We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices, nice rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Nice Victor Hugo

Save Saved
You added La Villa Nice Victor Hugo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 bis Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France (Thiers / Train Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 212 hotels in Nice
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great prices, nice rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a really great stay at Hotel Nouvel. We stayed in a twin room and compared to the hostel we stayed at the nights before, Hotel Nouvel was real luxury! Air condition, nice location, cheap.... we were completely satisfied! But the woman behind the reception when we wanted to check in was really rude and harshly, the other staff was really nice, especially the guy who was sitting behind the reception during the evenings/ nights ;-)
All in all I can really recommend Hotel Nouvel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    89
    50
    30
    24
See reviews for
18
86
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel may be basic, but it offers a good location for exploring Nice. They have airconditioning, which is a plus in the summer.

I have to say that the price of their breakfast is a bit steep at 8 euro's for a basic continental breakfast which consists of a roll/croissant, machine coffee and fruit juice, plain yoghurt and a selection of jams, and laughing cow processed cheese.

The staff however are friendly and helpful which is sometimes lacking in larger establishments.

Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We staied 6 nights in in mid August. The standard is not meeting 2 stars requirements I beleive.

The internet connection was very very bad and only working in the first floor (not in the rooms) this never been mensioned when we booked. Overpriced and very small rooms with tiny bathrooms ( you have to squeeze yourself in the shower cabin) Very bad and week doors and poor furniture quality, Broken lamps and hanging TV cables ....etc. The (Continental breakfast) was realy lousy. You get instant coffee from a machin as well juce, some butter , Kiri (pakced cheas) and a bread and the worst thing you can disclude this option!!
The good things are:The AC was working and the bed was OK. They changed the sheets and towls every day. The location of this hotel is good and near everything ( 5-10 minutes walk to the beach and to downtwaon Nice.

But again, this is not the best hotel for that price ( €90/night for a dubble room) even considering Nice in high tourest season. Definitely not for more than a couple of days.

Some of the staff were quite friendly (night shifts). Others need brushing thier skills how to be more frinedly (day shifts)

We certainly come back to Nice but definitly not to this hotel. There are too many other choices for less money

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Good quality/price, the breakfast a little bit poor. location near city center, room and towels were clean (thanks for housemaid in this hotel).Hotel`s public areas and especially rooms are very old, with old furnuture, dirty floor and walls, old TV, old and weak lock on the door. So why they lie about renovation? It is ok only for short stay in Nice, never go there for long holidays. No refrigerator in the room. Wi-Fi works only in lobby, I used neithbours free wi-fi because couldnt to catch hotel`s WIFI in my room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this for a romantic weekend with the aim of spoiling my lover, but it's a handy location, and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We used this hotel as a base before we checked into our villa. It's reasonably priced and fairly central. It's a short walk to the Promenade des Anglais. The hotel was clean but the room we stayed in was small which is fairly common for this type of hotel. Our room overlooked a large church and had a small balcony. In the morning we did a very silly tourist-type thing and went to the Holiday Inn across the road for breakfast - fortunately we inspected the menu first - the prices were ridiculous!!!
With the money you save on this hotel you can take lunch at the Negresco which had brought its prices down (for September anyway). The hotel is a very short drive to the airport too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was recommended by Easyjet. Why, I don't know!. Not so much what was wrong with it, as what was right with it!. Firstly, parking...no carpark although no one had mentioned this to me. We had to park the car down the road at a public car park and pay 2 euros per hour. The carpark does offer reduced parking at night with a further reduction for hotel residents but again, no one had told us and we only realised after 2 days. As far as the room was concerned, the carpets were stained and dirty, and there was a stain on the wall behind the fridge. One of the fridge legs was missing and when the fridge door was opened, the fridge fell forward. There was a hole in the base of the bath and whilst it had been filled with something and therefore waterproof, it was unsightly. We had a little balcony,but the tiled floor was badly damaged and we were a bit worried about safety. The breakfast was meagre, no fruit or cereal, and you have to take your own milk if you want tea. We stayed 4 nights and paid £637, inclusive of car and flights. so I did not think it was particularly cheap... about £70 per night.

Room Tip: apparently the 6th floor has been renovated, although I did not see it myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Villa Nice Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Nice Victor Hugo

Address: 19 bis Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Nice Victor Hugo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Villa Nice Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Nice Victor Hugo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.