We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Westminster to your Saves list
Hotel Westminster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27, Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

a perfect place to stay, to visit Nice and the coast. We spent a week here at the hotel, on the occasion of a birthday in the family. The hotel was a perfect choice. The rooms a big and quiet. I had a balcony on the room side and on the bath side with a small table an chairs - very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    267
    113
    34
    31
See reviews for
107
323
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederikssund, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The service was excellent, the room was nice with balcony and magnificent view to the sea - but especially the dinner in the restaurant was an exquisite experience - food was at a high standard in addition the staff was extremely positive, with high attention and innovative suggestions regarding the wine - and the price for the stay inclusive the dinner is very attractive.

Next time my wife and I are in Nice will definitely stay at Westminster

Room Tip: Select a room with view to the ocean and at top level to avoid the noice from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stunning views of the Promenade from the Westminster room balcony. The room was upscale, comfortable and functional. The staff was superbly attentive and friendly. Train station is convenient by foot (15 min) or taxi (5 min) and the hotel is very close to shopping and restaurants and of course the beach and Promenade. Bicycle rentals across the street. AIRPORT EXPRESS BUS (4 Euro) is 100 feet from the front door. Our bathroom was tub only (now shower). We slept with the balcony doors open because it was an unseasonable warm night and the hotel has switched over to heating only climate control.

Room Tip: The Sea View/Promenade View rooms are not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just stayed at this Hotel in Nice and I rate it as excellent!My room was huge with a lovely bathroom,albeit with a City view!The buffet breakfast was copious with juices,cereals,eggs,bacon,mushrooms,mini sausages,bacon,fried bread etc etc.
Lovely cooked meats ,cheeses and French breads.Croissants and pastries.The restaurant was closed during my stay,which was a shame,but I found several lovely restaurants nearby.The Hotel bar was lovely and the wines were superb! This Hotel must rate as the best Hotel I have stayd in!
I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location of this hotel is great but our experience could easily have been much better if the service had shaped up a bit.

On arrival, there was some sort of bookings mix up which was not quite explained away properly by Reception. We had email correspondence that said 3 people were coming and what the ages of those people were so we were a bit surprised to be checked in and sent off to a room with one - admittedly very large - bed. The porter seemed quite clear that we'd just been allocated the wrong room by Reception, but Reception argued some technicality of such subtleness as could not be readily appreciated. After brief remonstration and my partner - a French speaker - sticking to his guns, we were allocated a Junior Suite.

The beds were very comfortable and the sea view is lovely. The half up metal shutters are pretty dangerous and staff should make sure they are fully up. TV facilities were good - although CBBC would be nice as well as CBeebies. It wasn't raining much so that was ok this time around.

Breakfast was good on Continental stuff and ought to stick to that and skip the somehow not quite right bacon and eggs. Pastries were great. On our second day all the chunky tumblers for juice had run out and when replacements appeared they were wine glasses. My son is ok with a wine glass but they are not so very easy to manipulate, so I asked for juice glasses. The waitress gain sayed me by saying the glasses were juice and not wine glasses. It was not worth arguing that the same glasses were wine glasses the prev evening in the restaurant so he used a mug.

In the mini bar in our room there was a note instructing us not to use the fridge for food. Unusual, I see there point but it does sum up something about the bossiness of the service approach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A thirties Riviera Grand Hotel; quirky, rambling & slightly peeling - but nevertheless delightful.
Our two junior suites were very comfortable and overlooked the Mediterranean.
The Air Conditioning, shower & lights worked!
The food & service in the restaurant was excellent. An excellent evening meal & a breakfast that was a change from the usual continetal fare
Overall the service was adequate, although I detected a slight off-handedness from some bar & reception staff.
Altogether a good experience, though the Westminster is in need of some TLC

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed in September for four nights. This was our second time at this hotel and although we have tried others this is in the best location for both beach and shops
The hotel does need updating and the carpets certainly need replacing. The choice at breakfast of either hot or cold food is very good. The hotel has a private beach opposite which we used once at a cost of Euros 22 each. I went to change my towel after swimming and they wanted to charge me Euros 5. We had a reasonable room on the fifth floor looking out over the back. The sea view rooms we thought good but expensive. Walked each evening to the old town where there were outside cafes with reasonably priced food and wine. Would stop here again

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Address: 27, Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel, the Hotel Westminster is situated on center of the Promenade des Anglais in Nice, on the seafront , just a few steps from the city center, luxury shopping area and the historic streets of the old town of Nice.At this prestigious address and behind the pink facade , the Hotel with this unique character and charm retains large Exhibition rooms Belle Epoque style , with 7 meters high ceilings state, a monumental Stairwell , and a large hall with baroque frescoes . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AvailPro, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.