We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That magnificent view...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais to your Saves list
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France (Jardin Albert 1er)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“That magnificent view...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I think we've got the best room in the whole place. The corner room with huge balcony and that magnificent sea view!
Nice and clean room, lovely bathroom.
Restaurant do not cope with huge crowds so make sure you get up early enough.
Although restaurant provides quite good selection of hot food, fruits, juices, bakery.
Fantastic, friendly and very helpful staff.

I will definitely come back !

Room Tip: sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    614
    176
    49
    17
See reviews for
155
687
84
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel can't really be better located. But it is a little basic for the price.The staff is helpful and friendly, but could have been a little more thorough in letting us know what we were entitled to, like a discount for the beach. Breakfast was average, but then, you're in Nice, why would you want to stay in the hotel for breakfast?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had an enjoyable stay in a sea view room which had a great view and was very well appointed, safe coffe maker kettle hairdryer and with some quirky pottery (mock plastic cups!!). Breakfast had a good selection of things bread fruit juices cereals to suit all tastes.

Downsides - though they need teaching how to cook bacon some burnt to a crisp and some hardly cooked. No baths in the sea view rooms but there are some in the patio view. Watch the shower its very slippery. Balcony Ok for standing only.

Staff Very friendly and helpful. Probably the best place we have stayed in Nice. It forms the lower two floors of the Meridien - a five star hotel one of the highest building on the promenade and one the best locations you could wish..

Room Tip: The sea view is great we upgraded for 70 euros per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of October and loved the hotel and Nice itself. The staff are very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. The hotel situation is great, right on the sea front and a short walk from a whole host of restaurants. Prices are a little high for breakfast but that's normal in Nice where everything is expensive! The maids were excellent and the rooms were immaculate. Room prices are quite high but when you look around you'll notice that's the same throughout Nice.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A good business hotel, centrally located on the gorgeous Promenade des Anglais. Excellent breakfast and a good base for exploring the City. Would certainly go back again for a holiday. Room was comfortable and only thing lacking for me was a view....

Room Tip: Try for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

5 pals and I stayed in 3 adjoining twin rooms for a girlie weekend. We booked the Mercure here, one of several in Nice primarily due to its proximity to the beach which was gorgeous. We were just around the corner from the main shopping area, galaria Lafayette etc. we were also on a fab street with some excellent restaurants which offered great service and good value menus. Delicious and varied menus and we all adored the huge local salads and seafood. We rented loungers and towels for a lazy morning which was fun. The wine bar opposite the hotel was good especially for people wAtching. Check in and out were quick and easy. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

The rooms were newly and innovativly decorated and whilst basic enough were perfect for what we needed with free safe and english tv and a minibar. Whilst we didn't have sea view rooms we slept soundly at the rear rooms and the beds were particularly comfy. For the price paid compared to other options we were happy. Staff were helpful and courteous and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was mostly good with some fresh fruit offered and. Lovely array of breads and continental items. The hot items, as always in France were fatty streaky oily bacon, small sausages and dreadful mass cooked scrambled egg which we avoided. The breakfast area was nice tho with lovely sea views in a bright And cheery area. Sundays had breakfast til 11 which was lovely and relaxing for us as was our check out day.

Would we stay again? We all said yes having stumbled across the other mercures on busier streets but would love a sea view room next time as we saw inside one of the rooms and it was lovely. We did the city open top bus tour which was lovely, we took the bus to monaco which was a lovely scenic journey and returned on the train which was very quick and then we sauntered right down through the main shopping area to our hotel.

Room Tip: We emailed hotel to ask for our groups rooms to beside each other on the same floor for safety and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights last week, having booked a superior sea view double, we were upgraded to their Luxury class on arrival. Staff on the front desk were fantastic, very helpful, quick and efficient, lift to third floor..

Although there are a further 3-4 floors above this one, they seem to be part of the Meridien hotel accessed from the other end of the block. The rooms are typical of a central city location, not large, but well appointed and clean. A balcony view was great and the triple glazed doors ensured little noise from the busy coast road outside the hotel remained unintrusive.

Tea and coffee taken care of, in style actually for the coffee with a Nespresso machine and a variety of capsules, ensured a good start to the day! There's a small fridge with space in, so the local Spar shop 100 mfrs up the road is ideal to get real milk and avoid the awful 'creme' capsules.

A lovely shower with an adjustable rainfall head was excellent, slightly quirky was the sliding door to the loo, I suggest you stay with someone you know well.....

What makes this great is the location, 5 minutes to the old town on foot, bus stop outside to the airport (avoid expensive taxis, €4 each way on the bus and it takes 20 minutes and there are 3 an hour), the pedestrianised main street for shopping and restaurants is just 50 metres away.

If you can get a deal off rack rate (which is ludicrous), a comfortable stay in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of sea view rooms, the sound insulation is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Family Hotel in Nice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#25 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.