We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that is a must to stay in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Malmaison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Malmaison to your Saves list
La Malmaison
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A hotel that is a must to stay in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We originally had booked only 1 night but decided to stay for 2. The front desk originally was served by Stanisla and he was very helpful with all aspects of the check in. We then saw the rooms and were very pleased with the high ceilings, spacious bathroom and Eco-friendly power monitoring system in place that controlled air and electric and shut off when not in room. Much credit to the manager, Vanessa who is so friendly and accommodating and has a great vision for the hotel. We also, admired Tomas and Jennifer that made us feel not just like hotel guests but like family. Their prompt attention to all our needs should reflect on how well they do their job in servicing the hotel guests. They are a credit to the hotel and should be complimented for such.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    151
    76
    26
    15
See reviews for
36
194
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here in july. They got our booking wrong so got upgraded to a 'suite'! More like a large room with worn carpet and a smell of fish from the fridge. This room, I mean 'suite' was on the top floor. Lift was broken so had to use service escalator. Lift was fixed by day two but damage was done, particularly since we had got stuck in it in 30 degree heat (no out of order signs to inform residents!). What's more amusing is that we were charged up front. We have awarded two stars: one for location and the second from the view from our terrace. It a nutshell this hotel was like faulty towers without the charms of Basil!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I went away with 2 friends - yes, 3 women hitting the high spots of Nice! We had a wonderful time and this hotel really made the whole experience even better. The staff were really helpful, friendly and welcoming. Jennifer welcomed us and personally highlighted some excellent places on a map. She advised us about the train and bus to Monaco, as well as giving us tips about which restaurants were worth visiting (she was right). The rooms were a good standard, clean and the beds comfortable. There is a small set of stairs to get from the street to reception, so for anyone with mobility issues please be aware of this. Other than this it is an excellent location. Just a very short walk to the promenade and all the shops but far enough away to be quiet. The breakfast was adequate with a reasonable quality/range of food. William was friendly without being overly attentive and kept us in cocktails (really at 5 euros each who can complain?) Everyone had told me that we would find Nice expensive. Well we did not think so. I'd go back again and I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seemed to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our initial impression was based strictly on previous web reviews prior to arriving. When we did arrive we were pleasantly greeted by the awesome duo of Jennifer and Jouris. They spoke great English and immediately gave us a highlighted reference map of the city. Check- in was uber-easy!

Our comfort room was not terribly fancy, but updated and more than adequate and quite pleasant actually. Our room faced the street and had double French doors to open and listen to the city sounds. As for noise factor mentioned in other reviews, that was eliminated by closing the electric blinds every night. Then the room became soundproof ! The bathroom was clean and spacious enough. The shower's water pressure was awesome, no problems there.

The location was the best... four blocks from the beach and 10 minutes to everywhere including Place Massena and Vieille Ville. The Pedestrian Mall was only a 5 minute walk away to the throngs of people and restaurants not to mention the best gelato at Amarino on Rue Massena

The surrounding neighbourhood was quite safe and easy to move around in. The train station was only 4 blocks north and one block to the right.

We had no issues negotiating the stairs with our heavy luggage and bike boxes.

Some negative aspects, minor really:

1- A/C not super cold, but very refreshing nonetheless when returning from 35C temperatures.
2- The bed was okay, but we weren't there to sleep all day.
3- Coffee station wasn't always replenished everyday.

Overall a really great experience. We would go again without reservation, well actually, we would make reservations to ensure a room... :-)

Room Tip: How to soundproof your room from street noise: Make sure you use the electric blinds (switches are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Malmaison for 5 nights and found it to be a very good value for the money.Terrific location on a relatively quiet in a high end neighborhood. Our room came with a balcony where we enjoyed our morning coffee and used whenever we were in the room. It overlooked (Victor Hugo)boulevard.Bed was king size bathroom large for France and the air conditioning worked exceptionally well. Staff was courteous but not very helpful with restaurant recommendations or did not go out of there way.However they all spoke English and were well mannered.Nobody offered to take our bags on arrival or departure.Did not pay for their breakfast as we found it to be to expensive and opted out for an out door cafe for half the price.Parking is close by @ 25 Euros a night unless you want to park on the street and put money in a meter every two hours. If your lucky enough to find a spot in front of hotel those are free and you can park there all day no problem,however there are limited spaces perhaps three of four .We lucked out on our last night we parked out front .Nice is an enormous tourist attraction particularly in the month of August. The restaurants are mostly tourist traps,so if your like us and want real Cote D Azure food try the small streets in the old town...All in all I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on high floor with balcony facing Victor Hugo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is very nice and very well located in a safe area. Near the beach. The problem is that there is a big stairway on the lobby (before arriving in the reception). It´s difficult for people with special needs and also difficult to carry the luggage. I had a problem when I was leaving the hotel alone. No one from the hotel helped me.
The service is very good. It also accommodates 3 people. Good bathroom. There are stores and restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend as a family of three (two adults and a 1 year old). On arrival at the hotel we were disappointed that the reception was up a flight of stairs. Managing 3 cases and a baby in a buggy up the stairs was difficult as was every time we got back to the hotel for the duration of the stay. When we got to the room it was airy and spacious if a little dated. It was a comfortable room with large doors which opened top to bottom. I was concerned though as the grid over the door to stop you falling was not baby proof so we could only have the door open when the baby had gone to bed. A plus for us was that there was a fridge (great for storing baby food and milk) and the travel cot and bedding provided were great.
A little disappointed when the lift broke no-one put any notices on the lifts to explain this or offer guests help. Elderly guests struggled down the stairs and we once again had to struggle even more flights of stairs with a baby in a buggy!
Location wise the hotel is a short walk to the beach and a short walk to the station should you wish to explore further afield.
All in all a bit of a mixed review. The hotel was fine but for what we paid and the access issues with a buggy we wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Beware of floor to ceiling windows with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Malmaison

Address: 48 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Malmaison 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Suites Nice La Malmaison is in the heart of this Nice on the beautiful and famous French Riviera. Within walking distance to all the major attractions and museums of the city, the Quality Suites Nice La Malmaison also is close to the famous Promenade des Anglais, the beach, convention center, business and shopping districts.The Quality Suites Nice La Malmaison recently reopened with a new contemporary look after a complete renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Nice La Malmaison Hotel Nice
La Malmaison Nice
Hotel La Malmaison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Malmaison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.