We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Malmaison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Malmaison to your Saves list
La Malmaison
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 211 Hotels in Nice
wirral
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I went away with 2 friends - yes, 3 women hitting the high spots of Nice! We had a wonderful time and this hotel really made the whole experience even better. The staff were really helpful, friendly and welcoming. Jennifer welcomed us and personally highlighted some excellent places on a map. She advised us about the train and bus to Monaco, as well as giving us tips about which restaurants were worth visiting (she was right). The rooms were a good standard, clean and the beds comfortable. There is a small set of stairs to get from the street to reception, so for anyone with mobility issues please be aware of this. Other than this it is an excellent location. Just a very short walk to the promenade and all the shops but far enough away to be quiet. The breakfast was adequate with a reasonable quality/range of food. William was friendly without being overly attentive and kept us in cocktails (really at 5 euros each who can complain?) Everyone had told me that we would find Nice expensive. Well we did not think so. I'd go back again and I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seemed to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    151
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
36
194
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our initial impression was based strictly on previous web reviews prior to arriving. When we did arrive we were pleasantly greeted by the awesome duo of Jennifer and Jouris. They spoke great English and immediately gave us a highlighted reference map of the city. Check- in was uber-easy!

Our comfort room was not terribly fancy, but updated and more than adequate and quite pleasant actually. Our room faced the street and had double French doors to open and listen to the city sounds. As for noise factor mentioned in other reviews, that was eliminated by closing the electric blinds every night. Then the room became soundproof ! The bathroom was clean and spacious enough. The shower's water pressure was awesome, no problems there.

The location was the best... four blocks from the beach and 10 minutes to everywhere including Place Massena and Vieille Ville. The Pedestrian Mall was only a 5 minute walk away to the throngs of people and restaurants not to mention the best gelato at Amarino on Rue Massena

The surrounding neighbourhood was quite safe and easy to move around in. The train station was only 4 blocks north and one block to the right.

We had no issues negotiating the stairs with our heavy luggage and bike boxes.

Some negative aspects, minor really:

1- A/C not super cold, but very refreshing nonetheless when returning from 35C temperatures.
2- The bed was okay, but we weren't there to sleep all day.
3- Coffee station wasn't always replenished everyday.

Overall a really great experience. We would go again without reservation, well actually, we would make reservations to ensure a room... :-)

Room Tip: How to soundproof your room from street noise: Make sure you use the electric blinds (switches are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Malmaison for 5 nights and found it to be a very good value for the money.Terrific location on a relatively quiet in a high end neighborhood. Our room came with a balcony where we enjoyed our morning coffee and used whenever we were in the room. It overlooked (Victor Hugo)boulevard.Bed was king size bathroom large for France and the air conditioning worked exceptionally well. Staff was courteous but not very helpful with restaurant recommendations or did not go out of there way.However they all spoke English and were well mannered.Nobody offered to take our bags on arrival or departure.Did not pay for their breakfast as we found it to be to expensive and opted out for an out door cafe for half the price.Parking is close by @ 25 Euros a night unless you want to park on the street and put money in a meter every two hours. If your lucky enough to find a spot in front of hotel those are free and you can park there all day no problem,however there are limited spaces perhaps three of four .We lucked out on our last night we parked out front .Nice is an enormous tourist attraction particularly in the month of August. The restaurants are mostly tourist traps,so if your like us and want real Cote D Azure food try the small streets in the old town...All in all I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on high floor with balcony facing Victor Hugo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is very nice and very well located in a safe area. Near the beach. The problem is that there is a big stairway on the lobby (before arriving in the reception). It´s difficult for people with special needs and also difficult to carry the luggage. I had a problem when I was leaving the hotel alone. No one from the hotel helped me.
The service is very good. It also accommodates 3 people. Good bathroom. There are stores and restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend as a family of three (two adults and a 1 year old). On arrival at the hotel we were disappointed that the reception was up a flight of stairs. Managing 3 cases and a baby in a buggy up the stairs was difficult as was every time we got back to the hotel for the duration of the stay. When we got to the room it was airy and spacious if a little dated. It was a comfortable room with large doors which opened top to bottom. I was concerned though as the grid over the door to stop you falling was not baby proof so we could only have the door open when the baby had gone to bed. A plus for us was that there was a fridge (great for storing baby food and milk) and the travel cot and bedding provided were great.
A little disappointed when the lift broke no-one put any notices on the lifts to explain this or offer guests help. Elderly guests struggled down the stairs and we once again had to struggle even more flights of stairs with a baby in a buggy!
Location wise the hotel is a short walk to the beach and a short walk to the station should you wish to explore further afield.
All in all a bit of a mixed review. The hotel was fine but for what we paid and the access issues with a buggy we wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Beware of floor to ceiling windows with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel last week and were very pleased with the hotel and the room we got. Really nice view from the 4th floor. Nice bathroom, plenty of space in the room. They told us rooms were allocated in the mornings so a tip would be to email them beforehand if you have special requests. Jennifer who worked in the reception was super friendly, spoke great English and had loads of great tips for us! Very short walk to the train station. At train station you can take bus 98 to the airport for 6€, took 20 minutes, goes twice an hour. The hotel was a bit further from the Old Town than I had expected, I think next time I would want to live closer to that. Quite residential area, but just a few minutes from the promenade where there are plenty of restaurants. We skipped Nice Beach (no sand, pebbles instead, costs 20€ per person to rent a sunbed) and instead went to Villefranche sur mer. Very nice beach! Take bus or train there, less than 15 minutes. We bought a parasol for 15€ and layed on the sand. Much nicer and cheaper :)

Room Tip: I would go for a room high up, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently stayed at La Malmaison. The location was excellent, 10 minute walk to Old Nice, the beach, and the Train Station. Many excellent restaurants within a block of the hotel. For European hotels, our room was spacious, comfortable for three. The beds were comfy and rooms very clean. Each evening there was free tapis served, bottled water in our room fridge and breakfast buffet. Buffet isn't automatically included, check your booking. Staff were excellent, especially Jennifer and everyone spoke English. Will definitely stay again. Well priced!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Malmaison

Address: 48 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Malmaison 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Suites Nice La Malmaison is in the heart of this Nice on the beautiful and famous French Riviera. Within walking distance to all the major attractions and museums of the city, the Quality Suites Nice La Malmaison also is close to the famous Promenade des Anglais, the beach, convention center, business and shopping districts.The Quality Suites Nice La Malmaison recently reopened with a new contemporary look after a complete renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Nice La Malmaison Hotel Nice
La Malmaison Nice
Hotel La Malmaison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Malmaison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.