We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location so close to the train station, tram stop, shopping & restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Berne - Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Berne - Nice to your Saves list
Hotel de Berne - Nice
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Avenue Thiers, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location so close to the train station, tram stop, shopping & restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

From the train station, we could see the hotel signboard. As we were only in Nice for a night, the smaller room with orange colored wall & ceiling is tolerable. Many restaurant including halal one nearby. This hotel is good if you intent to use it as a base to go to Monaco & Cannes. You can take the tram to go to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    43
    11
    14
See reviews for
8
27
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Bugs on the stairs, broken lights in room, shower has no light, toilet right against the wall making it extremely uncomfortable to use, showers way to small even for the average person, balcony is wobbly with a loose floor very unsafe to stand on, roadworks right on the door step, make it not a great place to stay. The only positive is it's location, quite close to major shopping and attractions. Wouldn't stay here again. Waste of a great location in such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel de Berne is literally 100 metres from the train station in Nice. It is ideally located for those with heavy luggage. The hotel is a 'budget' hotel and I think doesn't really pretend to be anything other than that. The Receptionist was very pleasant and cheerful. The room was basic but clean. The wifi worked well. The bathroom was ok but would have been better if the shower had of been attached to the wall and the toilet seat not hanging on by a thread. The room was exceptionally quite for being on a main street (the room I had was double glazed). There was tv in the room and it was a treat to be able to get the BBC World News. Besides being located very close to the train station the hotel was ideally located to walk to all parts of Nice and if walking was not an option a tram was near by. I must say though that like in a lot of countries the area around the railway station is a bit seedy and I didn't feel all that safe being on my own so did not venture out at night.

Also the bus to the airport is 50 metres on the other side of the railway station which is pretty handy if you are flying out of Nice. The bus number is 99 and the cost is 6 Euros.

For a one night stay and for convenience I would stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel does have a lift which is a bonus if you have heavy luggage. I would always ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went here during our top deck tour and it was that bad that my husband and I spent all night looking for another hotel which thank god we did! The rooms were disgusting, one couple in our tour had used tampons still in their bin! One couple had a half eaten sandwich in their room and the shower curtains had mould all over them! By far a disgrace!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

San Francisco
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very bad area, breakfast is a joke...not eatable. The wifi never works. The reception does not care.the bathrooms smell like sewers it is across from the train station...you may think this is an advantage but very noisy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here on a Topdeck trip. The place was pretty nice, we had quite a big room and good bathroom, and a small balcony. I wasn't too keen on the location, it didn't feel that safe, although it was fairly central. The wifi didn't work. It wasn't terrible but I would prefer to stay somewhere else if I came here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and did not face any trouble. Rooms are a little bit small but its location is perfect. The train station is next to the hotel and tram station is also so close. Wifi is free but I don't recommend you to buy breakfast because it is about €7 but you can buy croissants from Monoprix (down the street) for just €2. Overall if you want a hotel just for sleeping and do not want to pay millions, there is right place. P.S. you can travel to Cannes, Monte Carlo, St. Tropez, San Remo and so on by train easily from the train station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Berne - Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Berne - Nice

Address: 1 Avenue Thiers, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Berne - Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Berne - Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Berne Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Berne - Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.