We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable mid-price hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grimaldi

Save Saved
You added Le Grimaldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Grimaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #40 of 212 hotels in Nice
Arundel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A reasonable mid-price hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Le Grimaldi is made up of two attractive belle-epoque buildings, back to back, with ornate white facades that look so good in the strong Mediterranean sunshine. However, our room faced onto the shady, narrow, internal courtyard, with the windows facing directly into those on the opposite side, and the natural light was quite limited in the room.

The room was a decent size, and with a reasonable size bathroom, a separate toilet, and a separate closet which was a good size for luggage and clothes. The bathroom had two wash-basins, a shower over the bath, l'Occitane toiletries and plenty of good quality thick white towels. The bedroom was very plainly decorated, with white walls apart from a patterned wallfabric behind the bed. The carpet was thin and worn, and the curtains (drapes) had a few dirt marks and scuffs. The air conditioning was effective. The bed was two singles pushed together but was comfortable.

For the hotel location, and for the Summer season, the hotel price was good value. The staff aimed to be helpful and were very pleasant. The ground floor public areas of the hotel were attractively decorated in a traditional Provencal way.

Room Tip: A street facing room, rather than a room onto the internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    207
    88
    32
    10
See reviews for
58
282
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasantville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I passed thru Nice on a two week 25th Anniversary trip. We heard about Le Grimaldi on Trip advisor and the Hotel lived up to its excellent reviews. We were upgraded by luck - What we liked the most was the helpful service and the location- just far enough away from the madness of the beach in a peaceful traditional French neighborhood. We would recommend and hope to return ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in the odd part of this hotel. It faces on two streets and we stayed in the 'back'. That said we had a wonderful view of the chuch across the road. It was a moderate walk from the train station and a moderate walk to the beach. The staff were helplful and the room was clean and attractively furnished. It has a 'old style' life with the sliding steel cage door, only problem is that is only holds 2 to 3 people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay at Le Grimaldi, also paid for with Avios. The room and bed was comfortable and very clean, if a little dated. We had a room on the first floor with a small balcony overlooking a church. we found it to be very quiet at night and had no trouble sleeping. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke very good English. A good continental breakfast was served, and considering the size of the hotel we thought the choice was fine.
The Hotel is within walking distance of most of the main attractions in Nice. The beach is about 10 mins walk. A voucher from the Hotel lets you on to a private beach for 23 Euros each. Its more if you pay without a voucher. You get towels and a bed with a parasol.There are changing facilities with showers and toilets and it is all spotlessly clean.
There are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from, We would recommend the La Lodge. We had a 3 course set menu for 19 Euros each. The food was excellent with very good service. There was also a singer/guitarist that was very entertaining.
We would also recommend The Havana Club. Its a bar with live music and dancing with a Cuban/salsa flavour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Let me start by saying that this stay was paid by avios points so I am not sure if I'd be writing the same review if I'd paid full price which I think would have been 160 euros per night. The hotel is very old and elegant but is actually split into two and the halves are linked via an internal courtyard. The room was very comfortable and well furnished and big enough for a couple to be called a large room. Maid service was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful ( and all spoke very good English). There are no hot meals served at all but there are so many restaurants including one next door in the area that this doesn't matter. Breakfast is a typical continental one with cold meats, cheeses, patisserie, fruit, cereal etc The beach is about ten minutes away and is made of large pebbles. If you pay for a private beach they are 25 euros each per day for a bed, towel and parasol and they are very strict on not bringing your own food and drink. On the public beaches it is packed tight and you will need something comfy to lie on. Personally I think Nice is expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here at the end of July, 2012. Staff was very helpful and the French breakfast (came with the room) was excellent. Don't expect the American breakfast, however. The room was also small by American standards, but totally comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was large and well-equipped. Within easy walking distance of many main attractions. Local restaurants were good to excellent. Staff was helpful with suggestions. There are a huge number of tourists this time of year, and you have to get used to the crowds. Also, be warned. It's hot!! Drink plenty of water, stay out of the sun, and rest up during the hottest part of the afternoon. Value was excellent for this time of year.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quieter side street, so I expect all the rooms are reasonably quiet. There is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here in 2008 and decided to give it another try as my previous experience was a good one!

I really like this hotel as it scores highly in most things you consider when booking a hotel in the south of france. Its good value for money, the staff are a delight to deal with, the breakfast is good, the location is good (halfway between beach and station), the hotel and rooms are very clean and tidy (and simply ooze french character and architecture) and you feel comfortable staying here.

Breakfast time is a nice experience, not sure what the staff members name is, but he ensures you have a coffee or tea immediately and is there to help with your needs. The selection is adequate and fresh.

The only minor issues are that the lift is too small (but its an older lift which really does match the character of the building - quite quaint). I also dislike using a key for hotels rooms - but, again this is minor... We also had a problem one day as the cleaner didnt lock our room after cleaning it ( a problem that wouldnt have occured if the door was keyless). We didnt receive any towels that day either but the reception quickly solved our issue.

All in all - this is a good choice when staying in Nice.

Well done - I would come back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Grimaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grimaldi

Address: 15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#23 Family Hotel in Nice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grimaldi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Promenade des Anglais and the beach of Nice in the heart of downtown, Le Grimaldi is ideally located for your stay in Nice. Discover our offers lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Le Grimaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grimaldi Nice
Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Grimaldi Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grimaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.