We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in a convenient location but with poor facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Star Hotel to your Saves list
Star Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue Biscarra, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #21 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in a convenient location but with poor facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Star Hôtel is an above-average budget hotel in a convenient location. It is somewhat typical of Southern European 2- or 3-star city hotels in the sense that it is a balancing act of friendly staff and substandard facilities. It does, however, have a strength that puts it above the similarly-priced independent hotels in Nice – location.

Star Hôtel sits on Rue Biscarra, a small street that is about halfway between Gare de Nice Ville (main train station) and Promenade du Paillon, the northern boundary of Vieux Nice (old town). It is one block away from Avenue Jean Médecin, the main north-south artery of the city as well as a major shopping street. The tram line 1 passes through this Avenue, and in fact the tram stop Jean Médecin is very close to Rue Biscarra. The train station, Vieux Nice, as well Musée Marc Chagall can all be reached on foot, and the tram line leads to the bus terminal at Vauban for day trips. A Monoprix as well as Nice Étoile (a large shopping center) are at the intersection between Rue Biscarra and Avenue Jean Médecin, and there is a Carrefour City (supermarket) one block to the east, on Rue de Lépante. Overall, we think this location is more convenient to Vieux Nice as a multi-purpose base camp.

The hotel itself is, as we mentioned, a typical Southern European affair, housed in a humble yet relatively clean building with a simple façade. The ground floor contains the reception, a breakfast hall, and a small lounge that seems to be more often used for storing guest baggage. There is no elevator, so guests have to haul up the luggage to their rooms on the floors above. The said rooms are stocked with low-cost furnishing – in our case, a bed with worn mattress, two mini side-tables, an open closet, a tiny desk, and two folding chairs. Not too much space for putting stuff on. Our bathroom had a hair dryer (a plus), a liquid soap, and two bar soaps that were not replenished until asked for. The bathroom lacked ventilation system and instead had a large window. This probably explains the large colony of mold on the ceiling. Other than the colony, both the room and the bathroom were sufficiently clean.

The sleeping quality ties in to the location and the building. Like most Provençal buildings, there is no soundproofing, and an adjacent street has motorcycle parking spaces. There can be occasional loud noise from motorcycles, and in a couple of nights our sleep was interrupted by drunken people making commotions that lasted a couple of hours. This noise might be the reason people do not keep the bathroom window open for ventilation during the night. In early mornings we could see some of these drunkards still sleeping on Rue Biscarra (yes, on the street, near the rear side of Nice Étoile). So as not to give wrong impression, we’d like to make it clear that the nearby streets are quite safe despite the street-sleepers (Nice is no Marseille). Interestingly, these street-sleepers didn’t seem to be homeless, and would change every morning; middle-aged men on one day, hippy girls on another, etc. In addition to the commotions, one of us had problem with sleeping because the mattress did not provide firm support in the middle.

Staff quality is variable, in that the front desk is capable while housekeeping is below-average. Of the three receptionists we met, one Swedish lady and a young gentleman spoke fluent English, and were very friendly and observant. Housekeeping, on the other hand, seemed to have two distinct levels of quality; on some days it was up to mid-range chain hotel standard, and on other days the bed was barely made. We joked that there must be two maids, a good one and a poor one.

Overall, Star Hôtel is a typical Provençal economy hotel whose facility, amenity, and sleep quality may or may not meet the expectations of North American, Northern European, or East Asian travelers. The hotel however does have some merits, such as its excellent location, and its price is competitive among the centrally located Nice hotels. While not a top recommendation, we would not mind including it in a candidate list of budget-friendly lodgings to be considered for a holiday in Nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    159
    42
    8
    8
See reviews for
51
170
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just got back from spending 12 days in Nice, France, June 1-June 12. I researched Nice hotels for months before choosing the Star Hotel on 14 rue Biscarra. We have been to Nice before and many other parts of Europe. I have always chosen at Least a 3 star hotel. After reading so many good reviews on the Star Hotel, I decided to go for it. Let me tell you, it was a great choice. The two main staff that looked after us were Frieda and Gabriel. Both were extremely friendly, helpful, professional, spoke excellent English and went out of there way to be of any assistance to us during our stay.

For the cost of this hotel, the value and quality is excellent! We booked a triple room and it was perfect, with a nice little balcony to sit and have a glass of wine and watch the city go by. The shower, for European stands, was large, always good hot water and spotless. The hotel is very close to walking streets with great restaurants and shopping. The Hugh Mono Prix super market is just down the street has a great selection of great wines. the Nice Etolie mall is also right down the street with great shopping and has free Wifi. The location of this hotel is perfectly situated to walk everyday throughout the City. Many great restaurants close by and the indian restaurant just across the street, is very good. Try the butter chicken.

This hotel is spotless. Our room was meticulously cleaned everyday. The free Wifi was wonderful and very good.

I would highly recommend this hotel for everyone! I believe it deserves more than a 2 Star. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 23 Is Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel had an ad. for 86 euro, i tried to book it over the phone but was told that the price now is 99....
classic bait and switch ...
i think this kind of short term thinking should not be rewarded.. .....

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I seldom write reviews but in this case I felt it an injustice if I didn't.
Highlights of this hotel.
Super clean!
Fantastic Staff who speak English well. Location. Quite. Everything you need. Well priced. Fantastic Wifi. Also nice cheap restaurants in the same street as hotel. And did I mention location.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We were very warmly greeted at the Star Hotel in Nice, France, after a rather hellish day of travel. I booked this hotel through Expedia because the price was right and it got pretty good reviews. Though we booked a double room, we were given a triple on the top floor. Though there is no elevator and it was a hike to get to our room, once we were there, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was very large and had a cute little balcony that looked out over the street.

The beds were comfortable and I had no trouble sleeping. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated and had a huge shower. There was a flatscreen television and WiFi is free and works fine.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but it's generous and one can order a la carte if they'd rather not get the "all you can eat" rate. I noticed one guest had laundry done. I mentioned that I was ready for wine and the clerk said if we needed wine glasses or a wine tool, she had them available to borrow. I think they also offered plug converters for rent. Very handy!

One thing I noticed in the Star Hotel is that there are some rules that some people might find odd. For instance, there's a sign on the door that warns that if you smoke or leave something stinky in the room, you'll be charged 30 euros. Also, in the welcome book, it says you're not allowed to eat in your room. We did ask the front desk lady about that and she said that the book was made when the hotel was owned by someone else. Eating is permissible, but they do ask that you're not a slob about it. She thanked us for being considerate and asking.

Star Hotel is not too far from the train station. It's close to a mall and there are plenty of restaurants and shopping venues nearby. The beach is maybe a twenty minute walk and during high season, towels and parasols are available.

I would recommend the Star Hotel. I think it's a very good value.

Room Tip: Loved the little balcony in Room 33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great value for money location to explore Nice, as it is within walking distance of most attractions. Friendly and helpful staff made our stay very pleasant. Not too far from the public parking area, which is convenient (although expensive) if you have a car. There are quite a few restaurants close to the hotel. Breakfast was fine and the WiFi worked well. A good find and worth recommending - thanks to TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Stay in room number 10 - it is close to reception if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family and I stayed here a couple of nights in April. Wonderful hotel and a great staff. They helped us find places to go and recommended things we might be interested in. Short walk to main shopping streets and of course the promenade. Say hi to the lovely Shirley if you go!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: 14 rue Biscarra, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Nice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the Hotel Star is just a 10 minute walk from the historic quarter and the beaches. It is surrounded by restaurants, shopping and activities. Public transportation and parking is only 100 yards away. Hotel Star offers 24 soundproof and air-conditioned rooms with flat-screen cable TV and bathtub or shower. Some of the rooms have a small balcony. Baby equipment is available upon request. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.