We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice is NICE Hotel Gounod is even Nicer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gounod Nice to your Saves list
Hotel Gounod Nice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice is NICE Hotel Gounod is even Nicer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at hotel Jan. 27 2013 the hotel exceeded expectations. Booked it on line at decent rate and fully flexible booking. Arrived at hotel and family was upgraded to two room suite with huge double balcony. Back of the door rack rate said 360 but we paid considerably less and enjoyed our stay. The linens are six star and the renovated rooms are beyond 2013 quality. The old world charm of a real 24hr front desk and 5 storey marble staircase are high lights. The hotel sister property next door (hotel Spendid) is open to Gounod guests. Outstanding views of Nice. The hotel is very internet aware, they wrote several times once we booked on line and even printed off train schedule for us and put under the door overnight. The hotel is perfect location for both beach, sightseeing, and train station.

Room Tip: Know that it is a old world charmer if you want 2500 room vegas gaudy stay in vegas. If you want old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay and let others and ourselves know !
I was delighted to know that we answered your queries by email and that you liked the hotel, as well as our sister hotel Splendid Hotel & Spa
It shall be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future
have a splendid day

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    179
    44
    18
    5
See reviews for
51
161
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

On arrival met by rathe rdrunk concierge, room was dingy and small with a bathrrom which wasalmost twice the size, no place to hang clothes up properly, view out of room was awful (room 218), peeling paint on windows and in room was not appealing and neither was food in dining area. Only one guy on reception was good the others were rather miserable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your feelings about your stay with us. I was of course very disappointed to know you did not like your stay; our concierge is moslem and therefore does not drink
Room 208 you had is scheduled for total refurbishment and your comments confirm that need
Again I am very sorry for your bad experience, and do hope nevertheless to welcome you again
have a splendid new year

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerimaki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Nice hotel, close but still a bit off the city center.

We had a nice large room with a balcony on the second floor. Breakfast was ok, nothing special but still quite satisfying. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is easy to reach from the train station by foot, but I wouldn't take too much luggage with me..

"Sister" Hotel Splendid right next to Hotel Gounod offers spa, swimming pool and other services but we did not use these - felt a little inconvenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us ; it was a delight to know you enjoyed it and that our staff was pleasant to you
We all look forward to welcoming you again to the Gounod
have a splendid week end
michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this hotel on our last night before catching a flight back to Canada. Wish we could have stayed longer. Staff was excellent. We had a room with balcony (corner) on the fifth floor. Place is extremely clean, rooms have everything you need with an emphasis on green products and practises. Room was small but cosy. Close to train station, close to all amenities and 28 euros to airport. Understand it is also part of the Hotel Splendid next door with access to amenities there but did not have time to look into this.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are small but have balconies, we had the corner room 508.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves know about your stay with us
I was delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our city
Perhaps next time, you shall use the facilities in the Splendid Hotel & Spa next door
have a splendid night

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked hotel as an overnight stop before catching a flight to Austria the next day. Stayed late September 2012.

Getting to Hotel Gounod from the railway station would be a relatively easy 10 minute walk ... if you didn't have a lot of luggage. Unfortunately, taxis at the station refused to take us (4 people, 4 suitcases and 4 carry-on bags), so we had to stumble over uneven footpaths in an unknown town in the dark. Not a very good first impression of the people of Nice!

It was hard to tell when we arrived in the dark, but it is actually quite well situated, roughly midway between the railway station and the beach.

However, once we arrived at the Hotel we were met by very pleasant and helpful reception staff who checked us in quickly and provided the keys to the room. We had booked a quad room (for 3 adults and a teenager), and I was expecting a double and 2 single beds in the one room, but was very pleasantly surprised to find we had to interconnecting rooms (with a shared bathroom). Double bed in one room, twin singles in the other. Shower over bath, Both rooms had lounge chairs and TVs, and both had 'Juliet' balconies. Rooms were very clean, plenty of wardrobe space. (May have been room 210 - not sure, though.)

Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was included in tariff, and was very good. Thought about leaving luggage at hotel after checkout and before we needed to head to the airport, but they do not have secure storage (just stacked in the reception area).

Overall, service was very good. Nice is expensive, but this was a good value for money option for us in our circumstances.

Room Tip: This room (210?) was ideal for a small family travelling together. Spacious for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves know about your stay with us.
I was very sorry about the difficulties you had with taxis, they are not supposed to refuse any fare, but some of them are a bit difficult
I was happy to know you enjoyed the hotel, and that we could help you discover our Cote d azur
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon; you can find the best rates on our website, or you can email us directly
thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our second trip to the Hotel Gounod in Nice.
This time we had a top floor room with a balcony prefect for sitting out with a bottle of wine.
The hotel is in a prefect location.Easy to get to the train station or into the old town which has
plenty of restaurants.
We had breakfast included in our booking.
Having said that we did see restaurants offering a breakfast menu nearby.
Staff again very pleasent and overall would recommend this hotel.
Fridge in the room was handy.
Would definitely stay again at this hotel.
Did not use the hotel splendid pool or restaurant so cannot comment on these.

Room Tip: Top floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves know about your stay with us; as you can imagine these feed backs are important to us, and in addition pleasant when they are positive.
I was happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and we could help you discover our "Côte d'azur"
If you book directly with us and stay at least 3 nights, we do offer complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
Thanks again and have a splendid week end

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was an excellent choice, good value for money. I don't think I've ever had staff more friendly or more eager to serve customers than in this 3-star hotel. The service definitely deserves five stars! The rooms were a little bit out-dated although they had tried to redecorate them. It was quiet although the walls were pretty thin. The hotel is located on a quiet street a short walk from the Promenade and not too far from the old town or the shopping streets. Breakfast was average. If I ever go to Nice again, I'm definitely going to stay in this same hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let ourselves and others know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted you enjoyed the hotel, its staff and its location,
For your next stay, you can find the best deals on our website and if you book directly with us and stay at least 3 nights, you will have complimentary full hot buffet breakfast
Please join us on our Facebook page: "Gounod Nice France" and have a splendid evening

thanks again

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Address: 3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tvGounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gounod Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.