We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gounod Nice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Gounod Nice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France (Thiers / Train Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 213 hotels in Nice
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our second trip to the Hotel Gounod in Nice.
This time we had a top floor room with a balcony prefect for sitting out with a bottle of wine.
The hotel is in a prefect location.Easy to get to the train station or into the old town which has
plenty of restaurants.
We had breakfast included in our booking.
Having said that we did see restaurants offering a breakfast menu nearby.
Staff again very pleasent and overall would recommend this hotel.
Fridge in the room was handy.
Would definitely stay again at this hotel.
Did not use the hotel splendid pool or restaurant so cannot comment on these.

Room Tip: Top floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves know about your stay with us; as you can imagine these feed backs are important to us, and in addition pleasant when they are positive.
I was happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and we could help you discover our "Côte d'azur"
If you book directly with us and stay at least 3 nights, we do offer complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
Thanks again and have a splendid week end

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    162
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
45
137
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was an excellent choice, good value for money. I don't think I've ever had staff more friendly or more eager to serve customers than in this 3-star hotel. The service definitely deserves five stars! The rooms were a little bit out-dated although they had tried to redecorate them. It was quiet although the walls were pretty thin. The hotel is located on a quiet street a short walk from the Promenade and not too far from the old town or the shopping streets. Breakfast was average. If I ever go to Nice again, I'm definitely going to stay in this same hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let ourselves and others know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted you enjoyed the hotel, its staff and its location,
For your next stay, you can find the best deals on our website and if you book directly with us and stay at least 3 nights, you will have complimentary full hot buffet breakfast
Please join us on our Facebook page: "Gounod Nice France" and have a splendid evening

thanks again

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at the Gounod hotel for 3 nights recently for bed and breakfast. I had a really lovely room with balcony and very comfortable bed. Room had good aircon and a fridge which is always welcome on holiday to store drinks. I used the pool and hot tub in the splendid hotel next door. It was great to be able to relax and revive after a day of sightseeing or shopping. The hotel is really near to the promenade and also to shopping. Nice is an easy city to walk around. It is however expensive but so worth it. Love this city. Will definitely be back and would stay at the Gounod again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let ourselves and others know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted you enjoyed the hotel, its staff and its location and that we were able to share our love of our city with you
For your next stay, you can find the best deals on our website and if you book directly with us and stay at least 3 nights, you will have complimentary full hot buffet breakfast
Please join us on our Facebook page: "Gounod Nice France" and have a splendid evening

thanks again

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

In a very good location being 5 minutes walk away from the Promenade des Anglais and beach and local restaurants and bars; about a 20 minute walk to the flower market and about 30 minutes to Vieux-Nice. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet (on the side away from the street but the street is one way and never seemed busy) with a very comfy bed. Breakfast not included but we went out to one of the many places that did breakfast. The reception staff were all very helpful and pleasant. Would have preferred the shower over the bath to have had a screen and for Wi-fi to be freely available. You can also use the rooftop pool etc at the Hotel Splendid just down the street. We found this 3 star hotel to be a good place to stay in Nice, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let ourselves and others know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted you enjoyed the hotel, its staff and its location,
Wifi is indeed at a nominal cost: we are changing our Wifi provider and hopefully will be able to give it for free to those clients who booked directly on our website
For your next stay, you can find the best deals on our website and if you book directly with us and stay at least 3 nights, you will have complimentary full hot buffet breakfast
Please join us on our Facebook page: "Gounod Nice France" and have a splendid evening

thanks again

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This 3-star hotel, is an pleasant option for Nice. Great location. 5-7min. walk from the train station, and an equal distance to the “Promanade” and shopping. We found a deal online, stayed 2 nights.

Great soundproofing, friendly reception, good water pressure, traditional décor, nice bathroom but I have to honestly say, I did not find the bed comfortable (personal preference as my sister was fine). The compact room looked like they had been refreshed (new carpet) but well laid out. The walls are wrapped in fabric and creates great soundproofing but also due to the light fabric it’s been scuffed as is hard to clean. 3-4 person elevator or 2 with luggage. We had an issue with the hair dryer in our room (we didn’t even know, we just arrived in) and maintenance was up immediately to fix it. As we have noticed throughout Europe, wifi is extra.

The best feature is the free access to the 4-star amenities with it’s sister hotel (located next door) – small roof-top pool, jaccuzzi and lounge area (great as Nice has a rocky beach and save the expense of a beach umbrella/chair), gym (extra for the spa).

Room Tip: Having been to Nice before, I knew that pool access would be a nice addition (rocky beach, bring a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let ourselves and others know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted you enjoyed the hotel and its location, a bit surprised though by the note you credited us with: your comments are very favourable but your note does not seem to reflect it
For your next stay, you can find the best deals on our website and if you book directly with us and stay at least 3 nights, you will have complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
thanks

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster,UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just returned from a week here.Large room with free air conditioning and individual safety deposit boxes in the twenty four hour manned reception.Friendly staff and very clean with a lift.Breakfasts good enough with a couple of hot dishes.A ten minute stroll to the main front of the Promenade and the main line railway station,trains are hourly to Monaco and Cannes on Sundays and more frequent on other days. It`s sister hotel virtually next door has a spa,small swimming pool and rooftop terrace with an air conditioned bar lounge.Very friendly service and we ate three times in the restaurant which was excellent.Plenty of restaurant choice within a stroll.If you are intending to use the beach beds,call into the sister hotel Splendide for discount vouchers for their concession.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed your stay,and appreciated the location and the many facilities around us

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon
have a splendid day
michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Address: 3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 213 hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tvGounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gounod Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.