We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Buffa

Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Buffa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De La Buffa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56, rue de la Buffa, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 213 hotels in Nice
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    27
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
7
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Recently stayed here for 3 nights, pleasantly surprised that the single room I booked through Late Rooms was quite spacious, clean and there was a new tv and fridge in the room. The en suite had a shower toilet and washbasin. Plenty of cupboard space with a safe and a large table and chairs in the room also. There were plenty of towels etc. Free wifi in the small lobby/reception. Staff were friendly. Just a five min walk to the Promenade and about 10-15 mins to Flower Mkt. Only criticism was the walls could do with a coat of paint and the corridors were not well lit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is perfect for people who value location, realise rooms tend to be small in France and prefer locally owned/run than corporate hotels. This isn't the Ritz and if you have high expectations from a hotel, I would recommend you look elsewhere. Its a step up from a hostel, with all the basics covered off, for a really reasonable price.
Located a block or two from the waters edge and just outside the busy shopping/tourist area. A pleasant and easy to walk to, from the main train station.

The old couple that run it are really nice and helpful with advising you where to go for dinner and what food to trial. They are very french so don't promote tourist spots to you or overpriced restaurants. The other guests were nice also.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We arrived in Nice, France without a hotel booking. We decided to wing it. Walking around, we saw a door that said "hotel". The sign said it was 50euros per night. We figured it was probably a roach motel, but the price was irresistible. We agreed to ask to see a room.

We walked in and nearly turned right around. I held my breath and asked the receptionist if there was any availability and if I could see a room. She showed me the two rooms available.

The first was downright dingy - large, but after seeing it I thought there was no way I'd stay there. It gave me the creeps. As we continued down the hallway, the lights flickered off and I hoped I wasn't walking into an axe murder scene (I later learned the lights were on a timer). Two Americans, a mother/daughter, exited one room (offered some relief due to familiarity). Then I saw the second room.

The bathroom was maybe 1 yard x 1 yard (on a good day), the bed was little, but the view, the view! The window opened magnificently and you could [barely] see the water. More than I was expecting at that price. The smell was a bit funky, but I figured, it was only a night, we could deal with it.

We took the room and it turned out to be a great experience. First, there was a train strike so we couldn't leave Nice and ended up needing a few extra days. They were very accommodating. I set up my bags in a specific way (ie, shoelaces in particular places) because I'm paranoid about room service. The woman who cleaned our room didn't touch our stuff at all. Nothing was disturbed.

We were so close to the beach and restaurants. We arrived on a Sunday when everything was closed. Right around the corner was a small sandwich cart and she sold us a bottle of wine for 4Euros - I was expecting Boone's Farm-esque but it turned out fabulous. Wifi is in the lobby only so I'd sit and drink the wine while checking my e-mail.

The man and woman who primarily ran this hotel were very friendly and very sociable with us. Another French woman who was in the room next to us was nosy - she'd look out the door every time we came and went. When we'd look at her looking at us, she'd hawhaw and shut the door like she wasn't watching. That kind of character that was just plain fun.

Really - we had a great experience. Yeah, the smell sucked and it certainly isn't the luxury of a five-star hotel. You're not going to get that here. If you're on a budget, you want some privacy, this is a great option.

Cons: The shower sucked and my 6'2" boyfriend struggled in the bathroom. The smell was a bit weird. Construction across the road woke us up very early. Street traffic can be disruptive (if you're on that side of the hotel).
Pros: Price. Very, very close to the beach, restaurants, . The window opened up to a glorious view. The man and woman who worked at the hotel were so friendly.

Room Tip: We had room six. Rooms 6-7 are streetside with great views and great windows that open up. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We booked this hotel because from the photos it appeared to offer some character. However on subsequently reading the reviews we were quite anxious. We arrived at nine in the evening, the area appeared quite run down and the hotel was in complete darkness. When the door was opened we received no welcome whatsoever, just handed the key. The room was clean but very drab and shabby, the bathroom in poor condition, cracked basin, broken floor tiles and a smell of drains. The towels and sheets were clean however. The traffic noise all night was horrendous. We had booked for six nights, stayed two nights and then were able to reserve a room in a better hotel near the pedestrian area of the city and subsequently had a very enjoyable holiday. Nice is a great city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

After reading a few reviews, we were a bit hesitate having booked this hotel a few months back. Upon arrival we were well greeted and shown to our cozy room. Location was great for the price, and with a supermarket just round the corner, it's a good way to save some coin. The beach is just 2 blocks away and it was just a casual stroll for about 5 mins to get down to new town Nice. Overall, I'd recommend the hotel for couples such as us, without loads of money to spend on accommodation. Our theory was, we'd rather spend more money on other things, rather than a hotel and this hotel was comfortable, clean and did just what we wanted. After all, your in Nice, so why stay in your room too long...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Don't expect a lot and Hotel De La Buffa will deliver!

I stayed with two friends at Hotel De La Buffa for three nights in May 2011. This hotel is close to as basic as they come. But if all you need is basic, you're in the right spot. A couple things to note: We did have some trouble with our A/C and ended up spending the first night there sweating all night, but they were (sort of) able to fix it for the remaining portion of our stay. Our fridge was inoperable in our room so Naffi (host) told us we could use the main mini fridge in the cleaning closet area. We did so but were surprised to find the next day that someone else had helped themselves to our food/beverages. Also, the safe in our room was busted from a key being stuck in the lock.

Overall, we had some issues at this hotel, but it was a decent stay if you're not looking for much out of it and just want to explore Nice. Its proximity to the beach and walking distance to the train were huge pluses along with the fact that it was affordable!

The best part of this hotel was Naffi. He is an entertaining fellow and will try his best to make you sure you're enjoying your time in Nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De La Buffa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Buffa

Also Known As:
De La Buffa Nice
De La Buffa Hotel
Address: 56, rue de la Buffa, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 213 hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Buffa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel De La Buffa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Buffa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.