We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a basic one night stay - you'll be fine!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Buffa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De La Buffa to your Saves list
Hotel De La Buffa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56, rue de la Buffa, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 211 Hotels in Nice
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“For a basic one night stay - you'll be fine!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights for a concert. The bathroom was very small - even hard to close the door. The bed was average but not particularly comfortable. You would not be able to leave any valuable possessions in the room as you put the key on the wall behind reception yourself when you go out - anyone could take your key and put it back because there is usually no-one at the desk. However, the staff were friendly enough and the hotel is located close to the city centre and seafront. The bus stop for the airport is just around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    24
    17
    7
See reviews for
8
29
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Stayed at Hotel de la Buffa over the weekend, some confusion before our stay concerning unreceived emails so we had to call and double check all details before arrival.

We arrived mid/late evening due to early evening flight and had no problems checking in at that hour, though we had mentioned the arrival time in advance.

The room was a good size, basic and in need of fresh paintwork but otherwise clean and fresh.

The bathroom tended to have a slight smell (drains) but was a decent size for a hotel bathroom and was clean.

The location is good, being less than 5 minutes walk from the seafront and approximately 10-15 minutes from Old Nice and the train station.

There are numerous bakeries and supermarkets within a few minutes walk and plenty of places to eat breakfast if you do not wish to pay the 9 euro charge.

The cancellation policy isn't stated on their website or writen confirmations, we were informed by staff that it was 8 days prior to arrival.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell in bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

I have stayed in plenty of hostels and am by no means picky. I was expecting a nice budget hotel from Lonely Planet's description and from the reviews on this site. I was very unhappy with my stay. The two staff members we were in contact with during our stay never smiled or said hello. On the last day, however, a lady was working the reception, who was very friendly. Our first room smelled bad due to the leak in the toilet pipe, which. The bed covers and carpet were visibly dirty, and the towels could have used a good bleaching. The A/C did not work well. We were hoping to cancel the rest of our stay, but the sign on the door in the room stated that if we canceled, we would have to pay for the days we reserved if no one else were to reserve it. So, instead of wasting our money, we toughed it out. Our next room had no leak, but it did have dirty covers, a dirty carpet, flat pillows, sunken in mattresses, etc. One final thing I did not like was the we were asked to leave the key at the reception desk every time we went out, which is fine, but no one was ever at the desk when we picked up our key. We did it ourselves; so anyone could pick up your key to get into your room if they wanted. My recommendation, if you want to stay here, ask to see the room before you make a reservation.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

I stayed at this hotel the last week of June into the first week of July. The location was great. The owners were nice and spoke English. It is a basic low budget hotel. The rooms are small and by no means luxurious but I was not expecting anything fancy. The photos on their website were accurate. The daily maid service included replacing towels and making the bed (no vaccuming). The facility has newer windows and when closed the noise from the street is greatly reduced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Hotel de la Buffa is a small, family run hotel in the heart of Nice. The location is excellent, just one block away from the beach and from the famous Hotel Negresco. Staff is very kind and helpful. The lobby is small with rather worn sofas and there is no lift. However, there is only one flight of stairs to climb and in a carpet fitted corridor lie all the rooms.

We had a quad room which consisted of two large beds, these were very well used and not aimed for large people so if you are big - choose another hotel. The beds also had a very peculiar feature - a "double pillow-roll", i.e. there were not two single pillows in every bed but instead a long rolled pillow which reached from side to side. My daughters immediately named it "the sausage". The window was balcony-style but as it was ground level outside (facing the backyard, not the street) there were gratings outside the window. In the beginning, this gave us a slight feeling of being imprisoned but we soon got used to it. Apart from the two beds there was a wall-hung TV, a small table, two chairs and two stools - that's it for furniture. Nothing more, nothing less. The toilet was separated from the shower room and what the ceiling looked like you can see on the photo. Not very nice, and small flakes came falling down every now and then. The shower room also contained a small wash basin and was OK, again it was very small but there was always plenty of hot water.

The hotel does not provide breakfast so you have to buy that yourself. We rented a small fridge where we could keep our breakfast stuff and also chill some wine and soda. It is virtually impossible to get a cup of tea in Nice so if you have a travel size kettle - bring it. I ran around the city, desperate for a cuppa and when I finally found it, in a "Salon du Thé", it cost me 4.50 Euros... For one cup of tea!

In all a worn but decent hotel if you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation in central Nice. Everything is working and staff is nice but don't expect anything more than basics.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — The toilet ceiling and the "sausage pillow".
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night before we were able to pick up the key for our apartment rental.

For a one night stay this hotel was ok. Centrally located and cheap but that's about it. I really wouldn't have enjoyed my holiday if I'd had to stay here for the full week.

The room was fairly dingy and not entirely clean (large cobwebs all over the ceiling and "chandelier").

I know it's not easy to get a reasonably priced hotel in this kind of location but we managed to rent a modern , seafront (in la palais mediteranee) apartment with A/C, balcony, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom for 80 euros a night (just searched the internet).

In summary, ok for an overnight top but no longer

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2006

I had a twin bedroom which seemed amply roomy and a pleasant bathroom. Stairs were there, there is no elevator. The area is quite convenient. There's a nice market next door, and a small one in front selling yummy rotisserie chickens. The bus is very convenient and right there also. Five/10 minute walk to the beach.

Incidentally better late than never. This trip was done about 5 yrs ago. But it's Europe and not much changes there.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no elevator/the stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — The refrigerator was convenient. It used to be in the room for free.
  • Stayed August 2002
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De La Buffa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Buffa

Address: 56, rue de la Buffa, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Buffa 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De La Buffa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Buffa Nice
De La Buffa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Buffa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.