We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest services!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esprit d'Azur

Save Saved
You added Hotel Esprit d'Azur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Esprit d'Azur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue Barberis, 06300 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent guest services!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Location: Within the center of Nice. Just beside Acropolis Tram Station. Its 12 minutes away from Terminal 1.

Facilities: The room smells old. Cleaning was not consistent. Serving breakfast was not consistent as well. You can hear banging of the doors especially when the hotel gets full. The beautiful thing about this hotel is about their excellent guest services. The lady in-charge who speaks good english attends immediately to all your concerns. She treats her guests as VIPs.

Price: It was one of the most competitive rates online that has three stars.

With its excellent guest services, you will not regret your stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
36
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

it was a wonderful week , nice hotel clean and cozy , very sweet and helpful staff, the hospitality of the owner Madame Marie made a difference in our stay i felt im in my house , nice location , any other trip to nice in the futur will be definetly in esprit d"azur hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very good location. Near the tram station. Staff were very friendly, made us feel home. Great value for money. Spent most of my time outside the hotel so the small size of the room didn't matter to me. Didn't try their breakfast. 5 minutes walking distance from the old nice and the flower market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

PRO: NICE and helpful staff.

CONS: Rooms are very small.
The elevator is so small its actually amusing.
The HVAC system is archaic. The entire hotel is either switched to "heat" or "cool". If your room is hot and the hotel is on "heat", you cannot turn on a cooling system to cool your room. Its bizarre. Ive never been in a hotel that had such a weird system.
Parking is complicated and not on site but, this is Europe so, maybe that is just something to deal with.
TV is about as amusing as the elevator! It looks more like a computer monitor and is no more that 16" or so.
No shower curtain but, again, maybe this is just a Euro thing. But, its not possible to shower without soaking the entire bathroom floor since the shower is small.
I had a "room with a view" but the view was basically the bowels of the backside of a bunch of buildings. So, I have a lovely view of wash hanging out to dry and a bunch of satellite dishes!

Room Tip: Dont pay any extra for the balcony. Its a waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A lovely small hotel in a fantastic location.Rooms are small and basic but very clean and the owner and staff are very friendly and helpful.Situated close to both the tram stop and the railway station the hotel is in a perfect place to discover Nice and the rest of the Cote D,Azur.There is a small amount of work going on in the lobby areas at the moment to modernise these but this does not detract from having a pleasant stay.Overall a good budget choice for this area.

Room Tip: There is a small amount of road noise from rooms at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capital federal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nothing safety as we stole my money (a sum very high) of the room and no one took over. In the next room also were stolen and the hotel did not respond at all. Inclusive charged me 2 nights hotel!
There are no security cameras, no magnetic keys and walked no safety box. The only thing that the owner said that could not have happened at your hotel. I have the police report to whoever wants it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was expecting more based on the reviews I read here from other users. 4 user-stars is really over rated. Room was tiny, although clean. Check-in took FOREVER and we were only 4 not 20. Elevator is the smallest I have ever seen. So is the tv, which was even placed high up on the wall so very difficult to watch. Good that we only paid 89€ per double room because any amount more than that would have been too much. Staff however was helpful and kind, they even made efforts to speak italian and english. Breakfast is 10€ which is not bad (although I cannot judge the quality as we did not have it) and parking is 12€ which is ok, considering they give you a parking spot in a garage which is 500mt away from the hotel. Honestly would not go back unless I found the same price.

Room Tip: don't take the classic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelespritdazur, Propriétaire at Hotel Esprit d'Azur, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur
Je suis très étonnée de lire des choses aussi négatives alors que vous dites que la chambre était propre, que le personnel était serviable et gentil et que vous n'avez payé que 89 € la nuit.
Nous ne sommes qu'un petit 3 étoiles familial et nous ne répondons pas à vos critères de luxe.
Si j'ai juste un conseil à vous donner, la prochaine fois, choisissez un hôtel 4 étoiles et vous pourrez vous permettre d'être aussi exigent et intransigeant .
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esprit d'Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esprit d'Azur

Address: 4 rue Barberis, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esprit d'Azur 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right opposite to Acropolis Convention Center, walking distance from Nice harbor, from the “Old Town of Nice”, close to the tram station, Hotel Esprit d’Azur has been fully renovated and refurbished in the first quarter of 2012 and offers high standard of equipment, quality and service.The 37 rooms and suites of the hotel are all sound-proofed, air conditioned; beds are with duvets, individual safe, flat screen TV with access to international channels, free Wi-Fi Internet access, and direct phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Esprit d'Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esprit d'Azur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.