We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Boreal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boreal to your Saves list
Hotel Boreal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #50 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Boreal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived at this hotel late afternoon only to be told that the room was not ready and we were directed to Hotel Florence a few doors up the street where we stayed for one night , On return to Hotel Boreal we were shown to a tiny room with a small cramped bathroom, However the room was clean and overlooked the main street. Sleep was disturbed by noise and vehicles cleaning the street in the middle of the night, Breakfast was adequate and requests had to be made to staff to replenish the empty dishes. The staff seemed to be running reception clearing dishes and wiping tables in a fairly chaotic manner, On reflection we would not choose to stay in this hotel again even though the location was fairly central,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    212
    96
    22
    5
See reviews for
51
188
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I booked 3 nights stay at Hotel Boreal. Upon checking in, we were advised that the hotel was under some renovations and we had to be moved to Grand Hotel Le Florence. This wasn't ideal but was just a minor inconvenience as the other hotel was just next door.

The following day we came back at 10:30am and had to wait around 10 minutes for the keys to our room as housekeeping was still making it up.
I suppose in the rush of making our room the bin in our bathroom wasn't emptied. Other than that the room was clean, bed extremely soft and comfortable. We had room 512 which faced the residential street so was very quiet.
Bathroom had shower gel, soap and body lotion.
There was a small bottle of complimentary wine and chocolates, tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast was basic but substantial. Fruit, breads, coffee, tea, yoghurt, cereals, cold meats and cheese.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Right near the shops. Monoprix (a large supermarket) was less than 5 minutes walk away. The beach was 10-15 minutes away.

We walked to Castle Hill in about 20 minutes.

We took a bus 100 to Monte Carlo for €1 each way. The bus was clean and modern and took the nice coastal route.

Tip: we took bus 99 bus from Nice airport for €4 each way. It reaches the main train station Gare Nice Ville SNCF in around 20 minutes. Once you get off the bus and facing the train station turn right and follow the tram tracks and it will lead to the main shopping strip Avenue Jean Medecin. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk down and a street to the right.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The rooms were a nice size and the full beds were super comfortable, with extra pillows. Everything was clean and the breakfast served was delicious. I loved the location, many shopping stores in the area and there was a nice mall up the street. The sea is within walking distance and there is an interesting flea market a few blocks away. The staff was friendly as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for two nights as part of her birthday trip. The Hotel is situated in an attractive residential street literally just around the corner from the lively John Medecin Boulevard shopping area. The location was perfect for us as it was more or less equal distance from the Russian Cathedral, the station and the Promenade, and a fifteen minute walk from the Old Town.

We were given a family room on the second floor facing out onto a small courtyard enclosed around other buildings - not really a view, but it did mean we never heard any passing traffic. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had been very tastefully modernised. There were lots of small details like plenty of plug sockets and towels, tea and coffee making facility, complimentary wine and mattress toppers that ensured a really comfortable stay. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful.

The buffet breakfast was the standard European selection and was very fresh. It was completely self service and dishes were replenished almost immediately. It wasn't included in the room price but was 10 euros.

I chose this Hotel for it's handy location and because I wanted a "character" hotel for Mum's first trip abroad. The Hotel has been very nicely restored and fully lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This friendly hotel is in a quiet street just off the main street and very close to Nice Etoile a great shopping complex.
However if it the sea you want the Promenade des Anglais and the beach is only a short stroll away and you pass the Cour Saleya which in the morning is a vibrant flower and vegetable market
which in the afternoon transforms itself into the place to eat an d drink.
The seafood is a great bonus and you can feast on oysters!
Back to the hotel and turn inland and another short stroll takes you the station from which their is an admirable service which at a decent price will let you explore the Riviera from the Italian border to Cannes and St.Tropez.

Room Tip: The main hotel has an annexe which is OK but try and get into the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at the hotel, visiting for the Rock and Roll 10 mile run and the carnival
On the positive side the location is fantastic. Situated just of the main shopping street, a short walk to the promenade, 10 minute walk from the station, ideal if visiting for the carnival(which is brilliant) and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. A couple of ok restaurants next door
The Negatives
The rooms were tiny, (we were in 406) could touch the walls when lying in bed, and the wallpaper was a little shabby and marked. Beds were ok but very squeaky and very hard pillows. The heating/air conditioning controlled centrally so did nt matter what was set on the controls in your room The staff were very helpful and brought a fan straight away, which stayed on the whole time and helped cool the room. The bathroom was very small with a huge sink, so only room for one person at a time.
We got a good deal when we booked and the location won us over so stay was ok just don t expect anymore than basic clean accommodation

Room Tip: Room 406 was by the lifts, at the back of the hotel on the top floor facing the back. Quiet tiny r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of February for a city break.

The room was big enough, clean, tidy and had complimentary shower gel, moisturisers, shampoo and a small bottle of red wine.

The hotel is in a brilliant location just a minute away from the main strip of shops, restaurants, tram. There is a good all round shop a couple of doors down for anything from toiletries to alcohol.

The staff in the hotel were always very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was mainly continental with some saveloy type sausages and boiled eggs thrown in, though perfectly edible (eggs were a bit hit and miss with being a little under done).

I would recommend this hotel for a city break because of its overall ambience and proximity to everything.

A tip take the 99 bus from the airport (4 euros each) and it takes you to the Nice Ville station, then you walk to the main shopping strip and the hotel is roughly five minutes from there, same taking it back to the airport. Otherwise a taxi can be approx 27 euros and tariffs vary on days.

Nice Ville station also has the train to Monaco or Cannes costing approx 4 euros each and it a picturesque journey to Monaco. Tip if you stamp your ticket on the little machines going in you can get on and off at the stops along the way.

All in all a great time in Nice. The people are friendly, scenery is lovely, weather is great and would go back again.

It is quite an expensive place though, however, depending on what and where you eat (plenty of McDonalds, Quick Burger and small sandwich cafes) you can eat well.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the otherside of the main road it would be less noisy as it seems to be a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boreal

Address: 9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boreal 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 5 minutes from Promenade des Anglais & Place Massena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Boreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.