We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt) (Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean & comfortable, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean & comfortable, good location
Posted17 June 2013
Clean, comfortable, very friendly staff
no air conditioning outside the summer months
central, in easy walking distance of beach, shops etc.
Excellent location, within walking distance of shops, train station, the promenade and beach and the Place Messena with all of it's restaurants and bars. While it's true the room was a little small, it is due the nature and style of the building, which was perfectly in keeping with those around it and contributes to the 'Nice Style'. I particularly appreciated the inclusion of a fridge, very handy for keeping drinks cool and food for packed lunches fresh.
We stayed in April and my only complaint was that the room was far too hot at night and the climate control was set to 'winter' which meant we could only have either heating or no heating. The only way of solving the problem was to leave the window open all night, which helped a bit and as we weren't roadside the noise wasn't too intrusive

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing onto the road - it's quite a busy road and may be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello and many thank for your review.
concerning the room temperature in april, i apologize but it is always the same problem in april and october when temperatures change from one day to another and it is not possible to swap from cold to heat every day our centralized air conditioning system. as an example, it was really freezing in Nice during the Cannes film festival, end of may !!!! and we had to give extra blankets !!!
thank you again
best regards
Denis FRACHON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    417
    127
    26
    11
See reviews for
140
356
62
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo, brasil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've stayed at Best Western Roosevelt Hotel for three nights in June. Is very well located, walking distance to Promenade des Anglais and also close to Place Messina, with restaurants, shops and ice cream parlors. The hotel was clean (though it had a awkward smell, caused probably by the old carpeting), and the bathroom and shower very good. It also have a mini fridge and a vending machine downstairs (a small piece of America in France!!!). The breakfast was very well stocked, and fair priced (12 euros). The air conditioning was working and there is free wifi access (though it worked poorly - after requesting a check, they re-booted the router and it began working a little bit better). Very fair priced. I will definitely not ask the reception for restaurant advice, though. They recommended the worst restaurant we went during our 15 day trip in France. For sure recommend though a brasserie located close by, called Le Grimaldi - great food, excellent service and good ambiance!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and recommending the roosevelt.
very sorry that the restaurant we recommended was not good. please let us know which one so we can double check it and write off of our list eventually.
best regards
Denis FRACHON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, close to good shopping streets, the promenade anglais seafront, nice ville station etc. Also a tram stop not far away but we walked everywhere. Good lobby with two computers for Internet access, good variety to the breakfast, and fairly good sized (for France) and very clean and we'll appointed rooms.

It is a busy street and noise from outside was a bit of an issue - ear plugs recommended if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for recommending our hotel
i am glad that you had a nice stay with us
sorry i was late replying to your review but i was myself ..... on holidays !!!
thank you again
best regards
Denis FRACHON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The overall amenities of the room and lobby were clean/neat, but if you face any of the streets, you are in trouble. Very loud, almost anything moving outside will be heard in the room. Walls and pipes are all paper thin, so expect to hear anything going on around you.

Some of the front desk staff were very friendly! Others weren't as helpful (in terms of restaurants/coffee shops) that earlier reviews suggested. I also had a leaky pipe in my room which dripped onto my bed. It got resolved (on day 3).

Not bad, and location is quite close to the main avenue, but perhapsthere is better value out there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordanstown,N Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Nice but we couldn't remember where we had stayed. So it was quite a surprise to discover we had picked the same hotel as 3 years ago!

The main attraction is the location - convenient for shopping, train station, buses etc. The staff are friendly & helpful, the room was comfortable & reasonable in size & was kept very clean. There is road noise which dies down later at night & there can be noise from the nearby guests but I guess that is the luck of the draw. The lift is very small but it served its purpose although if you have large suitcases it would be a tight fit.

There are toiletries provided & replenished which is very handy if you only have hand luggage. There is also a kettle with tea & coffee & a fridge both of which we found extremely useful when we returned from our daily travels - especially since many of the cafes charge a euro more for their hot drinks after 3pm ( a 30-50% increase seems somewhat steep to me based solely on the time of day). I believe kettles/fridges are not so common in hotels in Europe as they are in the UK so they were much appreciated.

The breakfast was still 12 euro & we didn't indulge as we still felt it was too dear. In fairness, the cafes around were more expensive than our previous trip but the most we paid was 16 euros for two. As we travelled by train on several days, we just had coffee & croissant at the café beside the station which did the trick nicely.

A word of advice :-

If travelling by train & paying cash, get your tickets in the large room at the right side of the station. Allow 15 mins as the queue can be slow. This was at start of June so I am sure it will get busier. The walk to the station took 10 - 15 mins.

If we return to Nice, we would stay in this hotel again. It isn't fancy but it is clean, the staff are friendly & it served our purposes perfectly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter as there is quite a bit of road noise at the front although it do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is in a convenient location, not far from the promenade or the railway station. Rooms are of good size (we opted for triple sharing room), clean and well maintained. Breakfast though not elaborate was good and satisfying. But those expecting sea facing rooms should not opt for this hotel, as it is not a sea facing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Rooms were neat and clean, however was not pleased with the reception. We had booked our rooms months in advance and had specifically requested for 2 queen and 2 twins. However they only gave us 1 queen and 3 twins. This was despite us being very specific about our room requirements beforehand. When we asked if we could have our rooms changed, they just said they were fully booked and that they would push 2 beds together. Lady at desk was not very helpful. Only when asked did she say that the next queen room would be available in 2 days time which we accepted. Felt that she could have offered more options. The icing on the cake was when she informed us that we were welcome to change hotels, which was unnecessary.
Not a good experience or a start to our holiday and will most certainly not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt

Address: 16 Rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Nice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#26 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.