We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at a very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais to your Saves list
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France (Jardin Albert 1er)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel at a very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent 4 night in the Mercure Promenades des Anglais Hotel. We were very satisfied with our stay and for the hotel we can summarize:
1. The location is great. There is very fast link with public transport bus 98 from and to the airport. The trip costs 6 EUR per direction. Some of the other town busses stop very close too. It took only 15 minutes to reach the central railroad station.
2. Our room was looking towards the backyard but there was a garden-like arrangement and the view was not a problem.
3. The room was quiet, but sometimes some of our neighbors were a little bit noisy. The beds were very comfortable, and there were all the required additions like safe box, 32” flat TV with more than 40 international programs and free WiFi.
4. The staff was very helpful and polite.
5. The breakfast was good and delicious (by our opinion). The breakfast time was from 6:30 to 11:00 and all the time there was all the served meals.
6. The wireless connections sometimes requires to agree again and again with the terms and conditions of the free usage but I think this was not a problem. The connection was fast and stable. However some limitations to the type of the traffic are applied for the free usage (as far as we remember there was no direct VoIP, but remote desktop was working pretty well).
7. There are some car rental offices very close to the hotel.

We can suggest this hotel if you plan a visit to Nice.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view seem to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel and staff.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    613
    176
    49
    17
See reviews for
155
685
84
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Plus points: Excellent location. Very clean. ALMOST all the staff were charming, friendly and very helpful. Lovely large room with a picture window and balcony overlooking the garden and a side sea view.
Minus points: There are no twin bedded rooms other than the very small courtyard rooms with no view or balcony. Bed unbelievably hard.
The breakfast was a very mixed event. Weekdays when the hotel was not too busy it was fine. The weekend was a chaotic disaster. Not enough staff to clear the tables or replenish the food although they tried very hard. On two occasions there were no croissants (in France!!!) No cheese, no cooked eggs, no bacon or sausages, no baguettes, no jams or marmalades, no fresh fruit, no yoghourt, no butter, no plates, no glasses, no cutlery, no orange juice, no English breakfast tea and the coffee machine was not working properly. On the days when there was food the grey scrambled egg and the bacon were inedible. In all it was a very hit and miss affair and you were lucky to get anything at all at times. I told reception on several occasions but whilst sympathetic they could do nothing.

Room Tip: It's a very long walk from the lift to some rooms. Garden rooms also have a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved every minute. We upgraded room to an ocean view and it was worth it. The room was exactly what we hoped it would be. Great location for walking around the city. The front desk was helpful in recommending a tour company to take us to Monaco. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Room spacious and very clean. The breakfast was wonderful, very varied and items replenished frequently. The breakfast room is on the first floor and has a side sea view, so lovely way to start the day. Hotel directly on the seafront, but be aware that the Promenade des Anglais is a VERY busy route. We could not leave the window open at night as it was noisy at all hours. Otherwise, great location. Easy to get to and from airport by No.98 bus - 6 Euros each way. 15 minute walk to the station for a very easy journey to Monaco, a must-do if you are in the South of France! Loads of restaurants, cafés and bars in close proximity to the hotel. Would definitely stay here again should we ever return to Nice.

Room Tip: We booked a city view room but also had a great view of the sea and promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our first visit to Nice and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais Hotel. Having read many of the Tripadvisor reviews, we contacted the hotel prior to travelling and requested an upgrade to a Garden View Room. This was arranged for us and was well worth the upgrade cost (30 Euros per night).

The location of the hotel is perfect and travel in from Nice Airport took only about 20 minutes on the No 98 bus (6 Euros each way). The hotel is directly on the sea-front and is close by to a vast range of restaurants and cafes.

Our room was on the third floor and was spacious and clean, with contemporary furnishings. There was a small balcony overlooking the Albert Gardens which had a side view of the sea.

The breakfast restaurant is on the first floor and again has side sea views. There was an excellent selection of items from the continental buffet and a small number of cooked items (scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon).

The staff were all polite, friendly and helpful, and spoke good English.

We will certainly book this hotel again when we return to Nice.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for a room with a view of the Garden or Seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A great location as a base for your visit to Nice. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and a decent size. The breakfast was good value with a wide range of choice. great to step out of the hotel turn left and there is the Mediterranean

Room Tip: we did not have a sea view but the street view was fine .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a comfortable and nice decorated room with a possibilliy to make coffee or tea. The breakfast was good, but relatively expensive. Nearby are sufficient cheaper alternatives to have breakfast. The hotel is situated nearby the beach, many restaurants and the old town. The humidity in the room was very low.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#9 Family Hotel in Nice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#26 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.