We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for me and my friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Buffa

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Buffa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De La Buffa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56, rue de la Buffa, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 212 hotels in Nice
Turku, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for me and my friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed at Hotel De La Buffa last summer with my two friends. We had booked a room for three and obviously at Hotel De La Buffa room for three means a room with two beds... Luckily the beds were big enough and we managed to sleep well. But in case you don't want to share your bed with somebody, this fact is good to know.

The room had an airconditioner and a small fridge. The room was also clean and there was enough closet space. The bathroom also worked well.

The location was good and there were several grocery stores nearby. The beach was only few blocks away. The neighbourhood in general was very quiet and peaceful.

The staff was rather rude or a bit weird at least. When we arrived, the reseptionist didn't say anything else but:"Do you want wifi?". Well we did want it, but that was all he said :D When we left, we had to pay for some extra tax which according to the manager was compulsory in every French hotel. The tax was about 20 or 30 euros. Not much, but it would have been nice to know right away and not at the moment we are leaving.

One weird thing also was that we weren't allowed to take the key with us when we left the room for a day. We had to leave it at the lobby and the keys were placed like that anybody could have taken our key and go to our room! Not cool... Luckily anything like that didn't happen.

Anyhow I recommend this hotel if you are traveling with friends or as a couple and you're on a tight budget. I mostly have only good memories from this place :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    29
    28
    18
    7
See reviews for
7
24
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

upon arrival we requested a change in room and nobody wanted. They stated that they got their money and did not care. We argued to no avail and stated that we should get a better room or refund for the travel agency. Nothing, we left.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

don,t expect too much .It is a nice basic hotel at the price they are offering .Advantage is it is near the beach. There is no restaurant .but the resort is cheep.Overall it is value of money .I booked it for 80 euro for 2 days

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's a little and charmy center-located hotel with an authentic and picturesque coloring. The bedroom is pretty spacious and comfortable - there is a fridge and a TV set. Just 20 minutes on foot from the main station and 15 from the English Embankment. The doors close at 11 pm therefore it's necessary to call on the intercom. If you wish to experience the spirit of the beginning of 20th century, that is the right place to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow,Russia
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I like my short 1 week stay in this hotel. We got room # 3 it was rather big i compare with hotels in Paris i stayed before. Bathroom is small but its ok. The best thing is location just 5 min walk from Promenade des Anglais and Negresco Hotel. Supermarket, french bakery, flower shop and market with village vine, fresh fruits and cheese next door. I was surprised by room service they change sheets and towels every day! Can you imagine it? Old man at the reception provided us with knife and corkscrew to open 2Euro french vine and cut fresh country side cheese. Very friendly man. WIFI is free but a bit slow sometimes. Could faced with noisy travellers. Wish you the best time in Nice! Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Jit is just near the beach and not too far from Old Town, about ten minutes walk and near to the restuarants etc. Not much streetnoice, It was some overhearing between the rooms, but not that much so it bothered us. There was a nice little man in the reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the outside, the hotel's neighboring buildings looked a little shabby, and I was hesitant to stay here even though I had a reservation, but once inside I was pleasantly surprised how clean, and nice the hotel and room was. My boyfriend and I didn't spend too much time in the room, mainly to shower and sleep. The bathroom was very tiny, the bed was big, the hotel was quiet, and the location was a short walk- just a few streets from the shore. The location was also very close to Monaco, which we went to for dinner. There is a fridge in the room, so my boyfriend was able to walk down the street and buy some wine and snacks to leave in there. Unfortunately, the hotel did not have parking available, so you either have to park on the street which is a gamble in itself because the signs are very confusing as to the days / hours allowed to park, or you can park in a structure, which can become expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De La Buffa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Buffa

Address: 56, rue de la Buffa, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Hotel Style:
#146 Spa Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Buffa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel De La Buffa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Buffa Nice
De La Buffa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Buffa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.