We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Buffa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De La Buffa to your Saves list
Hotel De La Buffa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56, rue de la Buffa, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Basic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Don't expect a lot and Hotel De La Buffa will deliver!

I stayed with two friends at Hotel De La Buffa for three nights in May 2011. This hotel is close to as basic as they come. But if all you need is basic, you're in the right spot. A couple things to note: We did have some trouble with our A/C and ended up spending the first night there sweating all night, but they were (sort of) able to fix it for the remaining portion of our stay. Our fridge was inoperable in our room so Naffi (host) told us we could use the main mini fridge in the cleaning closet area. We did so but were surprised to find the next day that someone else had helped themselves to our food/beverages. Also, the safe in our room was busted from a key being stuck in the lock.

Overall, we had some issues at this hotel, but it was a decent stay if you're not looking for much out of it and just want to explore Nice. Its proximity to the beach and walking distance to the train were huge pluses along with the fact that it was affordable!

The best part of this hotel was Naffi. He is an entertaining fellow and will try his best to make you sure you're enjoying your time in Nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    22
    16
    6
See reviews for
8
26
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Buffa is small, only 13 rooms, the location is good but not perfect. 2* hotel and it reminded me of 2* hotels in Paris 40 years ago. It really needs an uddate. For a night or two it is ok, we were here for 2 nights because of a bargain on flight tickets. Our son stayed in another 2* hotel, Solara in Rue de France, and it was much better and not more expensive.
Make sure you get a room not facing the busy road, when you check in remember to ask for the key to the safe (6 Euro for the stay). Did not like that the reception often was empty, and anyone could pick up a key to a room.
On the positive side, Buffa is 200 meters from the public beach, and there is a Casino Supermarket just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We arrived at the Hotel de La Buffa for a 4-day stay, using it as a base to see the surrounding area (Nice, Monaco, Cannes etc.). The hotel is very basic; the furniture is very old and dated, the room had 14” TV with CNN (the only English channel). The room had a small fridge. The bed and shower area were clean; the maid made the bed and supplied clean towels daily. We were in room 8, this is on a very busy road (Boulevard Gambetta), and was quiet noisy, the room was hot, so when we opened the window, we were hit by the noise from the road. The old air conditioner unit worked but hardly done anything to the room temperature. The staff was helpful and friendly. It takes around 10 - 15 Minutes to walk from the hotel to the center of Nice.

We arrived at Nice airport and took a bus (which runs along the Promenade de Anglais), the airport express cost 4.00 euro each. You get off at Boulevard Gambetta. The train station is approx. 20 mins walk (away from the promenade). Next to the hotel is a nice little sandwich shop. We found the south of France very expensive, evening meal (Pizza and a glass of wine) around 20 Euro.

We had a nice time and the basic hotel served its purpose.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We stayed there for four nights in May. This wasn't my first choice but most of the other hotels within my budget were fully booked. We were overcharged, paying a good 30 euros (per night) more than the prices stated on the hotel pricing sheet in the room. While one of the staff members proved himself friendly and informative, the bathrooms were tiny and squashy. The picture of the hotel on the website is misleading because the hotel is actually a lot smaller than implied. The location is pretty good, one of its redeeming qualities, but I'm sure there are other more-worthwhile hotels available.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights for a concert. The bathroom was very small - even hard to close the door. The bed was average but not particularly comfortable. You would not be able to leave any valuable possessions in the room as you put the key on the wall behind reception yourself when you go out - anyone could take your key and put it back because there is usually no-one at the desk. However, the staff were friendly enough and the hotel is located close to the city centre and seafront. The bus stop for the airport is just around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Stayed at Hotel de la Buffa over the weekend, some confusion before our stay concerning unreceived emails so we had to call and double check all details before arrival.

We arrived mid/late evening due to early evening flight and had no problems checking in at that hour, though we had mentioned the arrival time in advance.

The room was a good size, basic and in need of fresh paintwork but otherwise clean and fresh.

The bathroom tended to have a slight smell (drains) but was a decent size for a hotel bathroom and was clean.

The location is good, being less than 5 minutes walk from the seafront and approximately 10-15 minutes from Old Nice and the train station.

There are numerous bakeries and supermarkets within a few minutes walk and plenty of places to eat breakfast if you do not wish to pay the 9 euro charge.

The cancellation policy isn't stated on their website or writen confirmations, we were informed by staff that it was 8 days prior to arrival.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell in bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

I have stayed in plenty of hostels and am by no means picky. I was expecting a nice budget hotel from Lonely Planet's description and from the reviews on this site. I was very unhappy with my stay. The two staff members we were in contact with during our stay never smiled or said hello. On the last day, however, a lady was working the reception, who was very friendly. Our first room smelled bad due to the leak in the toilet pipe, which. The bed covers and carpet were visibly dirty, and the towels could have used a good bleaching. The A/C did not work well. We were hoping to cancel the rest of our stay, but the sign on the door in the room stated that if we canceled, we would have to pay for the days we reserved if no one else were to reserve it. So, instead of wasting our money, we toughed it out. Our next room had no leak, but it did have dirty covers, a dirty carpet, flat pillows, sunken in mattresses, etc. One final thing I did not like was the we were asked to leave the key at the reception desk every time we went out, which is fine, but no one was ever at the desk when we picked up our key. We did it ourselves; so anyone could pick up your key to get into your room if they wanted. My recommendation, if you want to stay here, ask to see the room before you make a reservation.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De La Buffa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Buffa

Address: 56, rue de la Buffa, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Buffa 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De La Buffa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Buffa Nice
De La Buffa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Buffa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.