We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Nice stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Coeur de City Buffa Nice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Coeur de City Buffa Nice to your Saves list
Residence Coeur de City Buffa Nice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21, rue Meyerbeer, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Citadines Nice Buffa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best Nice stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel during my vacation for the past 6 years and I absolutely love it ! The Staff is very available and accommodating and the location is perfect ! It is very easy to walk at night from Place Massena to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
27
23
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I chose to book a studio apartment there for my wife an our one year old son essentially because of its location, as it is very near our friends' apartment. In my pre-booking short email exchange, I was immediately struck by the professionalism and kindness of their staff. They were extremely attentive to our needs, gave us a very nice room on the third floor (as I specifically asked for a room where the street noise would be at its minimum) and also provided a baby bed at no extra charge. Caroline (the receptionist with whom I was in touch) should be awarded a prize for excellency in customer's relations!
The location is really great (a couple of blocks from the beach and right next to the main shopping street and supermarkets), the kitchen has good appliances and they also have free Wi-Fi! In my never ending search for underappreciated three star hotels, this certainly ranks quite well!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This Citadines is like a lot of them - you get what you pay for. I always get the feeling when staying in Citadines that a bit more investment in search might get me better value. There is limited risk your choice will be terrible but little chance it will be over expectations either. And this was indeed the case in this hotel. Service is friendly but limited. The rooms tight and a bit basic. The sofa bed is close to unsleepable in the lounge and when open dominates the room. Location is ok but could be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stay in this place last week for just 2 nights but there were thief/s slip into our room in the daytime while we all out to Cannes in our 2nd day. While we came back to our room in the evening, we were shocked by what we saw....all clothes in our luggages were pulled out and all of our new purchased shoes, bags, clothes even a laptop, handcarry suitcase were gone!!!!!We called for the police of Nice right away and were drove to a police station to make a record....Since the front desk person was off duty after 6pm. police finally reached the hotel manager who "NEVER" show up even we requested to talk to she/he in the next day! And the hotel even try to ask us to stay in the same room at the night, with the help of police(must say thank you to the police we met!) the hotel finally provide another room for us to stay in our last nigh. To maintain the "scene of crime" we only took very few stuffs for changing from our original room since the police will come back again to check out/investigate the room in the next day morning, while we were waiting for the police in the morning, the hotel informed us that the room we were stolen will be clean up by 12pm even if the police has not arrived, that's the most ridiculous joke I've ever heard! Thank god that the police arrive by noon...Now we've back from our home safely and are waiting for further info. regarding this issue..."WHY the thief can get into our room without breaking the lock...??!" Can't image what will happened if we bump into the thief...
If I can chose again, I'll rather pay more to secure my safety, as I heard from local people, many break in cases happened in this area recently.
If something bad really happen...don't count on this hotel will give you any help since I felt that they DON'T CARE!
給華人朋友一個建議: 選住所真的要特別小心,便宜沒好貨就算了,掉了的東西可以在這間旅館住一年多,算自己倒楣,但萬一人身出了事 可不是說算就算的!

Room Tip: You should bring your own lock and lock your room before you go out....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cologne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Citadines Buffa has a downtown location close to the Promenade and Place Massena in a friendly neighbourhood with some cafes, shops and boutiques. Several busstops are nearby, although you need to study the maps and timetables in advance as most lines run through oneway streets and will take slightly different itinerarys on the return trip. If you fly into Terminal one, it is probably faster and cheaper to take the 23 bus instead of the more expensive and often overcrowded 98 "express" coach although the latter is more convenient for Terminal 2.
The reception is only staffed from 9am to 12am and again from 2pm to 7pm, check-in is from 3pm to 7pm only. There is a room availible to store luggage if you arrive early or depart late, however this too is only accessible during reception hours. Beware that there is no self-checkin-machine and if you arrive late, you have to contact the hotel in advance in order to get a code for the front door and another one for a safe where they may deposit your key.

The rooms got some refurbishments in 2009 with all walls and doors painted over in white and the carpeting repaced with a wooden-optics plastic flooring. A small kitchen is equipped with two hobs, a microwave oven, electric kettle and a fridge, some basic pots, dishes and cutlery. Usually they also provide a towel, detergent and a sponge.
The bathroom has a tub, a basin and a toilet, two towels per person and some tiny bottles of showergel, also paper, hairdyer and a rack to dry clothes. Towels are changed once a week only, if you want additional changes you have to order and pay for this one day ahead.
The living room has one large cupboard which is used to store your clothing and also includes an ironing board and iron, a broom and two pillows and a blanket, there are no duvets.
There is a flatscreen TV mounted to the wall with several french channels and BBC World but little other choice, a cable modem provides free internet access. Furthermore there is one table with two chairs and one bedside table with a lamp.
Except for the family-rooms which do include a separate bedroom, there is only a sofa bed which is easy to operate, but takes up most of the room when unfolded and which has a small and very uncomfortable matress. People taller than 185 cm will find the bed too short and the metal springs and framework of the constuction can be felt trough the very soft matress. Also the mechanism will start to fold back if you try to sit upwards in the bed eg for laptopsurfing.
You may hear some noise from the street in front or the private school in the backyard, also neighbours dropping their bottles into the bins late at night. More importantly, the Nr. 01 room on each floor lies adjacent to the lift shaft from where you will hear stange creeking noises whenever the elevator is running. The No. 03 room has a very weird layout with a very large bath but a very tiny livingroom.
If you look for a central location that comes with a kitchen and only stay one or two nights this may be worth considering. If you want a hotel room essentially for sleeping or want to stay on holiday, beware of the terrible beds.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and wear
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

My wife & I travel to Nice regularly for holiday and spent a week here in late June, paid £1300 for a 1 bed appartment and were quite disappointed upon arrival. The staff were helpful, friendly and obliging but the accomodation was very basic, bare and uninviting.
The lounge area had a sofa which doubled as an extra bed but frankly it looked very dingy and was stained. Heavy duty vinyl in kitchenette and lounge area and no real creature comforts. The hotel is well located but I think it is best suited to students or groups of friends on a "Jolly" and not really for couples. Despite being on 4th floor it was very noisy from traffic though that is not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Spent 6 nights in Apartment 403 in December 2009/January2010. We usually stay in the Citadines Nice Promenade when in the city but chose to stay in the Buffa on our last stay due to it's excellent location close to all the main amenities.
Apartment 403 is a studio billed as suitable for 2 people. Our first and lasting impression was that it was too cramped. The main area was furnished with a double sofa-bed, small dining table with two chairs and a side table. With the bed folded away, there was just enough floor space to get round but with the bed down, one had to clamber over the bed to get from one side of the room to the other! In contrast, the bathroom was quite spacious and the separate kitchen area fine. The apartment was bright thanks to large, traditional shuttered windows in both the living area and the bathroom.
Also on the plus side, the studio was clean and had been recently refurbished and decorated. We also found the public area to be clean. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
There are two small supermarkets and an épicerie less than a minute's walk from the hotel and a boulangerie not much further away. If you don't fancy self-catering, three of our favourite restaurants are within a fifteen minute walk: Chez Davia on rue Grimaldi, La Petite Biche and Voyageur Nissart, both on rue d'Alsace-Lorraine.
Would I recommend the Citadines NIce Buffa? Yes, but I would check the size of the apartment before signing the dotted line.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Coeur de City Buffa Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Coeur de City Buffa Nice

Address: 21, rue Meyerbeer, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Citadines Nice Buffa)
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Coeur de City Buffa Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a shopping area, just a few minutes from the Palais des Congres Acropolis and the Palais des Expositions, Residence Coeur de City Buffa Nice is only 100 metres from the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is an ideal base point for discovering the attractions of the French Riviera's capital city. The establishment offers 35 apartments on 5 floors, including 20 Studios for 2 guests and 15 One-Bedroom apartments that can sleep up to 4 guests. The Studios come with sofa beds. In the Apartments, there are sofas in the lounge rooms and two single beds in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Coeur de City Buffa Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Nice Buffa Hotel Nice
Citadines Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Coeur de City Buffa Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.