We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel-for luxury on a budget!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Comte de Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Comte de Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Comte de Nice
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Rue de Dijon, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Oshawa ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Hotel-for luxury on a budget!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

This low cost hotel is officially rated a 2 star but deserves a 3 star rating. Very comfortable, clean rooms in a great location with a very good breakfast. Historic Nice and the Promenade are a short tram ride away. The train is situated with in walking distance north of the train station on a quiet residential street which hosts a fruit and vegetable market during the day. This is a luxurious choice for those on a budget! Front desk gave us 2 room keys, let us pick which room we wanted after viewing! Nice touch!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    218
    120
    39
    24
See reviews for
79
203
79
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

You get very good value for the price that you pay. Decent size rooms and good service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Went to Nice to do the Ironman in June and found the location of this hotel perfect for this event. Also great for the rest of our stay due to proximity to tram stop. Easy to get to beach and the old town. Staff were very helpful and put on an early breakfast the day of the event as there were a few competitors staying at the hotel. The room we stayed in was very nice, clean and basic, what you would expect for the money. Breakfast buffet was great. The only downside was that there was no air-con and the room got very hot. There was a fan which helped a bit. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would use his hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cold up north
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

A nice little hotel just a trams ride from the crowds. The rooms are clean and not as small as some would have you believe. A few small gripes would be the lack of a kettle with none available to hire as some European hotels do and our room had no air conditioning, apart from a small plug-in blower which we had to run all night. The only two english speaking channels on T.V. were Eurosport and C.N.N news. On the plus side, the reception is manned 24hrs with friendly and helpful staff who speak better english than most english people I know. Ask them for advice on the best that Nice has to offer for great insider infomation. The tram stop "Liberation" is a few seconds walk and the main train station less than ten minutes. At eight o'clock at night the local homeless gather in the car park next to the hotel and wait for the soup kitchen to arrive but don't let this bother you as they are blind or un-concerned to anything else around them. At breakfast you have a choice of cereal, fresh fruit, bread, and ham and cheese.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kastoria Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed one night
The cleanliness is very good but I can't add anything else on positives!
They gave us a loft in which people over 1,85 should crouch, we asked for another and thankfully I tried to sit in toilet before check in... knees and jaws touched the wall!
Regarding reception, the night shift was a gentleman who not only did not understand a word in English but he did not gave a s*** about it.
The other morning the good looking lady tried in very unprofessional way and attitude to explain that it was our fault that the rooms was actually boxes!
Very close to hotel we found an open grocery market with many cafes around to enjoy breakfast
Must see the room before checking in

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The staff at this hotel are friendly and accommodating. We loved the location - some lovely restaurants close by. The rooms are standard European size - not large but adequate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had been camping and then had a nasty hotel near Nimes, so this was a breath of fresh air. The staff were REALLY freindly and helpful. We got a choice of two rooms!! and then were within walking distance to explore the city. We didn't take breakfast as there's a boulangerie around the corner with delicious croissant/pain but it smelt good.

The room - basic but clean: really comfy bed, fan, tv, small shower/toilet ensuite, clean towels and soap/shower gel, wardrobe with hangers! (Rm402)

It's not overly cheap but in a city as expensive as Nice it's definately value for money, and you get a 10% voucher when you leave for your next stay.

We will definately be going again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Comte de Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comte de Nice

Address: 29 Rue de Dijon, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Comte de Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Comte de Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Comte de Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.