel Westminster is situated on the promenade des Anglais in Nice. The airport bus stops a few meters away, as do the buses for Anibes, Cannes etc

The rooms are small but luxurious, and the marbled bathrooms the same size as the room!. The beds are super comfy and a good nights sleep is guaranteed!

One can swim across the road from the hotel, but the beach is pebbly and a bit uncomfortable. Beds to hire are available but pricey.

Breakfast can be taken on the patio in summer overlooking the promenade- priceless. The buffet has a wide variety of hot and cold foods.

The staff are very friendly, speak English ( very rare in France) and can assist with tours and info.

Enjoyed our 6 day stay and would recommend to anyone,

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the town , look over roofs of buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    253
    104
    30
    28
See reviews for
103
304
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at Westminister Hotel in Nice, which is facing the beach. Lovely place to relax. very good location. But they did not have proper in-house restaurant for lunch or dinner hence sometimes it was difficult to go out even though there were few joints closer to the restaurant. Some of the staff were very good but some staff at the reception were rude and not helpful particularly the Front Office Manager. He was very rude and was not helpful at all. I felt there was a lot of discrimination. Staff at the restaurant where the breakfast was served were very courteous and always smiling. Overall it was a good hotel.

Room Tip: rooms facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

After a makeover three years ago the Westminster now holds a decent standard for its four stars. Perfectly located on the Promenade des Anglais it is a good choice for city holydays or extended weekends. We enjoyed a light and spacious sea view room with balcony and a luxurious bathroom. Unfortunately the makeover didn´t do much for the sound insulation, even if the air conditioner did it´s best to block the traffic noise. Wi fi only works properly on ground floor. Friendly, efficient and discreet service made us forgive the minor flaws.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. You don´t want to stay on the Promenade looking at a back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Let me start by saying this Hotel is in the perfect location...clean and the staff was great..
i would go with a upgraded room only becuase the rooms are European (small) i had the room with a balcony...well worth it...walk out the door and so much to see and do...everything is so close by and take the Bus from the airport to the Hotel very cheap and the bus drops you off across the street from the hotel in less than 15 min.....taxi will be more than double the price.
you won't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: get a room with the baclony it'll over look the beach...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We enjoyed the lovely location and the hands on service of the manager ALF>
The hotel has lovely antiques and old world elegance. The patio bar and
breakfast patio is very pleasant and great people watching. It is across
the street from the beach.

Room Tip: try to get a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We checked in and when asked if our room would possibly be ready any earlier than the posted check in time the response was an emphatic "No" with not so much as saying perhaps they would try. I guess we were off on the wrong foot from the start. The room was average with bare minimum soaps shampoo etc. I used a shower cap one morning so not to ruin my hair and threw it out when done (shower caps are disposable!) and they never replaced for the rest of our stay. Hot water did not work in the evenings when getting ready to go out for the night the response from the front desk "too many guests showering under the same water column and we would have hot water by the morning. This is unacceptable in a large hotel. It is not like we were staying at a campsite. The front desk was not at all helpful in knowing where anything was in the area. Each time I asked the response was "I can not be sure" I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere on the promenade. The views are great and both the west end and le royal hotels both looked very nice and were less expensive than Westminster. Again, the view was great however all the hotels on the promenade have a water view.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel Westminster is a warm inviting hotel conveniently located for everything in Nice, except bus #15 up to the Matisse Muesum. It was a long walk to that particular bus but only 10 minutes to the train station. The staff was helpful; they gave me an upgrade to a beautifully appointed room overlooking the water; and my hairdryer was fixed within 10 minutes of asking them. The maid service was good and the breakfasts on the patio overlooking the water were great. Mostly I was impressed with the staff who surprisingly to me were much more helpful and patient than any of the other hotels I stayed at in Provence. They really seemed to appreciate foreign tourists.
The restaurant was good, but not outstanding.

Room Tip: If you want a room overlooking the water expect some noise from the motorcycle traffic along the Pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Address: 27, Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel, the Hotel Westminster is situated on center of the Promenade des Anglais in Nice, on the seafront , just a few steps from the city center, luxury shopping area and the historic streets of the old town of Nice.At this prestigious address and behind the pink facade , the Hotel with this unique character and charm retains large Exhibition rooms Belle Epoque style , with 7 meters high ceilings state, a monumental Stairwell , and a large hall with baroque frescoes . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.