We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for exploring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gounod Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Gounod Nice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice location for exploring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed with family and although not modern was very clean and spacious. Each of our rooms had a small opening balcony and good sized beds etc. we had a family room that was spacious with a separate bedroom - good if you had older children looking for their own space. Each room had a fridge as well.would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let everyone including ourselves know about your stay with us
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could help you discover our Cote d'azur.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    183
    47
    19
    5
See reviews for
54
172
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

First the good news. When you get in the room there is a note to log onto their in house wifi (for an extortionate charge). When we called and enquirer about the password we were told the wifi is in fact free. It isn't very strong, but it doesn't cost anything. Also, our room was totally quiet and had a small balcony. Otherwise, the bathroom was cramped and dated but this is Nice and you get what you pay for. The breakfast is ok (the only cooked items were scrambled eggs and sausages), but there are better options very close by. Good luck!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let everyone including ourselves know about your stay with us; indeed WiFi is now free
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and of course we are always trying to do rénovations and improve the property
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Four of us (two couples) stayed at the Hotel Gounod for five nights from 5th to 10th July. My room was very small and did not allow the two of us to move about at the same time. Only space for one chair.

The room was clean, the bed very comfortable. Towels seemed to be fresh every day. No complaints at all about that.

We had breakfast two days in the dining room and found it comfortable and plentiful, with pleasant staff in attendance.

My only disappointment was that the Hotel Gounod was a lot further inland than it appeared on the map, and as two of us were not good walkers, it was a long hard walk returning to the hotel.

This last comment is the reason that I would not choose to stay there again - apart from that, and the smallness of our room, there was nothing to complain about. We arrived at about 10 o'clock at night, so it was not a good time to ask for a room change and after that we felt it was too much trouble to move.

The reception staff were always pleasant and very helpful.

Room Tip: I can recommend room 306 (our friends' room) as it was on a corner and had a queensize bed, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us
I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel: you should have asked our desk to change room, they would have been happy to oblige pending availabilities
If you book direct with us and stay at least 3 nights, breakfasts are complimentary
We clearly state on our brochures, website, etc that we are 400 meters from the sea: we even have a Google map on our "acces" page which is not done by us, and which can allow you to track exact distances; it is about a 5' walk, but of course distance is a relative notion
We do hope nevertheless to have the pleasure of welcoming you again

thanks again and happy Bastille Day

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here about a month ago, and I've got to say the hotel and staff are great.
The room was large and airy, very clean and the bed was very very comfy, especially welcome after a hard day in the sun relaxing.

Breakfast room was clean and bright and food was ideal and light.

The hotel is a short walk from the seafront and also from the trainstation, plenty of bars, restaurants and grocery stores nearby

The aircon was very welcome, especially coming from someone from Northern England who's not used to this lovely heat. I totally disagree with an earlier comment about aircon being not upto much, we left it on when out and to come in to a cool room was great.

I've been to Cannes before for work, and I wasn't a big fan however I thought Nice was great, and I will be making this place my hotel of choice.

Thanks to all staff there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us
I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel, our staff, and its location
Nice and Cannes each have their different appeals, but basically they are district of a vast metropolis, and by train you can easily be based in Nice and visit Cannes and Monaco
thanks again and happy Bastille Day

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taby, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

When you book this hotel you think that the hotel has pool and bar on the top of the roof - but they show pictures from their sister hotel. Very poor information about this.
Beds ok, bathroom had smell of something...
Breakfast poor
A/c poor
Can't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us
In all our descriptions, on our brochure, on our website we carefully mention the pool, restaurant and bar are in our sister hotel, and it is a bonus for Gounod's clients
I do not know how you booked and how you were mislead, but I invite you to check our official website which is very clear on the matter
we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soutnern California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Room and hallways need new carpet and a coat of fresh paint. Doors, trim etc showed nicks and chipped paint throughout the hotel. Furniture, beds and bath were fine. Breakfast was good which included scrambled eggs, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us in May
I was delighted to know you enjoyed the breakfasts and the room...but took good note of your comments regarding the corridors: they will help us in our rénovations
we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights- 2 adults 2 children in a family suite, room 508 - it had a newly renovated bathroom, a good sized bedroom and an excellent sofa bed setup for the children. The hotel was in an excellent position for us- halfway between the Promenade and the station, surrounded by boulangeries, patisseries and small supermarkets. We did not have the breakfast, our. Room did have a good sized bar fridge to store drinks and nibbles. Staff friendly and accommodating. We would recommend this as as good value or money family hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; I was of course happy to know you enjoyed the hotel's location, and the hotel itself
If you book direct with us and stay at least 3 nights, we would give you complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back
have a splendid week

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Address: 3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tvGounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gounod Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.