We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grimaldi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grimaldi to your Saves list
Le Grimaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #31 of 211 Hotels in Nice
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A small but comfortable hotel close to the centre of Nice - it is close to the train station, the promenade and old town. It's a stone throw away from the very, very awesome Le Sejour Cafe (a must visit if you love French food like me.) which is an added bonus.

We stayed on the second floor with a very spacious room. Good free wifi access. Hotel decors is a little tired looking but it gets away with it with its quaintness. Hotel I would say is a little understaffed - there is usually just one person at the front desk so it can get quickly overwhelmed if there's any issue. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Le Grimaldi, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy to read your satisfaction here. Thank you having shared your review of your recent stay at Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice Centre on the international website TripAdvisor. We are pleased welcoming our guest in our Boutique Hotel typically Provençal and refurbishing is previous but in respect of our style.
I'm looking forward welcoming you soon. Thanks a lot for your comment.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    227
    97
    34
    11
See reviews for
71
313
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

First the good points. The hotel is situated in a good location- about a 10-15 min walk from the train station, 10 mins from the promenade and old Nice. The receptionists were very helpful and pleasant. We were in a room on the 6th floor which was spacious with a bath and shower and there was plenty of hot water. There is a fridge in the room and toiletries are replenished daily.
The not so good points. The hotel is very tired and although wear and tear marks are visual, some parts of our room just needed a good clean. We found some dried blood on our quilt which we were told the hotel couldn't change until the following day as the receptionist was on her own (fortunately it was warm enough in the room to sleep without it) - but this was unacceptable. Our room was over the walkway and although it was quiet from external noise, the lifts are regularly in use and very old fashioned and noisey. We stayed in the hotel for a week and it was OK as we were out every day, but not sure I would recommend it to F & F's. We didnt eat in the hotel so cant comment on breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Le Grimaldi, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Le Grimaldi Nice Centre. Your remarks are welcome and source of improvement for us. We try every day hard to improve a little more our services to meet the expectations at best of our customers.
We have just begun renovation works in our hotel in order to make it even more comfortable for our guests. As you said, our rooms are very spacious so they are perfect for long stays so we want to make them even better.
You can contact me directly for having a new vision of Le Grimaldi with a further stay with us. We will make all for your pleasure and your entire satisfaction.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent an enjoyable five nights at this hotel recently. The staff were very helpful when required. We had a large superior room on the fourth floor which was more than adequate and looked out on to a courtyard. There were building works ongoing , not sure whether it was part of the hotel or an adjacent property but this did not affect our stay. Good location for promenade or station. Breakfast was included in our package, basic continental what you would expect . One good point which was unexpected was the tea making facilities in the room, a real bonus for a continental hotel. Value for money would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Le Grimaldi, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy to read your satisfaction here. Thank you having shared your review of your recent stay at Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice Centre on the international website TripAdvisor. We are pleased welcoming our guest in our Boutique Hotel typically Provençal and refurbishing is previous but in respect of our style.
I'm looking forward welcoming you soon. Thanks a lot for your comment.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed two nights in May. The receptionist, David, was exceptionally helpful. The location for walking to restaurants, other sites and the shore is what might draw us back. Rooms are small but adequate.

Room Tip: Has neither a pool nor restaurant, but continental breakfast was included in the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Le Grimaldi, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy to read your satisfaction here. Thank you having shared your review of your recent stay at Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice Centre on the international website TripAdvisor. We are pleased welcoming our guest in our Boutique Hotel typically Provençal and refurbishing is previous but in respect of our style.
I'm looking forward welcoming you soon. Thanks a lot for your comment.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good position and easy to walk to anywhere in Nice. The room was very nice though quite small - expected in France. The reception area was only ok. There was a little bar there but sort of an afterthought. To get to our room and I think all the other rooms you had to go out of the back of the reception area, outside, along a walkway and into another building. It rained when we were there and the umbrella placed outside above the walkway just wasn't good enough so you got wet. The breakfast area was on the ground floor of this building. Up the tiny lift or stairs took you to the rooms on several floors. The rooms were pleasantly furnished with most of the usual accoutrements, Noise from other rooms was a problem as the neighbours took showers at odd times in the night and talked loudly. The breakfast was reasonable with plenty of bread, croissants etc. The Saturday morning, our first day, was bedlam with one guy doing everything at once and everything running out. The following mornings were less busy so better.
The girl on the reception did eventually exert herself and found us a restaurant on the Sunday night which was very good (La Maison de Marie). As it rained, it would have been nice to come back to the hotel for a cuppa but it was so soulless in reception and no kettle in the room, we went to a cafe instead. All in all this hotel was a bit lacking. I am not sure I can recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Le Grimaldi, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Le Grimaldi Nice Centre. Your remarks are welcome and source of improvement for us. We try every day hard to improve a little more our services to meet the expectations at best of our customers.
Nevertheless, we have a bar in our reception hall which is opened all day long, so as to our guests can have a drink at any time.
You can contact me directly for having a new vision of Le Grimaldi with a further stay with us. We will make all for your pleasure and your entire satisfaction.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is our second time at the Grimaldi. It is a few blocks from the sea. The rooms are not huge but furnished well with nice linens which is important to me. The people at the desk were very nice to us and spoke english. I would go back again.

Room Tip: ask for a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Le Grimaldi, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy to read your satisfaction here. Thank you having shared your review of your recent stay at Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice Centre on the international website TripAdvisor. We are pleased welcoming our guest in our Boutique Hotel typically Provençal and refurbishing is previous but in respect of our style.
I'm looking forward welcoming you soon. Thanks a lot for your comment.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights at Le Grimaldi with my wife. We were in a Superior room (perhaps a comedian was involved) and it cost us £464 inc city tax.
Firstly, it's in a great location, close to the old town but away from the busiest and noisiest. Also, some of the staff were very friendly, and the service we received was generally good. Oh, and free Wi-Fi that worked.
BUT.........For Superior read Pretty Rubbish, I hate to think what the normal rooms were like.
The paint is peeling in places, damp marks everywhere, dirty curtains, carpets and walls. Fixtures and Fittings need burning, replacing etc. Bed was uncomfortable, small, and TV was small and only a few local channels. When we arrived, despite it being no smoking, clearly someone had been, it stank! We couldn't get moved, but they did get extra cleaning done which got rid of most. There is a huge amount of work going on, drills, men shouting etc. From our room we could just about touch a workman's hat! It's all shoddy, dull, uninspiring....I'll stop there.
Now, I know Nice is expensive, but we will go back and I will pay more to go somewhere else...end of.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Le Grimaldi, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Le Grimaldi Nice Centre. Your remarks are welcome and source of improvement for us. We try every day hard to improve a little more our services to meet the expectations at best of our customers. I also wanted to inform you that the hotel has begun recently renovation work in order to upgrade even more the comfort of our guests.
I apologize for don’t having upgrade your desires.
You can contact me directly for having a new vision of Le Grimaldi with a further stay with us. We will make all for your pleasure and your entire satisfaction.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grimaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grimaldi

Address: 15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#16 Family Hotel in Nice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grimaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Promenade des Anglais and the beach of Nice in the heart of downtown, Le Grimaldi is ideally located for your stay in Nice. Discover our offers lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Le Grimaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grimaldi Nice
Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Grimaldi Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grimaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.