We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Nice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gounod Nice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France (Thiers / Train Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 213 hotels in Nice
toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A good choice in Nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This 3-star hotel, is an pleasant option for Nice. Great location. 5-7min. walk from the train station, and an equal distance to the “Promanade” and shopping. We found a deal online, stayed 2 nights.

Great soundproofing, friendly reception, good water pressure, traditional décor, nice bathroom but I have to honestly say, I did not find the bed comfortable (personal preference as my sister was fine). The compact room looked like they had been refreshed (new carpet) but well laid out. The walls are wrapped in fabric and creates great soundproofing but also due to the light fabric it’s been scuffed as is hard to clean. 3-4 person elevator or 2 with luggage. We had an issue with the hair dryer in our room (we didn’t even know, we just arrived in) and maintenance was up immediately to fix it. As we have noticed throughout Europe, wifi is extra.

The best feature is the free access to the 4-star amenities with it’s sister hotel (located next door) – small roof-top pool, jaccuzzi and lounge area (great as Nice has a rocky beach and save the expense of a beach umbrella/chair), gym (extra for the spa).

Room Tip: Having been to Nice before, I knew that pool access would be a nice addition (rocky beach, bring a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let ourselves and others know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted you enjoyed the hotel and its location, a bit surprised though by the note you credited us with: your comments are very favourable but your note does not seem to reflect it
For your next stay, you can find the best deals on our website and if you book directly with us and stay at least 3 nights, you will have complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
thanks

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    163
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
46
138
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster,UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just returned from a week here.Large room with free air conditioning and individual safety deposit boxes in the twenty four hour manned reception.Friendly staff and very clean with a lift.Breakfasts good enough with a couple of hot dishes.A ten minute stroll to the main front of the Promenade and the main line railway station,trains are hourly to Monaco and Cannes on Sundays and more frequent on other days. It`s sister hotel virtually next door has a spa,small swimming pool and rooftop terrace with an air conditioned bar lounge.Very friendly service and we ate three times in the restaurant which was excellent.Plenty of restaurant choice within a stroll.If you are intending to use the beach beds,call into the sister hotel Splendide for discount vouchers for their concession.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed your stay,and appreciated the location and the many facilities around us

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon
have a splendid day
michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The only bad thing I have to say about this hotel is that they don't give free WIFI, which is pretty much standard in hotels these days.. especially for the price we paid per night. It was in a really good location though. Just 5 minutes away is Promenade des Anglais, the beach, the shopping street Jean-Medicin, and all popular downtown areas. Vieux-Nice is 15 minutes away by foot. The rooms were clean and a decent size...Breakfast isn't included but there are many cheap restaurants all around.. or markets if you want to make your own food (there is a fridge in the room). Nice is a really beautiful place and this is a good place to stay when you're there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us. I was delighted to know you enjoyed our city and our hotel !
Breakfast is complimentary providing you book directly with us by email or on our official website and you stay at least 3 nights
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future
have a splendid evening

michel Tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in Nice at the hotel Gounod for a price which I must admit did the placer justice. with use of the facilities (and I personally used the sporting plage via the hotel - 18 euros a stop) it was a prime location take a right when leaving the hotel and head down the road and you hit the beach.
Excellent restaurants in the local area, the hotel splendid, not everyones cup of tea but, i enjoyed it. but my favourite restaurant was Don Coreleone's which is right around the corner from the hotel on the opposite side of the road to the Splendide

If you feel like relaxing or realise that the beach is not good for too long a stay, plenty of things happen to pique your interest. But the hotel staff are always friendly and welcoming to anyone who visits. I say go for it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others - and ourselves - know about your stay with us. It was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the Gounod...and our area which indeed has a lot to offer and not only the beaches
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
have a splendid day

michel Tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We booked a holiday to nice for a short getaway and mainly booked this hotel to use the pool facilities but we were pleasantly suprised by hotel Gounod

Our room was on the ground floor but was safe, spotless and perfectly in keeping with nice and it's French history

Could not fault the hotel or it's staff - friendly and helpful at any hour

Would definately visit again!

Thank you hotel Gounod for an extremely enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others...and ourselves, know about your stay with us
I was delighted you enjoyed the hotel and your stay in Nice; it is indeed a big added value for Gounod's clients to be able to enjoy the pool and heated whirlpool bath on top of our next door sister hotel, the Splendid Hotel & Spa
Again thank you very much for your kind comments; we all look forward to welcoming you again

have a splendid evening

michel Tschann - gm shinhotels@hotmail.fr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Address: 3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 213 hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tvGounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gounod Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.