We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs to your Saves list
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 quai des Etats Unis | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good value for a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel twice a year for several years. The location is perfect, directly on the promenade, next to the Opera, and close to Cours Saleya (Marche aux Fleurs) and with dozens of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated with some of reasonable size. The only caution is that the size of the rooms vary quite a bit, and the standard rooms are quite small. If this matters to you, always book a superior room, although some of those aren't very big either. It pays to call the Hotel directly (they speak several languages) to discuss availability of the larger rooms for your visit. It is a small "boutique" size hotel, and because of it's location, prices are not very flexible. Make sure you book ahead, as it is generally full in season.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    280
    103
    35
    10
See reviews for
55
304
48
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

If you're like me and my husband, you value location & affordability over decor & amenities when it comes to deciding on a hotel. That is why we picked Hotel Mercure. Not only is it waterfront, (quite literally across the street from the beach), but it is a few blocks from Old Nice, the harbour area, the flower shop, many palaces, churches and so much more. This place is just fine for those who like to get out and explore all day long, NOT for those who like to linger around in their rooms in search of room service, a gym and spas.

The bed was comfy and the room was clean. They must use some sort of Olive based soap. It smelled gooood. We had a nice little balcony and a loft bedroom. (Though we did notice that each room was vastly different from the next in this hotel.) Front desk was very helpful in recommending eateries, checking in and checking out. Very polite and friendly. We got our spacious room at a very good rate.

To be fair and thorough in reviewing this hotel, I will mention all the little flaws for those who do want a more luxurious stay in Nice. Our room, though large, was lacking in decor. Huge dents in walls, poorly printed/framed wall art and a few small stains on the rug kind of caught my eye. The color scheme was cold, (mauve and ocre)...there weren't many decorations, and not enough pillows for bed or couch. I liked our view, even though all it was was a side alley. Our room was right above a nightclub, so turning in early became not an option to us, (due to the loud night crowd just three flights down). There is no elevator, which didn't bother us as we were only three flights up. But for those who are handicapped, it might be tough. There was no mini fridge in our room. No coffee table or surface to place drinks/snacks upon. We made our own by overturning a chair and putting a flat surface on the legs.

All in all, I was happy with my stay here. We are not hard to please and spend our time mostly out of the hotel anyway. This is totally worth the value. Rates are very good during off season.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saunderton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times this year. Overall the experience has been fine. In each of my stays so far (4 in total), I have had a different room every time. The quality does vary depending on the room. The duplex type rooms are nice, but space to use the desk is limited. Room 101 is tiny and is a little tired to say the least. Room 12 on the entrance level is fine. The last time I stayed, I was given room 205 which is a reasonable size and very pleasant. Overall I found the hotel rooms clean, with decent basic amenities (toiletries). Wardrobe space is limited with few coat hangers. Also, ironing facilities are on request from reception. Free wifi is excellent and quite fast. The rooms are all very quiet, no noise from outside at all. Reception staff are very pleasant. I have not tried the breakfast, so cannot comment on that. For the price (just over EUR100) however it is good.

Paid parking is available in the parking Saleya, but the hotel does not have any special rate (so costs approx. EUR20 for an overnight stay).

Also, location wise the hotel is excellent for the Old Town, Port and beach.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Nice is absolutely gorgeous , it was one of my favourite spots on this trip, my daughter and I stayed in the hotel and shared a double bed not sure if they have twin beds as I forgot to request them). The room was very small and so was the bathroom, but it was clean and in a fantastic spot - right on the Promenade. Fantastic restaurants around the corner and fantastic shopping. I would definitely stay on the Promenade again but would like a bit bigger room with a beach view, this hotel has that as well so would probably come back and pay for the view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Only stayed three nights and that was enough,room at back of hotel and not big enough to swing a cat,After a long day site seeing,there was now where to sit in your room unless you climbed the stair case to sit on you bed, which was crammed into a tiny space, Room just like a broom cupboard.also no lift which was a pain for carrying suit cases up two flights of stairs,otherwise hotel clean and tidy and great poistion

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

This is a good, solid 3* hotel with a bit of character. Not luxurious, but as good if not better than a travelodge, and great value for money for a short trip to Nice.

- Superb location, right on the seafront, 2 mins walk to old Nice (great restaurants, cafes), 5 mins walk to main shopping district and also to the tram stop.
- Hotel is very clean and well kept. Rooms are small, but nicely appointed. Bathroom modern and very clean. Kettle in room with tea and coffee.
- Small, flat screen TV in room, with 9 local channels in French, and BBC world news in English.
- There is free wifi throughout the hotel.
- Breakfast costs 17 euros, but there are plenty of cafes nearby where you can have a cheaper, more authentic breakfast experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs

Address: 91 quai des Etats Unis | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Nice Marché aux Fleurs is a typically "Niçois" hotel, facing the sea on the "Baie des Anges" and all arranged on a single floor with no elevators. It boasts a perfect location in the heart of the old town, near the famous Flowers Market. It is a fewmeters from the tram stop and 5.3 miles (8.5 km) from Nice International Airport. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, enjoy our comfortable and inviting rooms, as well as our lively Le Baryton bar. Undercover paying car parks nearby, free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Marche Aux Fleurs Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Marche Aux Fleurs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.