We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very friendly and helpful hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clair Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clair Hotel to your Saves list
Clair Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Blvd Carnot | Impasse Terra Amata, 06300 Nice, France (Port)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 211 Hotels in Nice
cheshire, uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very friendly and helpful hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This isn't a 5 star hotel. If you want luxury, go and stay in Monte Carlo and pay Monte Carlo prices.

This is, however, a fantastically located little oasis, 2 minutes walk from the port, 10 minutes from the old town with hundreds of cafe's restaurants and coffee shops and well situated for public transport for exploration further afield.

The rooms are clean, but basic, ideal as you are only sleeping there. The owners are very helpful and even allowed us to leave our bags in the hotel after check out so that we could make the most of our last day, we really appreciated this.

We hope to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    40
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
80
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wingham NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Clair is a niche Hotel in a former Girls School. The rooms look out onto an enclosed courtyard. We were very tired after the long flight from Australia and had wonderful restful sleep over the 4 nights we stayed. Thankfully the Clair uses sheets and blankets rather than duvet and this improved our comfort.

Despite rain on several days, the very useful local advice by our multilingual hosts Esther and Luba enabled us to catch the nearby local bus into the OId Town and markets. There are very good and affordable local cafes nearby, as well as a local supermarket with an extensive range of fresh produce, and many patisseries too! The best coffee nearby was the local 'Tabac Carnot', a block away and near the bus stop.

Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Most importantly, a small kitchen is available on the courtyard where we could make the breakfast and afternoon tea.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Clair and are grateful for the advice from Luba that saw us change our itinerary slightly to include more destinations on the Cote D'Azur - which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Highly recommended for comfort, location, economy and ambience.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on streetside unless windows are double glazed. Check the bed for comfort and sheets fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a short walk to the port where you can catch the bus to many locations up the French Riviara.

Hotel is run by a lovely couple who are both friendly and informative. If you need to know something they are more than happy to help.

Rooms are of good size and ours had a kitchen which was very handy if you need to get away early in the mornings and want to have breakfast outside times offered by the hotel or if you want to have a meal in, to save money.

We stayed during the Monte Carlo formula 1 and the bus ride was only 45min and was very picturesque along the coast.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Clair hotel and had a really warm welcome from Luba and Esther, the owners. Our room was spacious and perfect for a family of four particularly as it opened onto the beautiful enclosed courtyard. This allowed us to put the children to bed and then sit and have a drink outside and relax in the lovely Nice weather. Luba and Esther will share the secrets of Nice and tell you the best places to go depending on your needs for the day. I would highly recommend the Clair hotel for the location, great value and superb hosts. The rooms are great with no nonsense and the courtyard is fantastic if you have small children and don't want to be confined to your bedroom once you have put them to bed. The fridge and kitchen facitlities were a god send.

Room Tip: If you have small children who go to bed early the bedrooms that open onto the courtyard are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night as we were en route to Corsica. We chose it as an affordable and convenient location to the port. Our reservation through Booking.com was missed by the owners, but they accommodated us anyhow. We were jet lagged from our flight and had a great night's sleep. Wonderful breakfast in courtyard and very helpful advice from owners. We cannot compare to other hotels, but we would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The people who run this hotel are very kind and happy to help when asked, it is a short walk to the port and a slightly longer one around the headland to old Nice and the beach/bay. The rooms themselves are good but there was a moldy/damp smell in the bathroom which made the stay uncomfortable, surroundings of the hotel and very dirty and 'dodgy' but inside is clean and a good atmosphere. Unfortunately when we were there they were overbooked so we were woken up at 8 in the morning by a lady barging the door open which gave us a huge fright and had to pack up and move rooms which was not ideal. They were very apologetic and kind about it later to their credit.

Room Tip: Room 19 is the best room but they often have people requesting it, the other rooms are not as comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Clair Hotel is a wonderful find. It is located 3 blocks from the port and a short walk to the sights and tastes of the old town. Hotel Clair offers a clean, quiet, comfortable oasis in the midst of the city. The rooms surround a lovely patio. Luba and Esther, the owners, are cultured, knowledgable, welcoming and helpful. They recommended excellent restaurants and sights, and gave us advice on bus and walking routes. Each morning Luba greeted us and we had delightful conversations about arts, politics and tennis. Parking was a challenge requiring turning around in a one lane street. They have limited spaces, so you need to reserve a place for the car with them. The room was large, with tile floors and very clean. Linens and towels are not changed daily. However, we did have small ants.

Room Tip: Some have kitchenettes and some only refrigerators. Ours had heat, but did not seam to have air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Hotel

Address: 23 Blvd Carnot | Impasse Terra Amata, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clair Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.