We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beau Rivage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beau Rivage
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   24 rue Saint Francois de Paule, 06300 Nice, France (Old Town / Vieux Nice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 212 hotels in Nice
Gateshead
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is amazing, excellent location and recently modernised. We had a triple room on the first floor, it was huge! All areas were clean and far exceeded out expectations.

There are 2 things however I would like to add, please don't ask the guy on reception for directions of how to walk to train station! He will send you in another direction which will take an hour out of your day. The guy spoke fairly good English so nothing was lost in translation!

Also on check out we were faced with a city tax, which we were unaware of, apparently this is normal, it wasn't a great deal of money, but we weren't expecting it!

I would definitely stay here again should I get the opportunity to visit nice and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    54
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
6
57
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed from 9th till 12th of August at this hotel. When we left, we forgot a jacket and shoes for swimming. Nobody gave us the items back, because they told that didn't find anything. The items can't disappeared by themselves. This situation makes me very angry, because nobody from the stuff didn't do nothing to return me the items or the value back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Responsable Qua... Q, DEPUTY MANAGER at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

It is with great interest that I read your detailed review of our hotel. We do take seriously into consideration all the comments made by our guests.

We have asked to our housekeeper manager to recheck regarding your lost item in our hotel.
We contact back the hotel cleaner who was in charge of your room on departure and unfortunately, she confirm us that she did not have found anything left in your room.

All our staffs are working to the hotel Beau Rivage for a long time now and they perfectly know the procedure regarding lost and found in the rooms. We used during the summer to meet this situation 2 or 3 time a day and we always give back to the guest what we found.

We are sorry that you had loose something as a jacket and swimming shoes, but definitely, it was not in your room after your departure.

We are at your disposal for any information.

Best regards.

Mme Ingrid Farrugia-Dal Santo
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I feel bad giving 2 stars because the staff working at the hotel were really kind and great people but for the price we paid for what was supposed to be a 'better' than average room was not worth it. The photos posted by Tripadvisor users are much more accurate than the hotel website photos. Our room was TINY and constantly smelled damp/musty! We didn't get bathrobes or anything else we saw in the hotel promotion photos online either. The bathroom was extremely run-down, old, with black mould and the tiles were not clean. After every shower- the old, stained, dirty carpet in the bedroom was soaked some how and that made the entire room damp and humid. It felt like the air conditioning wasn't working (although it was) just because of how damp and humid the room was from poor water drainage. It was so damp that by the second night my husband got sick and we spent the rest of our trip tending to his head cold! The bed was comfortable but the room had paper thin walls and every time the people from surrounding rooms closed their room doors, our room door would jolt and make a slam sound too.. That was annoying! The location is PERFECT! 60 second walk to the beach, minutes to Cours Saleya with tons of nice restaurants and old Nice to enjoy.. That is what you are paying for, not the room quality. The quality is in the service and location but the state of the room is very poor and needs to be Renovated!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our waiter was in a hurry to either get off work or have an abhorrence for Americans. We were hurried in the taking of our order, no water arrived nor bread. I had steak tartar which arrived minutes after the order was taken. Obviously this dish is normally made at the table for one. This was preprepared and left in the sun. The taste was off. My fault in not returning the dish. Instead I asked for mustard and hot sauce us salt and pepper. Our waiter was very unhappy with me. My request finally arrived along with the toasted bread. He was arrogant and unkind. We left without him even asking if the food was alright since I left most of it untouched. Needless to say FOOD POISONING. 24 hours in bed. Thank you Beau Rivage and thank you chef.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, U.K.
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second visit here some 18 months on. The place has had a face-lift and the rooms have been significantly upgraded. We chose a Superior room which was on the side and not too noisy. If you require a very quiet night then ask for a room at the back.
The a/c was one of the best I have come across- much needed in August. Very comfortable bed and there are tea facilities and a corkscrew in the room.
For some reason we only got turn down service on our last night- but this was an unexpected surprise. Will stay again- and there are many deals on the internet.
Its location is second to none for exploring Old Nice- and the 98 bus from the airport stops 50 yards from the entrance ( Ring the bell on the bus as it turns off the Promenade des Anglais). It also has its own beach-pebbly not sandy- which is 20 euros per day for a lounger and only 100 yards from the hotel across the main road.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are distinctly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good points
- Excellent location - right next to the 'vielle ville', beach and promenade.
- Allowed us to check in to our room well before 3pm which was great after an early flight
- Comfortable bed and nice tv

Bad points
We were excited to stay in this hotel as we had paid quite a lot of money and the website promised good things, however when we opened the door to our room we were very disappointed. The room was small, a bit worn out and worst of all there was a huge damp patch right beside the wall of the distinctly average bathroom, the shower/bath was leaking quite heavily into the carpet. To top it off we found a pair of white trousers in the wardrobe. We decided to ask reception if we could get a different room but the response was very rude, "no, we are fully booked". I explained about the leak and the grumpy receptionist replied that she would send someone to fix it. She then proceeded to ignore me. Needless to say no one ever appeared to fix the leak and we resorted to covering it up with plastic laundry bags and our suitcase. When we left it was soaking underneath. This was certainly not to our standards or what we would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Another problem is the noise levels or the very thin windows to be more precise. They appear to be single glazed so you are able to hear every single noise on the street. The music from the bars died down at about 1am but then we could hear lots of people singing and shouting and then the bin men cleaning up well into the early hours of the morning with lorries.

Advice - avoid room 417, get an courtyard room if possible.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are pleased to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel. It is with great interest that I read your detailed review of our hotel. We do take seriously into consideration all the comments made by our guests. Your feedback is very precious for us.

Concerning your comment about room and reception staff, we have passed on the remarks to our housekeeping manager and front office manager in order to strengthen their team training. We deeply regret that you were disappointed. These unpleasant event are definitely not representative of the Hotel Beau Rivage, please accept our apologies.

Provide a better soundproof quality is one of our major priorities of the moment. The hotel has already invested in the windows replacement in order solve this problem.

The Beau Rivage Hotel has different room categories from classic to Junior Suite with different size, they vary from 20m2 to 35m2 depending on the category. You can enjoy our new rooms categories with patio view, quieter and bigger, a peace full place in the heart of the old town, dedicated to relaxation. Do not hesitate to ask more information at our reservation department, our staff will be happy to assist you.

We feel sorry that in spite of all this we haven't been able to fulfil your expectations.

Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Beau Rivage is a 4* hotel, however, it would not be my first choice in Nice. Location, fantastic and you assume from the pictures that it faces the sea, it doesn't! It has its own (great) beach area with facilities, bar, restaurant, massage, beds, towels etc that the hotel faces the sea... all the rooms either look over the street or an internal courtyard. Our room was tiny (Rm230) in fact so small, I had to go out to change my mind as there was not room to do it in the bedroom! More importantly, NO POOL. The shore in Nice is very stoney and very hard to get in and out of the sea so a pool would have been great. Staff great. Room clean with great facilities. Bar small and a little lacking in personality. However, right outside bars and restaurants within a very short walk.

Room Tip: State you do not want one of the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Responsable Qua... Q, Quality Manager at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you to have taken time to share with us your impressions about our hotel, We are pleased to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel in the heart of the old town, just behind the famous “Promenade des Anglais”.

It is with great interest that I read your detailed review of our hotel. We do take seriously into consideration all the comments made by our guests. We do apologize for the inconvenience encountered.

The Beau Rivage Hotel has different room categories from classic to Junior Suite with different size, they vary from 20m2 to 35m2 depending on the category. For your next visit in Nice, come discover our new rooms categories, with a larger space and a terrace.

We are surprised and deeply to learn that our bar is not been at your taste. Our bar is a place where you can enjoy a relax moment on sofa, cosiness, modernity and warmth describe bar atmosphere, with cocktails homemade created by our barmen.

Our reception is at your disposal 24h/24 for any queries or remarks regarding the service or quality. Do not hesitate to inform our staff of any discontentment during your stay in order for us to solve immediatly the matter.

Our priority remains guests satisafction.

In our respectful greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Address: 24 rue Saint Francois de Paule, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#30 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#92 Spa Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beau Rivage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.